We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just returned from this lovely hotel with the best view of Sorrento, Vesuvius and the bay. Looking at earlier reviews it seems to be all said. The welcome, cleanliness, friendliness, food..... The secret lies perhaps in what we found out- that it is privately owned and the owner was actually born there, living in the part behind what is now the reception. He said he considered it is home. You feel that as he and his family dine there often too. The restaurant staff from the Maitre d' through to Felice rand Pietro are kindness itself. Nothing is too much for them. The chef provides a great quality fare and we looked forward to our meals after walking down or once up the rather steep, pleasant path past lemon groves to the town. The shuttle is punctual and the diver amiable. The bar has wonderful views and both it and the ground floor lounge area are great for relaxing and reading. We were sad to leave and hope to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Margaret30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,976 - 1,982 of 3,286 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Grand Hotel Aminta was a great place to stay in Sorrento. The rooms were nice and clean and the view was amazing. There was a shuttle that took you into town for free that was very convenient. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetravel2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here in late August 2011 for 10 nights. As with quite a few of the hotels in Sorrento this hotel is up a hill. However the Hotel provided an hourly mini-bus service which dropped off/ picked up hourly in the centre of Sorrento. (The bus was quite busy on the late-night pick-up so some nights you had to stand. Some guests seemed to get quite worked up about this but it really isn't a problem for the convenience of being taxied back to the hotel!)
The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. There was also plenty of choice at Breakfast.
This hotel was a little more 'packagey' than we're used to (which is probably to be expected as it is featured in Thomas Cook/ Thomsons brochures) and the music around the pool got a bit annoying sometimes but each to their own!
We chose Sorrento as it's a great base for exploring the Amalfi Coast and cheaper than the resorts of Positano, Amalfi and Capri. However if you prefer to be somewhere a bit less 'packagey' I'd recommend the smaller resorts.
A tip - we saved over £400 each on our stay (compared with Thomas Cook prices) by booking both Jet 2 flights and the hotel through Expedia.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VLD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Very few hotels are open in Sorrento in the winter months so we booked the Aminta on the basis that it had the best reviews of those that were open. We were delighted with our choice.

We got off to a very positive start following our booking online directly with the hotel. We received a message with our confirmation to advise that they had a half price promotional rate and we could change to the lower rate if we wanted. Wow - we have never been asked for less money before!

We had a standard room that was simply furnished and very clean. Breakfast was excellent with lots of hot and cold options. We ate in the hotel restaurant each night. The food, service and prices were very good. Complementary minibus in to the town is really handy...and essential as the hotel is on the hill overlooking the town and sea.

Excellent hotel for all - couples and families.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rather-be-sailing-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fabulous hotel perched on a hilltop with mesmerisng views. We loved the shuttle service to Sorrento and used it to go downtown twice a day and sneaked in a siesta in the bargain.We walked down the shortcut once and felt adventurous--try it at least once!Evenings that we stayed in the hotel were even more fulfilling with four course meal, friendly waiters and impeccable service accompanied by live music as well a country dance thrown in.The front desk helped us with choosing our day trips to Positano and Naples.The ambience of the hotel was very relaxed and romantic and we enjoyed all of the six days we stayed there and would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank anshoobajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I agree with the previous comments, cannot think of anything bad, except the weather. A lot of places were closed in the town as we are out of season. Everyone is so helpful and the restaurant staff are excellent. Every meal is served with pride. A great stay!

Room Tip: We were lucky to get a sea view room, when the sun was out the views are spectacular. The only snag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Sorrento from the moment we checked in to the Hotel Aminta. The first person we met at the front desk was incredible at orienting us to the hotel and the town. The complimentary shuttle driver, the bar and restaurant, cleaning and front desk staff were all friendly and very helpful. I think Hotel Aminta represents the best in customer service. Also the hotel was spacious, clean and interesting and the views were unbelievably gorgeous. Suggestion to future guess - check out the hiking. There's a great trail from the hotel into town and great town to town hiking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bhaukster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $76 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing