We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Balcony View of Sea and Cliff”
Review of Hotel Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria
Ranked #74 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the hotel from 9 - 15 July 2012. The bed and shower were excellent, The air-condition was also good. Room was big with a high ceiling, Location is very central with restaurants, shops a walking distance. The beach could be reached by walking down the steps in about 10 mins.

The breakfast was sumptous. They could have included plain croisants as most of the croisants were oversweet.

The staff was friendly english speaking and ready to help. There was a piano in the lounge and was available for anyone to play. My sister played on it but found it a bit out of tune. When she played on it later the piano had been tuned. Bravo to the Hotel!

I would recommend this hotel,

Room Tip: Select the room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreddyDin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 676 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

Went July 2012. The Hotel is nicely situated for all amenities,staff pleasant and meals good. But we were located in room 112 in the annexe never again. The room badly needs updating and the noise from the traffic goes on all night as the window is practically on the road. Advice if going to this hotel make sure you get a room in the main part of the hotel, otherwise you will not sleep at night.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Annexe, rooms 111,112,113,114
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I have read these reviews of hotels around town and this one. This hotel is ok...it is close to some things but not to others...just as central hotel is close to some but not others. The people were not overly friendly. The room the air worked ok. A couple of lights and a couple of outlets worked. The lock wasn't too great, and we stayed in what they called the annex. A building of a few rooms next to the hotel. The pool was nice but doesn't get a whole lot of sun since surrounded by Other buildings..at the snack bar you must charge to your room unless you have checked out. The room was pretty clean. So having been to sorrento many times it was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bamagirl0269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My daughter and I recently traveled to Sorrento (July 2012) and booked this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend. We were not disappointed. The room was clean and had a nice view of the Bay.
The English speaking staff helped us book a tour of Vesuvius and Pompeii that picked us up right outside the hotel. They also advised us on train travel and overall were exceptionally friendly.
The hotel as a nice pool with plenty of lounge chairs. There is also a bar by the pool and one on the main floor. A breakfast buffet is served each morning, but make sure to get there early if you want eggs and bacon.
The hotel is on the main street, so you can walk to everything. We only used a taxi for the train/bus station because of the amount of luggage we had.
There is wi-fi, but not in the room. Also, make sure to take a trip to the roof (especially at night) as the view from that location is stunning!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

After reading Trip Advisor we were wondering what to expect of the Villa Maria?. ' Excellent '
Its not a 5 star hotel, we chose it for its location. Very clean ,food lovely and being put on different tables for meals was good, by the end of the week everyone new each other & it created a very friendly hotel. Staff very helpful & friendly.
Riviera Travel looked after us very well, our first time on an escorted holiday, can't wait to go on the next one.

Room Tip: Do'nt pay extra for room with sea view, we didn't stay in the room long enough to sit on our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marleen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

we found this hotel very comfortable, and the staff helpful and friendly. The food was of good
quality and always hot, with a good variety. Our room was large enough, if not spacious, and
was kept spotlessly clean. The shower worked perfectly and the air conditioning was great.
We chose this hotel for it's central location and were given a quiet room on the 4th floor.
The pool area was kept nice and we could always get a sunbed. I couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Have just returned yesterday (06/07/12) after a weeks holiday to Sorrento with Riviera Travel and feel compelled to share my experiences with you all . To say it was all good would be an understatement it was excellent. Luigu the owner has got it so right its a small family run hotel headed by his son Alen with support from Simone (007) , Guisy and Nello . At dinner you were seated by someone different every night which we thought was great (my mum and me she is 77 years young) we meet and enjoyed an array of interesting people and by the end of the week we were all one happy group, the head waiter Franco was a true professional nothing was to much trouble and i am sure if you wanted to sit alone that could of been accommodated for. The excursions were great Capri, Pompeii, Mount Vesuvius, The Bay of Naples, Naples and the wonderful Amalfi coastline. Our tour manager was Jane who was a font of knowledge and excellent at her job. We meet some life long friends on our holiday and i am truly blessed to have been a part of such a wonderful experience . Our room was spotless clean sheets and towels daily and a little balconey. I am in my fifties have stayed in 5 * hotels around the world who's food has been better , rooms better equiped and greater facilities ... but the Hotel Villa Maria wins hands down for its location a stone's throw from Sorrento and for what they do as i did not go on holiday to sit in my room i went to see Italy which i just scratched the surface of. Thank you Hotel Villa Maria and Riviera travel for a stunning holiday and Italy i am hooked and shall be returning in the future. PS

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor with a view of the mountains which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#82 of 100 in Sorrento
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#86 of 100 in Sorrento
509 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria

Address: Via Capo 8, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $81 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Hotel Sorrento
Maria Villa Sorrento
Villa Maria Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing