We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Sorrento”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Sorrento”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Grand Hotel Aminta is a Stunning hotel, friendly, family focused hotel. They will try and accommodate you in any way possible. If you need something all you have to do is ask.

The dining service is superb, the food was above and beyond words to describe, it was extremely good and better than excellent. The hotel is right at the top of a hill, you may walk down, but would not recommend walking back up.

The hotel runs a private bus from the top to the bottom every hour, and a bus from the bottom to the hotel ever half past on the clock (free of charge).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,020
    835
    212
    33
    7
See reviews for
686
1,729
56
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Everything at the Aminta was excellent, especially the waiters who were fantastic and even helped us to learn Italian! We would highly recommend this hotel. The walk down the path into Sorrento was lovely and the free shuttle bus back was great! The views of Sorrento and the Bay of Naples were outstanding. The hotel was just outside of Sorrento and we preferred this peaceful location more than the bustling centre of Sorrento.

Room Tip: We had a twin room with a balcony overlooking the pool and the views were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maljee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I agree with the comments already posted. All staff were friendly and professional. I should like to thank the shuttle bus driver who, I felt, was a great ambassador for the hotel. All public areas were spotless and very comfortable, as was our room. Dining was a pleasure, an occasion, thanks to the team work of the charming staff and the varied menu. Everything at the Aminta contributed to a memorable, relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony not on the poolside. You will have all the afternoon sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary and were giving a bottle of sparkling wine which was a really nice touch. I cannot fault anything at this hotel. The hotel staff are great, especially the waiters who are very warm and friendly. The bar staff, reception staff and cleaners are all lovely. We had no problems whatsoever, we were on half board and the food was very enjoyable. Only downside was the price of a bottle of wine, 18 Euros was a bit steep so we drank mineral water with our evening meal. We walked into Sorrento which took about 15 minutes and walked back a couple of times which was tiring but worth it for the views. The shuttle was worth using if it was too hot to walk. If I went back to Sorrento then I would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GailMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We've just come back from Sorrento and would highly recommend a visit. At first when we kept climbing up the hill to the hotel i thought omg how far is this from the centre but with the shuttle bus every hour and the footpath down to the town which takes about 15 minutes it was the perfect hotel for our perfect holiday. The rooms were clean, the restaurant and bar areas were lively and the views were just stunning. Breakfast was a little basic but it was fine, the only thing i can find fault with was the coffee, probably due to the milk! We weren't half board but we chose to eat in the hotel on 3 occasions as after a long day sight seeing sometimes we couldn't be bothered going back into town and the food in the restaurant was good. The shuttle bus was great as it was also a way of meeting and chatting to others and comparing notes on the trips - Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Capri, Amalfi coast are all a must and the local transport is a great way to get around and is really cheap. I would definitely go back to Sorrento and to this hotel, you will never get fed up of the view of Vesuvius as you sit having your breakfast it is simply stunning.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our stay in Grand Hotel Aminta was just great. Everything in the hotel was perfect during our stay (room, bed, breakfast and location). Mrs. Victoria, the lady in the hotel reception, really surpassed my expectations. She upgraded our two rooms from an attic room (smaller and no balcony) into two rooms with balcony and a wonderfull sea view of Sorrento. I would definetly recomend this hotel if you plan to visit this part of Italy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achen_from_Curitiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is an ideal base for visiting Sorrento, the Amalfi Coast and Capri. The hotel is located about 3-4 miles (by road) uphill from Sorrento which affords it some excellent views of Sorrento and the surrounding area. The hotel provide a courtesy mini-bus service in and out of Sorrento which is real bonus as it costs around €25 one way in a taxi, you can walk from the hotel via a footpath oposite the hotel, the path is very steep in places and you need to be aware that motorised scooters also use it, having said that it's only about a mile downhill into Sorrento and takes about half an hour, you do have to cross a main road about halfway into Sorrento fortunately there is a crossing which if you value your life it's advisable to use.
The hotel itself is exceptionally clean and very comfortable with plenty of areas to relax, it is very well run and the staff are excellent in all areas. Our room was on the top 5th floor (the lift only goes to the 4th floor) the room was very nice, the only thing I would say is that due to the hotel being high on a hill, it is exposed to a fair amount of wind noise on relatively calm days and it sounds like a hurricane on rough rainy days, so go for a room on the lower floors if this is a problem.
The only reason I haven't given the hotel 5 stars is the food in the restaurant may have been considered À la carte standard in years gone by, but it's no more than average by today's standards, having said that it's reasonable value compared to some of the restaurants in Sorrento, where cover and service charges are added at varying rates.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leintwardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
992 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing