We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Sorrento from the moment we checked in to the Hotel Aminta. The first person we met at the front desk was incredible at orienting us to the hotel and the town. The complimentary shuttle driver, the bar and restaurant, cleaning and front desk staff were all friendly and very helpful. I think Hotel Aminta represents the best in customer service. Also the hotel was spacious, clean and interesting and the views were unbelievably gorgeous. Suggestion to future guess - check out the hiking. There's a great trail from the hotel into town and great town to town hiking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bhaukster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,835
    770
    198
    31
    8
See reviews for
606
1,571
52
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

From the moment we checked in we loved this hotel.
Was only going to stay 2 nights but ended up staying three as it was so lovely.
The hotel itself is lovely but the view and the surrounds are spectacular.
The service by staff, particularly in the dining room is excellent.
The shuttle bus service into Sorrento is very well run by a friendly driver.it leaves on the hour from 0900 and returns on the half hour untIl 2330 at night!
Would return here in a flash!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I did a two week tour of Germany and Italy staying in various enjoyable hotels, but this one stole the spotlight! Situated on a hill just south of the city-center, the hotel offers incredible views, clean spacious rooms, and regular transportation to the city-center. The staff was friendly and helpful, and I appreciate the free wi-fi access. Stay here if you get the chance!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Aminta in December for celebration of our 20 year anniversary.. The hotel is hands down one of the best in Sorrento! The views are take your breath away beautiful!!! Even better then the pictures can show. The location is perfect, atop a quiet hill amidst the olive orchards with a large california style patio with comfortable couches and chairs to enjoy the magnifcent views. They had lighted up the trees and it is really elegant, festive, and romantic. The shuttle service is timely and reliable and comfortable. We arrived by train and walked to the shuttle location and went directly to our hotel. Everything was ready and they gave us an unexpected upgrade and champagne gift! The hotel staff were professional and personable. We felt relaxed, safe, and content. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Wireless, TV, and usa size bathrooms and showers, bathtub. The food in the dinining room is top notch. we enjoyed Sorrento very much, this was our second trip there, and it is truly wonderful vacation destination for all seasons. During winter season, the boats do not go to Positano and Amalfi, so you have to take a bus or car, I'd recommend bus. The boats do go to Naples and Capri. Those are worth a visit. Be careful in Naples. We spent 6 days there. Some days we'd go into town and wander and enjoy the views then go back to Aminta to relax, then back into town for dinner, other days, we'd stay in and enjoy the hotel for dinner. All the hotel Aminta staff were wonderful. They helped me ship a package back home and I received it with no issues within a week. Do remember to tip the shuttle driver and the housekeeper and waiters. They will take care of you. In addition to the breakfast which included assorted fresh pastries, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, breads and toaster, eggs, ham, cheeses, and fresh orange juice, they offered cooked foods of eggs any way you want, bacon and ham, with seasonal vegetables, coffee, cappuccino, espresso. It is a generous breakfast in a beautiful surrounding. Dining in the hotel for dinner is great too. We are very picky about our food. They have a great wine list and make amazing dishes that rival any in town. Try the spagetti with clams! The appetizers too were great. We found it to be very relaxing and the food does not disappoint! We will visit again! Highly recommend Hotel Aminta to all!!! Hotel has an elegant warm feel, yet is still personable. Very international feel. Families were there and all seemed happy! Even couples traveling with baby's. They have a great pool which would be open in Summmer season too that has a kids side. Weather is amazing, with sunshine and 60ish F, hotel was always comfortable. Truly a wonderful place, and can't wait to go back!!!!! Loved it!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had a room with a partial ocean view and it was fantastic. The rest of the hotel is open to all a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SophisticatedDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel was clean, the staff were very professional and very friendly. Our room was great, the breakfast excellent and the views from our room and hotel were breathtaking. The hotel is located 5 minutes away from center of Sorrento and the hotel provides a comfortable shuttle with a very friendly driver. We are very, very happy and will return again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank romeopitbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Joined a riveria trip to sorrento earlier this year and stayed at the hotel aminta in sorrento. Excellent trip, excellent location and excellent hotel. We couldnt find any fault if we tried. Well worth while trip. Just booked another

Room Tip: the rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the bay of naples, including mount vesuvius. Amazing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pberry446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Visited this lovely hotel for the second time firstly with my daughter 10 years ago and this time with a friend. Hotel was still the same, great staff and accommodation. Restaurant very high standard. My friend fell on our visit to Pompeii and broke her ankle, the staff at Aminta were so helpful which was a great help to both of us. Would highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate in going there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttercupdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
2,225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
2,995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing