We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2012”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Room standards are excellent but you need to book early to get the better rooms on the lower floors. Good location but access to the sea front and shops is 20 to 30 minute walk, depending on your fitness; or a short bus ride. Bus stop is across the road from the main entrance to the hotel.
Excellent hotel and staff. Excellent restaurant for all meals and waiter service!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the lower floors. There is an annexe a short walk through the gardens for additiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndyStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,736 - 1,742 of 3,286 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

A nice place to stay, went with Riviera travel for the 2nd year running and although the guide and itineray were not great the food, service and fellow travellers made up for it. Had a great time and the bar staff looked after us very well.

Room Tip: Sea view with a balony worth paying extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Located on the hillsides of Sorrento, overlooking the Bay of Naples, Mt. Vesuvius, magnificent sunrises and sunsets; incredible flowers.

totally amazing common spaces -- both inside the hotel and outside on the decks. Loved the time we spent in the poolside bar area. We were with our teenaged grandchildren, and we had space to spend together as a family, chatting, reading, playing cards, as well as space where we could escape to spend time as a couple.

Breakfast was included in the room -- typical European breakfast of breads, pastries, cheese, cold cuts, etc. Great service.

Lunch menu was light and healthy, and served outside by the pool, overlooking the Bay.
Dinner was typical large hotel fare. Reasonably well-prepared, typical hotel pricing. Hotel catered to Americans, Brits, Germans. Most staff spoke good English.

Concierge services very good. Restaurant recommendations made were outstanding; also calls for reservations.

Hourly shuttle to and from town provided; also great walking path to town through olive groves and on side streets.

Room was clean, and comfortable.

We would definitely stay here again.

Only negative was that they closed the pool at 7 pm daily, and we weren't ready to give up the pool for the day.

Room Tip: If you love to watch sunrises & sunsets, make sure you ask for a room with a balcony on the Sorr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shuggybear52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We staid here for a week in July/August and it was good, the room had a great view over the bay, the air conditioning worked well and the shuttle bus was very good. The breakfasts were not to my liking but thats a minor issue, if i was staying in Sorrento again i would probably use the Grand Aminta again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven_robb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We chose this Hotel for a break in our road trip around italy and we were glad we did, with stunning veiws over Naples bay and the town of Sorrento below. We had the Set Menu on the first night which was very good but chose from the main the following night which was superb. The pool was a bit on the chilly side but that could have been the outside temp in the 28-30'c making it feel cooler. The other spoiler was a noisy neighbour who broke our sleep. But all in all its definately a hotel we would use again.

Room Tip: Annex rooms were just as good as the main Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The shuttle downtown left nearly every hour and was very convenient. Everything about this hotel was awesome! We didn't have dinner there, so I can't speak about that. The tile floors through the hallways were very squeaky when we walked, no matter the shoes worn. That caused much giggling with every step. I don't have much else to add that others haven't wrote before.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Our stay at the Grand Hotel Aminta was perfect. We had a balcony and a water view, but even if we hadn't, the lounge area and pool area had that same beautiful water view. The shuttle bus runs every hour, however, there is a lovely path down to Sorrento, with lots of olive trees, if you prefer to walk. The staff was very helpful. The front desk shared travel tips, the restaurant staff even remembered coffee preferences. I'm looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurene35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $76 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing