We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip Advisor was right!”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor was right!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel definitely has my vote. It would definitely be my choice on a return visit.
The staff could not have been any nicer, the rooms any cleaner, and the warm hospitality any greater. We had a car and drove from Rome and stayed for 9 days. We did cocktails at other 4 star hotels daily, to compare to our hotel. None of those other hotels would get the accolades of the Aminta. We had a beautiful sea view overlooking Sorrento and out of the hustle and bustle of downtown. The staff was outstanding. (thanks Maryalissa and Lela). Nothing was too much trouble for any of the Aminta staff. Hope to see you next year. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerrynendick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for posting your rave review regarding your vacation at the Aminta. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and that the hotel met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. Best wishes and thank you for choosing Hotel Aminta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,942
    809
    207
    32
    7
See reviews for
638
1,668
55
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights fr my husbands special birthday and was greeted in the room with a bottle of sparkling which was a very nice welcome, the staff were very knowledgable and helpful and the shuttle bus on time and friendly, although you're 10 mins from the town it's manageable and quite nice to be out of the hustle and bustle of Sorrento, the Hotel bar is a cool place to relax and have a drink in the eenng and the food is good enough, would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay at the Aminta. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. Our staff work very hard to make sure all of our guests have a memorable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon, what a place, sat on top of a hill with outstanding views of Sorrento and the bay of Naples, the first thing I and my wife said upon looking out from the balcony was Wow!
The hotel is spotless and pristine with big bright rooms. Although we were half board we had decided we would have a few dinners out in Sorrento, but the food here was so good we ate here ever night. Everyone of the staff we encountered was first class in their role and went above and beyond what we expected and made us both feel special. The courtesy bus to Sorrento was always on time and allowed us to go back and forth to the hotel with ease, also the walk into town takes 10 mins and allows you to take in the great views.
We saw the other hotels that we nearly picked when booking our honeymoon and the Aminta shone above them all, and people we meet at the hotel who were Sorrento veterans said that the Aminta was by far the best they had found.
The sea view room upgrade and prosecco on ice when we arrived was a great touch. We are both looking forward to visiting the Aminta again in the future and are both so glad of our choice which has given us a honeymoon we will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gooders1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is an excellent hotel and the staff are very friendly. The shuttle bu is brilliant and town only ten minutes away. The only small problem was that our bed was rock hard but when we spoke with reception it was sorted right away with a lovely topper. The view is stunning and really were very pleased

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mervynnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at the Aminta. Its always a pleasure for us to hear from satisfied clients. The staff work very hard to meet our guests' expectations, and if a problem arises, we do our best to resolve it immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My self and my boyfriend are just back from a weeks holiday at the Grand Hotel Aminta in Sorrento. What can i say, from the moment we arrived untill the moment we left it was truly amazing no words can even describe. I had read almost every review of hotels on both Booking.com to Trip advisor and kept coming back to Aminta. It was within our budget and for a 4star Hotel it was worth every penny we even got a comp upgrade on arrival which was fantastic.

Here is a quick run down, Staff very friendly & helpful, room nice size, clean & had a couple of English speaking channels which was good. Pool nice size and had sun all day long where ever u lay, Restaurant fantastic & reasonable, Bar lovely and views amazing. There were a mixture between older people and young couples on honeymoon. 15mins walk down hill to Sorrento & free shuttle bus back every hr was always on time. Would definitely go back and would highly reccomend.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade where possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittykildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for posting your very complimentary review regarding your holiday at the Aminta. We are so pleased to hear that you and your boyfriend found that the hotel met all of your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you for choosing the Hotel Aminta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr. Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just returned from our week at the Aminta, chosen mainly because of the reviews already posted on Trip Advisor. The hotel is very accurately reviwed and as the heading says, does exactly what it promises. Set high up on the Sorrentine hillside and with the 8 minute bus ride to the town centre, this is not a hotel that will allow you to stroll to a bar or cafe after dinner due to its location. Your choice would either be, to be in the thick of it or slightly distanced as is the Aminta, giving a more tranquil feeling to your stay. The accommodation, the food, the friendly staff and well appointed public areas, live up to expectations and beyond and if you are looking for a hassle free stay in quality accommodation at a reasonable cost, then this is one to seriously consider.

Nothing is ever totally perfect however, and if we were to be brutally honest, there are three things that might gain this hotel even greater accolades. The swimming pool was bitterly cold, even in 32 C worth of sunshine, making you very reticent to take a swim. Surely worthy of a little help in maintaining the water temperature at a user friendly level. The food portions were enormous and far in excess of what a non Italian person could reasonably expect to eat. Seems such a shame to send good food back to the kitchen to be dumped. Lastly, the one and only lift is tiny. will just hold two people and their cases and 4 people normally. Not an easy one to solve but surely management must already be be aware of this. Overall a great stay nonetheless and our grateful thanks to the smiling staff who were the stars of our holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 4 or 5 are less likely to have noise transmitted from the tiled floors on the floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodanthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were really excited by this hotel given the amazing reviews we had read about it. Certainly the positive comments about the staff are accurate as they were all friendly and efficient. Special thanks go to Roland, the shuttle bus driver, who was a gem, and with whom our 2 year old daughter loved and spoke some short bursts of Italian with.

Other than that? Well there was nothing particularly wrong, and for hotel prices in Sorrento, our room cost was good. I wouldnt say it was ideal for a younger family. The splash pool was freezing and often left our daughter shivering. We didnt sleep very well at all for our entire week (the walls appear very thin and a lot of banging doors from early in the morning). I dont understand why you rarely get a proper double bed rather than two singles hinged together. The restaurant didnt do children's portions, or if they did they still charged full adult price for it.

Nothing bad, nothing great - a solid enough hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blairmores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Property: Grand Hotel Aminta
Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing