We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay at the Conca Park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conca Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Conca Park Hotel
Ranked #44 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Scxotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at the Conca Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2006

Firstly let me advise that this is the first time i have ever put a review of any kind on any subject matter on the internet.

I felt i had to do this to combat some of the poor reviews this hotel has had.

My wife and i are both mid 40s , first time in this area and obviously this hotel.We spent the week 22 - 29 September.

After reading some reviews about 'The Tunnel' i had visions of a dark dingy muggers paradise where in fact its a beautifully lit walkway with tiled floors glass displays and piped music leading up to marble stairs and into reception.

The hotel itself is lovely, the views from our room were exactly what we booked , pool was immaculate, rooms were clean and tidy and made up every day.

The hotel is IDEALLY located only 5-10 mins walk from centre of main squre. Have no idea how any one could say otherwise. They must have been heading the wrong way.

The food was excellent, plenty of choice for both breakfast time and evening meal.

The staff were friendly to us and we have no complaints whaterver about this hotel. I do not understand why it has such varied reviews, can only put it down to the people reviewing.

All in all a great stay and if ever back in this area would not be looking to stay anywhere else.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — size
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank thebigdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    496
    214
    95
    46
See reviews for
296
664
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2006

I'm 21 and my partener is 24 and this was our first holiday. Sorrento is a beautiful place and there's so much to see and do in the area. The actual hotel and grounds are very well kept and there's a lovely relaxing atmosphere.

The food and waiter service was excellent! Anyone that says otherwise must be writing about the wrong hotel. We went half board so we ate a 3 course meal there every night. There was plenty of choice (normally about 5 or 6 main courses) and food always seemed freshly cooked and was well presented. A couple of the waiters seemed to take a shine to us after a few days and couldnt do enough to help us. They were very polite and well organised especially considering the amount of people they had to serve and their english was very good.

Our room was nicely decorated and comfortable enough with plenty of storage but for a 4* hotel i was expecting a bit more. The room was fairly clean but not immaculate, it could have done with a going over with a duster and i had to wipe the hairdrier handle and clean a squashed insect off the bathroom wall! We had white bed covers and although they had been washed they were stained. Also when i opened the fridge there were a couple of hairs inside which didnt seem very hygeinic. When we complained at reception they made us feel like we were being unreasonable but sent a maid up who changed the sheets but not the stained bed covers and wiped the fridge(completely missing the hairs)! We gave up after that because they had made us feel so unwelcome at reception and we felt guilty about complaining. Other than that the maid service was good ( bedding and towels changed daily).

Another example of the receptionists attitude was when my partner asked for some matchs (he'd been given some before without a problem). The man refused without an explaination or apology and as we were walking away i heard him say "you didnt ask in Italian".

For the money we paid (about £600 each after all the extras) i was expecting better rooms with better facilities and more attention to detail. If we'd been allocated this hotel on arrival and only paid about £300 each ( which sevaral people we spoke to had done) i would have been very happy. They just need to pay more attention to the rooms and get them up to a 4* standard. The rest of the hotel was impressive, including the lounge/bar area, outside seating and the tunnelled walk way. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful.

Its a good base to explore sorrento and nearby attractions and we had a great holiday with just a few minor complaints about the room. If you can get a good price then its definately worth staying here.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Melonfelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2006

Simple story:

Overdone lobby and entrance with plasma screens and marble, but guest rooms are tiny, tile floors, 13" (if that big) television, no mini bar, phones barely work, "double beds" are chinsy singles pushed together and no A/C.

The location is not good.... you do get a view of the bay of Naples which was the only upside, though it is over some ugly buildings.

People who rated this hotel highly obviously have not stayed anywhere decent because everywhere else we have stayed in Europe above 2 star exceeds this, perhaps with the exception of the lobby where you only spend a few minutes tolerating the poor service of the staff and management.

Summary: Find a decent place, not this one.

  • Liked — Parking Lot
  • Disliked — No Air Conditioning- miserable
  • Tips/Secrets — Aboid this hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank krumaneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2006

My husband and I were travelling along the Sorrento coast and decided to stay in this hotel for the night. The price was very expensive, but that was because we did not book in advance, and we thought we'd treat ourselves for one night. However, for the price we paid and the promise of a 4 * hotel we were sorely disappointed. There is no minibar in the room, no room service, and we later found out about many additional charges to use the 'minibar' (i.e. empty fridge), safe, car park and sunloungers. Also, on being shown the room we naively assumed that it was air conditioned. This was not to be the case! We called up to request that our AC was put on, only to be told that the AC is switched off in all the rooms after 15th September - when we complained next morning that no-one told us that the AC would not be on when we went to look at the room, the lady in charge rather rudely told us that it was up to us to ask these questions, not up to the staff to inform us of things like this - unbelievable attitude.. We were pretty disgusted by this time, and just wanted to leave the place, so we managed to negotiate leaving our car there for the day without charge as a consolation of sorts (so we didn't have to pay the outrageous E15 per day charge).

All in all the staff were unhelpful and when challenged, surly and rude. The lack of AC and any explanation about it really annoyed us. On the rest of our trip we met lovely people and found great places to stay, but this one really was a stinker.... Avoid at all costs!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank atlanticpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2006

I had read the reviews so at the time of booking with Portland Direct I payed extra for a balcony & sea view. So glad we did, had a fabulous view of the bay of Naples.

My husband and I found the hotel & rooms clean, we enjoyed the food it was cooked well and there was a good choice. Some of the other reviews say the foods horrible but I can only put that down to people not liking whats on the menu.

As for the charges for sun loungers, if you went to the bathing platforms you would be charged. The conca park do provide very comfortable deckchairs which are free of charge for those people who do not want to pay.

I thought the tunnel was done rather well and didn't mind the walk up it .

We did one organised trip to pompei which was a half day the guide was excellent.

We also got the local bus which went along the coast to Amalfi from the bus station in Sorrento, very easy and only cost 5 euros return.

Also went on the ferry to Capri met Jerry on the ferry who lives on Capri he does a tour for 20 euros you go to places other tours do not go and he is very interesting.

Overall a very pleasant stay at the Conca Park.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank boris1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2006

I felt I had to write this review to set a few things straight after the reviews that I read on here before staying at Conca Park. It may be long but it's just because I want to express how much I loved it.

For the record, im 20 and I stayed in the hotel with my mum and dad from 15-22 September as part of a Thomson package holiday.

We arrived at the hotel around mid afternoon, the coach pulled into an extremely tight little alcove which the hotel has for drop offs. We were asked to leave our luggage outside as the porter will take it to our rooms for us. Admittedly we were slightly miffed by that as they didnt give us much choice and we werent sure how quick we would get our cases. Fortunately they arrived promptly and it turned out to be a wise decision to let the porter take them as the entrance to the hotel reception is via an inclining but wonderful tunnel.

We entered the reception area and were greeted for the first time by what was to prove to be a wonderful team of staff. We were handed our keys and Thomson welcome pack and off we went to our 3 single rooms.

Obviously when you book a number of single rooms you cant always expect them to be together. The hotel had done their best though - 2 were next door to eachother and the 3rd was at the other end of a short corridor. No problem at all.

The 2 adjacent rooms overlooked the hotel garden, mine with more of a cliff face in view. I didnt mind this so much, the local lizards provided a bit of entertainment. However, a glance to the left from both balconies gave a wonderful view over the mountains.

The other room backed on to a different side of the hotel and had no view. Unfortunate but not devastating, as we were using the hotel as a base - not to spend a week on the balconies.

My room was probably the ideal size for a single room. It wasnt exactly big but there wouldve been no need for it to be bigger. Everything was in there that needed to be.

My mum is a light sleeper and it doesnt take a lot to keep her awake. Unfortunately, not far from her room, there was a staircase which led down to the staff areas and she could hear noise from plates and glasses being cleared away in the bar/restaurant.

Id like to stress that this isnt a major issue, I was only affected by it on the first night and didnt notice it afterwards. My mum eventually explained the situation to the staff on reception and they were so quick and pleased to help. They instantly offered her a different room on the 3rd floor which she took and was much happier from then on. The service and eagerness to solve the problem was outstanding and you always felt like the staff wanted to help, you didnt even have to ask.

The hotel itself is spotless. Perfectly clean, the decor and furnishings are of the highest quality and its very modern looking. You certainly felt comfortable, wherever you were in the hotel.

Now an issue which I am pleased to set straight on here. I read numerous reviews stating that the food in the hotel was not very good. For this reason I didnt intend to eat in the hotel too often. However, we ended up having dinner in the hotel every night!

I am half Italian and Id like to think that I know what im talking about when it comes to Italian food as I have grown up with it. One thing Im certain of is that the food in that hotel is fantastic. Every night we were greeted with a different (if limited) menu and every night I ended up choosing something which was excellent - all three courses. The portions were a good size, everything was excellently presented and the tastes were sublime. The service in the restaurant was also as good, the waiters were humourous, spoke very good English (the same can be said for all the staff in hotel) and once again were pleased to help.

This service carried over to the wonderful and relaxing Lounge Bar with Rafael (who works in the Pool Bar during the day and the Lounge Bar in the evening) earning every penny he got.

Saturday and Sunday's dinner was accompanied by a pianist on a grand piano in the foyer in between the lounge and the restaurant. On a few other nights during the week the entertainment came from a keyboard and female singer ( who had a great voice). It all added to the evening.

On the final evening there was the special Gala Dinner. This was a set menu, in one sitting, by candlelight as a special goodbye to everyone leaving the next morning.

The main course of the dinner was a pork loin dish, the HUGE pork loin was paraded to everyone on a trolley, surrounded by vegetables carved into flowers, which were handed to all the ladies in the room.

The desert was an Italian style trifle and this was a crowning moment. They had at least 3 of these, all massive and all flaming. They were paraded up and down the restaurant, for everyone to see and the waiters/waitresses then posed for photos for the people who charged at them with cameras. This was followed by a resounding chorus of "just one cornetto", conducted by one of the head waiters. It was certainly made to be a fun and relaxed night.

The hotel is ideally located aswell. It's away from the road and there is no traffic noise whatsoever. It is only 5/10 minute walk into the centre of Sorrento and it's a direct walk.

I know this review is long and I hope Ive havent left anything out. In summary;

Very helpful, cheery staff
Great evening food
Ideally positioned
Great hotel overall and in my opinion it is worthy of it's 4 star rating.

  • Liked — The wonderful staff and the excellent food
  • Tips/Secrets — Specifically ask for sea view/balcony if you want one. Dont be afraid to be in a room on a higher floor as it all seemed as good.
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Flumeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2006

We stayed at the conca park for 2 weeks from the end of August until the 8th of September.
We found the place very pleasant with good food and clean accommodation.
the staff were very friendly especially Mario on the front desk.
The location was very central with just a 10 minutes walk to the Piazza Tasso.
Unfortunately we didn’t have a view of anything but the rocks from our room. We didn’t like the fact that we would have been charged for using the fridge but we did pay to use the safe. Even pool towels and sun loungers were chargeable ( take your own towels).
We would recommend this hotel to others and overall, it was a great holiday.
Sorrento was very nice and sights like Pompeii etc you can do on your own and don’t have to use the organised excursions, which were expensive. The Amalfi drive ,in our opinion, is possibly the only excursion worth paying for.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank nsl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#48 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conca Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conca Park Hotel

Property: Conca Park Hotel
Address: Via Degli Aranci 13BIS, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#51 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Conca Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes' walk from the historic centre of Sorrento, Hotel Conca Park is ideal for a relaxing stay on the Sorrento Peninsula. The Hotel is close to bus stops and the train station, and so the most beautiful places in Campania can be reached in an hour at most. Pompeii, Herculaneum, Capri, Amalfi and Positano really are close, and we can organise private guided tours to ensure that your stay on the wonderful Sorrento Peninsula is truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Conca Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conca Park Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Conca Park Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing