We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tonnarella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Tonnarella
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

La Tonnarella was everything we imagened and so much more.... Cristina was professional and very pleasant! The rooms were very nice and most importantly very clean. We had breakfast every morning at the hotel, the pastries were delicious the capuccinos got your day started and the service was always pleasant.

The ocean views were like looking at a post card!

We will definitely recommend La Tonarella to our friends and we will be back

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBirnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    124
    54
    30
    17
See reviews for
59
252
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Tonnarella as when we are in Europe we like staying in traditional older buildings. The actual hotel is small but the grounds are large and the views spectacular. The hotel is traditional with tiles and lovely dark wood. Our room and bathroom were small but designed to ensure there was enough storage. We choose to upgrade to the room that had the large balcony. Our room was very clean. As others mentioned, the balcony was larger than the room. It was amazing - we had two lounge chairs, a bistro table and two chairs and still had plenty of room to move around. In the evening we enjoyed drinking wine on our balcony while enjoying the view. We liked the full breakfast and found the wait staff to be friendly and accommodating. The eggs were made to order and brought to your table.

This lovely 4 star hotel made us feel as though we were staying in a friendly family bed and breakfast. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and have highly recommended it to our friends.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and get a room with the large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toronto_ontario_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Can't say enough about this traditional Italian hotel, we loved our room, service was fantastic, we booked our tours to Pompeii and Capri right from the hotel at no additional charges. Breakfast was great, skip the dinner over priced for what you get. Jr. suite was the way to go for a family of four, we all had our space and loved the terrace over looking the Mediterranean. We also happened to be there during a local holiday so we saw the most beautiful fireworks right from our terrace. We took the elevator down the mountain to the hotels private beach. We ended a three week trip here and stayed for 3 nights, I only wish we had longer time. I did not see many kids here, very romantic for couples. Not sure about comments related to noise, we never heard any kind of noise, actually it was very quiet. The walk into town is about 15 mins, which was not a problem for us, but maybe if you are an older couple.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jr. suite as there were 4 of us, 13 and 18 year old teens with parents. Beds were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had the room number 2 with a large terrace, enjoying the great spectacle offered by the sea, sky, sun, Vesuvius etc
The room itself is very simple with old furniture, but is in accordance with the old building. The bathroom had only liquid and solid soap, shampoo and nothing else, expected for a 4* hotels with such a price. No bathrobe, no slippers... The towels looked not too well. Probably they were too used.
The closet could not be used, being already full with pillows and other things. We were obliged to keep all the 7 days we stayed there, in the suitcases. Room was not too large, but the terrace compensates this.
On the hotel beach we payed for the sunbeds and for the umbrella every day. Beach towels were paid only once. I do not understand, why they don't increase the room price with 10 euros, instead asking the hotel guests paying everything on the beach...
Breakfast was disappointing. If you wanted eggs you had to ask the waiter, but nobody informed us. We just noticed that the other people had eggs and we asked some. No olive in the olives land! Only one type of cheese in the cheese land! The example may continue...
People were nice and helpful.
The cleaning was not as expected. When we lived our suitcases were full of dust from the floor.
If you are not a gourmand and a sophisticated person with big expectations from a 4* stars hotel, and you want to enjoy the great view, you can choose this hotel. If you are looking for deluxe, you have too look for another hotel. Our deluxe room, was not deluxe at all, but we enjoyed the landscape and it makes all the money! Staying on the large terrace in the sunset with a glace of wine and hearing the "evening sounds" was something that made us to not put too much price of a poor breakfast or other things which were not as expected.
Prices from the restaurant are bigger that other restaurants from Sorrento and I would recommend to go in the city center for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Always choose a room with sea view from second floor. They have great terraces and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights in July. The hotel itself is a lovely old building traditionally decorated but unfortunately because it is old, you can hear everything going on in the corridors. I agree with a previous reviewer that the maids were very noisy, banging doors early in the morning. Our room was also opposite a family with a young baby, which wasn't ideal due to the lack of soundproofing. And for some reason we got a wake up call before 8am on our last day when we hadn't asked for it - really annoying as we had a late flight and needed the extra sleep because we had a 2 hour drive back from Gatwick very late that night.

We weren't impressed with the breakfast either and ended up only eating at the hotel 1 out of the 3 mornings we were there. There was very little choice and stocks were not replenished quickly enough, if at all. The staff we encountered were helpful when we asked for information although didn't seem particularly concerned with guests. At check-out they didn't even ask how our stay was, which I thought was quite odd.

On the plus side, our deluxe double room (no. 14) was lovely and clean with a huge terrace with panoramic sea views over the bay, Sorrento and Vesuvius. The terrace was actually bigger than the room and had a table and chairs, 2 sun loungers and even a hammock! Definitely the best part of our stay. The only gripe we had with the room was that there was no stand up shower, just a shower where you have to sit down in the bath.

It's a good hotel, within easy walking distance to Sorrento, which was really convenient (the walk is 15-20 mins and much easier than expected on the way back up the hill - the slope is pretty gentle) but just needs a few improvements to make it as great as it could/should be. At the moment it seems like they are skating by on the amazing views and not really paying attention to the little things.

Room Tip: Our deluxe double room (no.14) was definitely worth the extra money for a sea view terrace bigger th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremorris, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at La Tonnarella two weeks ago for a week. We stayed in room 5 which was a nice sized room with a small balcony which had a wonderful view of the sea, sorrento and vesuvius. The room was very quite and peaceful and cleaned everyday, The breakfast was very good, lovely buffet style with some hot food if you liked. We walked into Serrento a couple of times a day which took about 10 mins but the views were wonderful as we walked along. The only complaint i would have were the reception staff, the could be more helpful, if you asked a question they would answer it but did not go out of their way to explain things or give any recommendations. We did not have dinner here any night because it was too quite with no atmosphere. A little bit of entertainment would also be nice. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends as a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: get a room with a sea view and balcony - room 5 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have mixed feelings about our stay at LA Tonnarella. I would give it a 10+ breathtaking stars for location, beautiful private beach with lift, sheer wonderful real Italian ambiance, and those amazing views!!!!! This hotel/villa gives you what u seek of a true, wonderful Italian holiday. The rooms and bathrooms are large, floors are beautiful Italian tile from the surrounding area, and the bathrooms are also large and done in all Itailan tile, as well. Not a stay at a hotel, if moved... Would fit anywhere! You know you are in Italy and the Amalfi Coast!

Breakfast was good and got us going.

SADLY, the hotel itself is extremely dusty... furniture, floors, to the beautiful Italian dinner ware on display. They even had cobwebs on them. It was a shame, because it devalued them. Especially, knowing their price tag. Floors were extremely dusty and on the wood stairs you could see not only the dust, but everyones hair, etc.The dust in this hotel looked as if it had accumulated from the ancient Roman days. Also, table cloths were kept for all meals for the day, it would seem.

Upon arrival to our room, I noticed the large cobweb over the bathroom sink (I asked to have it removed immediately. It was.). Also, I could not help but notice the grout in between the tiles had black mold. The shower did not drain while you were actually showering. I asked if they could clean the the mold and fix the drainage problem in the shower before we left in the am to tour. When we returned, mold was still there and after showering... drainage problem still existed! When we inquired with the front desk personel, she said the chamber maid said it was fine and the drainage was JUST slow! She also stated, her chamber maid was one of best on the property.

I would definitely stay here again, but next time I would change rooms immediately. Not wait to see if they fix a problem. I would not change where we stayed in Sorrento at all. The views, location, views, views, location, true Italian ambiance, private beach with lift, beauty on way to beach... So worth it! That part is a strong 10+, but the hotel itself... a strong 3!!! A strong 4, if a little bleach, lots of dusting, and customer service were used better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aprilf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Miramare
Hotel Residence Miramare
#69 of 100 in Sorrento
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tonnarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tonnarella

Property: La Tonnarella
Address: Via Capo 31, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Tonnarella 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Tonnarella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tonnarella Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing