We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Great Service. Stunning Views”
Review of Grand Hotel Aminta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Aminta
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Had a lovely time at the Aminta. The hotel was always clean, the food was great (even for a vegetarian), the waiter service was excellent (a special mention for Pietro). The views from the terrace were stunning - looking over to Vesuvius, across to Naples and down to Sorrento. The hotel was ideally situated - just out of the bustle of Sorrento, but easily reached by a ten minute downhill walk, or by the regular courtesy bus from and to the hotel. Pompeii can be reached by train from the station in Sorrento and Capri reached via boat from the harbour - a big saving on the organised trips. Would highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Asked for a quiet room and was given a room at the front. This was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you so very much for posting your review regarding your pleasant holiday at the Aminta. It is always an honour to hear from satisfied clients. Your feedback is essential to us. Thank you for choosing the Aminta and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,103 - 2,109 of 3,242 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

This was our 3rd city in Italy on Our honeymoon and it was a nice change from the city hustle and bustle. It's set atop hills of Sorrento so the views and ambiance are just amazing and romantic. We had a view of the entire bay even from our bathroom window!

Pros: (all outweigh the cons)
Views, pool, AC, sound proof windows, free shuttle bus to town, helpful friendly staff, The walk down to the city center was quite nice.

Cons: (always something to improve)
Shuttle bus Times could be better at dinner and lunchtime, eating at the hotel felt like a cruise ship with assigned seating and no prices on the dinner menu, shower pressure was very weak and not enough counter space in the bathroom, you can also hear the other rooms' doors around you slamming shut.

Room Tip: 318 had an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleyt218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear guest, we greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your vacation at the Aminta. We are pleased to hear that enjoyed your stay with us. The issue of the menu must have been a misunderstanding. Our a la carte menu has the prices on it and the daily menu has a fixed price per guest. The bus times are hourly except during the siesta from 12:30 to 15:00. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Aminta soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

We chose the Aminta Hotel for our honeymoon and it was the perfect choice. The staff couldn't do enough for you and the views from our balcony (and around the hotel) were spectacular! The breakfast was great and the pool food for lunch was teally tasty. The pool itself is big and really deep and although it was really busy when we stayed, there were always loungers available. The shuttle bus down to the town was great. We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyknickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear guest, we are very grateful that you took the time to post your kind review regarding your stay at the Aminta. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

If you like the thought of lovely crisp table linen, attentive service,very nice food and good wine then the Grand Aminta is for you. We spent 8 glorious days at this gem of a hotel with our teenage daughter. It just happened to be our wedding anniversary and the hotel offered us a most wonderful cake (I don't like sweet things but this was exceptional!) and the staff really wanted us to have a special time. Many others have commented on the situation of the hotel etc..
The bottom line is that the management, staff and location of this hotel is first class. Take the negative comments with a pinch of salt! Try it for yourselves - it's wonderful.

Comments left by a very "picky" Anglo-French family.

Room Tip: The annex is quieter and has the most beautiful garden. The rooms have tiled floors but most people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear guest, we are very grateful that you took the time to post your kind review regarding your stay at the Aminta. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Just returned from a week at The Aminta and could not find a fault worth commenting on. The hotel is generally worthy of it's four star rating but the room furnishing was a little basic. The double glazed window blocked out any traffic noise and the sound of a cockerel crowing.

All the staff that we encountered whether in reception, the dining room or bar were first class, efficient and good humoured.

The food was generally of a high standard and with sufficient options to suit most people. On two nights the menus were limited as these were the Neopolitan and Gala evenings. However I'm sure that if these set menus caused a problem then alternatives would have been provided.

With the hotel being outside of the town centre and high on the hillside, the shuttle bus is a great asset. The walk down into town is enjoyable along an old road / path that winds down the hill taking just 15-20 minutes. We did not even contemplate walking back up the hill with the afternoon temperature at 30C.

The Aminta is an excellent base for excursions to Pompeii, Vesuvius and the Amalfi Drive (booked through Thomsons) with coaches picking up across the road from the main door. I've driven in many countries but would not contemplate driving in this part of Italy. The drivers and motorcyclists are lunatics.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear guest, we are very grateful that you took the time to post your kind review regarding your stay at the Aminta. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta very soon. Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were so delighted that we took a chance and rather than stay in central Sorrento we opted for the stunningly situated Grand Hotel Aminta perched on the hillside above the town. The views over the bay were breathtaking from our balcony and from most public areas in the Hotel.We used the excellent free shuttle bus taking 5-10 minutes to town and back and we also enjoyed the walk down through the back lanes. Our room was spotless and comfortable apart from the surprisingly hard (? cheap ) mattress. The Staff all smiley and helpful. We had two excellent light lunches there but thought the dinner menu sounded unexciting so opted to eat down in the town.The whole hotel had a calm ,relaxed ,well cared for well furnished ,spacious feel and we certainly hope to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar0734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear guest, we are very grateful that you took the time to post your kind review regarding your stay at the Aminta. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Aminta very soon. Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We returned 2 days ago from getting married in Sorrento, and staying at the Aminta made it all the more perfect. The service was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble. Food was lovely, very generous portions never left the dining room hungry!! Out of the 10 meals we had there was only one disappointment with the King Prawns where the sand vein hadn’t been removed but may just be me being picky!! The room was clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the sea and sunset, very minor downside was it being two single beds pushed together instead of a double but other than causing me to sulk for the first 10 minutes this didn’t cause any problems at all! :) Regular shuttle bus which ran till 11.30pm was an essential service offered by the hotel, although it is quite a pleasant walk down to Sorrento I can't say we'd have fancied the walk back up the hill! Pool area was immaculate with plenty of sun lounges’ and a bar service which seemed to be similarly priced to most of the bars in Sorrento. And to top it all off we were given a free bottle bubbly to celebrate our marriage with. Definitely hoping to visit on as many wedding anniversaries as we can! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rae1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aminta, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Dear guest, first and foremost congratulations on your wedding. We are so pleased that you chose the Aminta to celebrate your marriage. We look forward to celebrating many wedding anniversaries with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,030 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Aminta

Address: Via Nastro Verde, 23 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $92 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Aminta 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aminta occupies a commanding position overlooking the Gulf of Naples with breathtaking views, just 3.5 Km from the centre of Sorrento to which it offers a courtesy bus service. Complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Aminta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing