We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world hospitality”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old world hospitality”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Perfect spot for the sort of old world European resort hospitality I was hoping for in Sorrento. I admit, I was a bit nervous when I realized how far from town the Aminta was. But there's a good reason for this; actually, several reasons for this: peace, quiet, and beautiful views out over the town, the hills, and the bay. It's a wonderful setting to relax with a loved one. An hourly shuttle made the trip to the central square, which made the out-of-the-way location convenient enough. (Although, I admit, I do wish it ran a little more often.) Breakfast was wonderful, too--more American than European. And a beautiful lobby. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,985
    826
    210
    33
    7
See reviews for
662
1,708
56
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotia, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Aminta for 5 days in October after traveling through Florence and Rome. The Aminta was a breath of fresh air after the other two "4-star" hotels we stayed in. The building, grounds, and decor are beautiful - especially the dining room, artwork, and bathroom tiles. From arrival to check-out, we were treated with exceptional hospitality and service. The front desk staff even helped us plan our day trip to Capri! (Thank you, Rosella!) The food was fresh and delicious and the table service was impeccable. Offering a shuttle service to and from town is a huge convenience, though I highly recommend taking the walk into town on the Capodimonte at least once. The staff and accommodations at the Aminta added to the experience of Sorrento and we hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikscusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Overall this is a great place to stay. Once you arrive, you realise why the ratings are so high- it has the most spectacular views over Sorrento. The common areas of the hotel such as the reception area, bar and restaurant are all ofthe highest standard and there's a great outdoor terrace and (unheated) outdoor pool with another bar. Although the main road to the top of the hill skirts the terrace and pool area, the noise isn't too much of a problem. We got upgraded to a superior room and it was very clean and well-equipped although like many Italian 4-star hotels, on the small side. Again, great views over the Bay of Naples. Staff were very friendly and most spoke good English but the restaurant was a bit of a let down. Breakfast staff (mainly elderly men) were friendly but not at all attentive- so it took a very long time to get tea or coffee or to order sides and once or twice the order didn't come. The quality of breakfast (like many hotels in this region) was also well below par- poor coffee, juice and selection of cold foods. However, these were minor issues given the wider benefits of staying in this hotel. A free shuttle bus runs from the town on an hourly basis (saving the £30 or so taxi fare) but beware the three hour gap mid-day. Alternatively there's a very steep but attractive walk down to the coast road- better down than up! I'd definitely stay here again and probably will. There are some decent discounts if booked in advance.

Room Tip: Opt for a middle grade room if you book on-line. The smaller rooms look very small and the larger ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilofEnglandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

stayed here for a week in october 2013 as a family of four with two children aged 15 and 13.
On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who spoke fantastic english who showed us to our room. we stayed in the separate building in a family room with two double beds. We had a sea view which was worth it! the beds were very comfortable and there were never any disturbances at night.
We were on a bed and breakfast basis. buffet breakfast was very good, large selection of cakes and also cooked breakfast- you could also request other items from the menu if you wanted. One night we payed to eat dinner in the restaurant at 30 euros each (excluding drinks) and this also was very enjoyable although a little pricey.
Most days we went sightseeing, we would recommend capri (don't go to blue grotto!!) vesuvius, driving along the amalfi coast and pompeii.
The hotel shuttle bus was incredibly reliable, the driver was safe and never failed to pick us up. it runs hourly (excluding the middle of the day) and has a break at 10/10.30 at night.
This hotel was perfect for what we wanted, and would recommend to anyone looking to stay in sorrento!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liverpool4686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We have just returned from a truly memorable holiday in Sorrento! Staying at the Grand Hotel Aminta, as we have done frequently before, we found the service , the rooms, and the food all excellent! Indeed it is to the credit of all the Family and staff that its very high standards are impeccably maintained. We heartily commend the Aminta to visitors to the Amalfi Coast!

Alfred B Wootton

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baldsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorking
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay if you want combine some serious sightseeing with a pool sunbathing holiday..staff are really friendly and helpful. Superb views and good food. Only fault is the inconsistent shuttle service which stops running for periods in the day..

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank srn151161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying in this hotel many times and I will keep returning. It is amazing how consistantly incredible the hotel's rooms, service and food has been for the past 15 years. They never disappoint. It all starts with the friendly and welcoming greeting you receive at the front desk, through the professional waitstaff in the restaurant, to the convienent shuttle bus. The food in the hotel is amazing as well as the views of Sorrento.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limoncello40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,222 reviews
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing