We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spot for a family”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sorrento, Province of Naples, Campania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Melinda K
Niskayuna, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for a family”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We rented Apartment Sun for 4 nights. It worked out perfectly for our family. One bedroom with a double bed for the parents plus another bedroom with single beds for the kiddos. Plenty of room to stretch out (a nice contrast to being rather cramped in our Rome accommodations just days beforehand), and a beautiful view of Mt. Vesuvius and the surrounding coast. With a few grocery shops just down the street, it made for an easy way to find breakfast and snacks. The kitchen had everything we needed to make homemade lemonade from the lemons we found in town.

The management were very helpful and provided all the information we needed about the local area, including providing maps and making restaurant recommendations.

Our only pet peeves were that the mattress on the double bed could have been more comfortable and the shower in the master bath drained rather slowly. Neither was so bad so as to really affect our stay.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izzybizzy...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful views beautiful stay”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent self catering apartment in the heart of sorrento with stunning 360 degree views of the coast and mount Vesuvius ! Many a night sat watching the sun set with friends drinking some limonchello !

Spacious apartment staff very helpful on arrival and departure;)

Supermarket a very short walk away catering for all you would want they were really friendly too felt very welcome .

Short walk into the bustle of sorrento lots to do if you want to escape for a walk to a local fishing village and stopping at the boardwalk bar or take a Trip to Pompeii !

Take a train to Pompeii and Herculaneum !

Take a boat to amalfi get the hop on hop off bus to the villages and then bus back to sorrento stunning and a bit hair raising!

Also take the hop on hop off bus in sorrento and that will take you out to the countryside

Great holiday ;)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geodent
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spacious accommodation for four, with extensive views of Vesuvius and Bay of Naples”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Quiet, spacious, luxurious accommodation for four adults, but could accommodate six. Check in procedure somewhat stressful, arriving by train about midday we had to wait until 3.45 before being able to check in. Once there Cristina took us helpfully through the procedure and made recommendations about restaurants and places to visit. Good supermarket 50 metres down the hill, ten minute stroll to town centre with wide range of shops and restaurants. Another ten minutes to Marina for boats to Capri, Amalfi coast etc., or to train station for Naples, Herculaneum and Pompeii. Sorrento is an excellent centre for visiting all these sites as well as being a lively and fascinating town in its own right. Well equipped kitchen and bathrooms. Quality furnishings, extensive all round balcony gave choice of locations for eating outside and sunbathing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious accommodation for four. Quiet location near town centre. Large terrace all round the property with extensive views over surrounding countryside, Vesuvius, Bay of Naples and over roofs of other properties down to the sea
Liked least: All wardrobe space in one bedroom. One bathroom leads directly off kitchen/breakfast area at opposite corner of appartment from associated bedroom; need to pass through living/dining room and kitchen to access.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen c
Lightwater, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC APARTMENT, OWNERS AND RENTAL AGENT”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Fanatastic apartment. You walk out of either of the two bedrooms, or the lounge, and you walk straight out onto a wonderful terrace. There are tables and chairs on two parts of the terrace, two sun loungers on two other parts of the terrace, one with an outside shower! The views are breathtaking, the hills at the back and the sea and vesuvious to the front. The apartment is fantastic and has everything you would need, and more! It is like home from home. The owners and really lovely and nothing is too much for them, as are the rental agents (Elegant Escapes). If you need to rent in Italy, use Elegant Escapes, they are really the best! They are very helpful and will put themselves out to ensure you everything that you need for your holiday. They are extremely knowledgeable about the area and can organise any trips that you require. I highly recommend the apartment and Elegant Escapes and would like to thank them - and the owners of the apartment - for giving us such a lovely time in Sorrento! A BIG THANK YOU!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffeaston
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Apartment Sun, a penthouse apartment in Sorrento, during late June, 2013. The apartment, located in a safe, walkable area about 10 minutes from Piazza Tasso and the train station, is reached from the ground floor by the 2-person lift or by stairs. With two good sized two bedrooms and two baths, it had plenty of space for our family (Mom & Dad and two adult daughters). In fact, counting the sofa-bed in the living room there is enough sleeping space for two more guests. Adjacent to the dining room is a functional, well-equipped kitchen. We didn’t prepare many meals there, but certainly could have. However, be sure to pay attention to Sorrento’s recycling system. Apartment Sun’s washing machine allowed us to pack lighter than usual. With the help of its instruction manual and a few babblefish tranlations, we quickly mastered its controls. To everyone’s delight, the newly-installed WiFi system worked perfectly everywhere in the apartment.

Its worth mentioning two other apartment features that really stood out for us. First, Apartment sun has four sets of floor-to-ceiling glass doors that can be opened to catch the evening breezes. With no air conditioning, those breezes helped keep the apartment comfortable during the evenings. Second, the apartment features a really big wrap-around (270 degree) deck with an outstanding view of the Bay of Naples (spectacular at night), Vesuvio, and a sliver of Marina Picola to the north; territorial views to the west and south. From early-morning moka pot espressos to late evening glasses of wine, the three different seating afforded plenty of comfortable areas to enjoy the sights.

Finally, I’d like to praise the staff at Elegant Escapes. They were excellent and did what they said they would do. Giulianna and Irene of Elegant Escapes promptly answered all our e-mails and texts and helped us navigate the somewhat tricky (for us) funds transfers from the US to Sorrento. Christina (a recent hospitality management grad from the Univ. Naples) met us after our arrival from the train station, welcomed us with a nice bottle of wine, and explained how to operate the apartment. Growing up in the area, she had many great suggestions about things to do, places to see, and food to eat. As we had early flights leaving from Naples on our day of departure, she graciously agreed to meet us the evening before to “check out” and return our deposit.

Would we book Apartment Sun again or recommend it to our friends? Assolutamente!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deck
Liked least: What's not to like?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flebsplic...
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Apartment Sun exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Apartment Sun was amazing. The living room was larger than we expected, with a tile floor and two big doors opening to the expansive porch. The two bedrooms were both very comfortable, one with a view of Mt Vesuvius in the distance. Two bathrooms (but one with a very small shower). But the best feature was the expansive porch that wraps three sides of the apartment. It includes two tables and another sitting area, plus several other chairs and lounges. We spent most of our time out there eating, sitting, relaxing, enjoying the views of the mountains, the sea and the Mt. Vesuvius. The apartment was so pleasant we spent more time just hanging out there than originally planned.

The apartment is in a residential-feeling neighborhood behind the main part of Sorrento, which is about a 5 minute walk down the hill. Two nice food shops very near by. The only drawback, which didn't bother us since we are from a city, is a fair bit of urban noise (kids playing, dogs barking, traffic; the sound seems amplified by the surrounding hills). But this was more than offset by the constant cool breeze and amazing views both night and day.

Plus the apartment managers were extremely friendly and helpful. It was nice to be greeted by a smiling face after dragging our luggage on the 10 minute walk from the train to our meeting point near the apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and cool breeze on the porch.
Liked least: Small shower in second bathroom.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann M
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“large ,perfect location & ,huge balcony,panoramic views”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Kitchen basic but we only ate breakfast in as we were inSorrento to visit Pompei etc..no wardrobes in main bedroom.
I suggest, before handing over security deposit checking all sanitory ware ,in fact do a full check of property.
The bidet in ensuite was cracked, by last day actually broke so that was our fault as we should have reported the crack and the cleaner would have noticed the bidet was cracked She did not report the crack so it was assumed we damaged it This incident happened after our deposit had been returned and being a responsible tenant I informed the agent rather than do a runner
The agent insisted it was our fault, then the owner arrived who decided to leave well alone.but it did spoil a perfect holiday.
Be cautious .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The balcony and views
Liked least: The kitchen and hard bed in main bedroom
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing