We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbeatable views,in a friendly relaxed atmosphere.”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“unbeatable views,in a friendly relaxed atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Very friendly and efficient staff,good service always smiling,. The pool area was spotless,and kept that way by luigi who has been there for about 30 years. Lovely sun area with big comfy chairs and magnificent views, this was our second visit this year, and we plan to go back again next year.It was so nice to be remembered by the staff on our return,and we look forward to seeing them all again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LANCEGROSSMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,856
    419
    109
    27
    10
See reviews for
405
1,522
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed at the Bristol for a week on a half board basis having booked with Thomsons who class the hotel as a 5 star. Early impressions were favourable, however, our room was at the rear of the hotel in an annexe which faced a cliff wall. We spoke to reception and management were good enough to give us a room on the first floor with a sea view. And what a difference, absolutely stunning views over the Bay of Naples. Overall this is a good hotel but not a 5 star as described by Thomsons. I would describe the food as average due to the lack of variety. The salad bar for example was limited to tomatoes, lettuce, grated carrots & onions. There were no peppers, cucumbers or olives which was surprising for a mediterranean country. The main meal also lacked vegetables with no brocolli, cabbage, turnip or carrots. Staff were very attentive and polite and the place was clean with a lovely pool area. Our room was comfortable but the fixtures and fittings were a little dated. Another little niggle was the height of the shower head above the bath. I am 6' 3" but I kept hitting my head on it! We tended to use the local train or buses for excursions particularly as the Thomson organised tours are a prohibitively expensive. The local train is called the Circumvesuviana which costs 5.30 Euros for a return ticket to Naples which is cracking value. We visited the excellent archaeological museum but Naples itself doesn't have too many redeeming features; lots of graffitti, litter, dog dirt & drunks. Still I'm glad we visited. Pompei is excellent & the train drops you off outside. Vesuvius is also well worth a visit with stunning views - make sure you go on a cloud free day though. Overall we had a good holiday. Would we stay at the Bristol again? Possibly but not definately.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2010

All I can say is WoW! the is place is amazing! After doing so much research o where to stay in Sorrento we finally settled on Hotel Bristol. While making the reservation we were warned that the Villa Bianca Suites we were going to be staying in were 60 steps above the regular hotel through their beautiful garden. I checked with the husband we we both agreed that we'd probably need the exercise after all the amazing meals we were going to eat. It ended up being 60 stairs up but we welcomed them! They were bad at all and the room and view where we stayed made it 100% worth it! Our view and room was TO DIE FOR!!!! I almost passed piy when I saw our room, patio and VIEW! It was sooooo amazing! Absolutely dreamy!! Very romantic! The pool was awesome. My husband & I would grab 2 lounge chairs every morning at about 11am and stay there pretty much all day.
The breakfast buffet was also really nice. The service was friendly and very accommodating. The walk into town was about 10 minutes on the side of the road & there are sidewalks. Everything was perfect in Sorrento and it started from Hotel Bristol! Highly, highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

My husband and I booked the Bristol Hotel after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor - it certainly lived up to our expectations.

Our room on the 7th floor was excellent and had a balcony with a fantastic view of Mount Vesuvius and Sorrento itself. We stayed half board and the meals for breakfast and dinner were fantastic with a different menu every night and lots of choice. The service in the restaurant was excellent, especially Pasquale who was always so friendly and always remembered our names and the room we were in. The hotel has very good facilities with a lovely sun terrace and a bar with a huge selection of cocktails!!!

The location of the hotel is perfect with only a very short walk into the town which is lovely and has lots to see and do. It is also easy to get to places such as Capri, Pompei and Mount Vesuvius itself all of which we did during our stay.

I cannot recommend the hotel enough - the staff are all brilliant and it is just an excellent place to stay. I hope we can visit again soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sussex82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We have just returned from our fourth visit to this wonderful Hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff all welcomed us back as old friends, and as ever the service was fantastic. We have always had lovely meals there and this year was no exception, the new chef is brilliant. Customer service from the Reception and Restaurant Team is excellent and we don't think there is anywhere nicer than here in the whole of Italy! Thank you again our 'friends' in Sorrento at the Hotel Bristol for making our stay special again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulanddeb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and i decided to treat ourselves this year and booked one of the Villa Bianca suites. We were so glad we did, it was amazing. Four poster bed, with separate lounge area, large bathroom with great shower. What made it extra special was the outside space sun loungers, tables and chairs, a hammock and best of all jacuzzi overlooking the magnificent view. The staff at the hotel are professional and friendly. I booked this myself via the internet and had numerous conversations with Ercole who was a Godsend. The hotel also arranged private transfer for me which went smoothly. If there is one very small thing that could be improved is if the hotel provided tea and coffee making facilities.

Sorrento is a fantastic base for exploring the surrounding areas. We did not book any excursions but arranged these ourselves. As mentioned previously public transport is inexpensive and efficient. 3E 50 return to Pompei and and 7e50 return to Amalfi with stop off points at Positano.

Would like to make a special mention of Refoods restaurant, we found this on our last day, it is in a small street with not many shops or other restaurants nearby so is easy to miss. Please please try this we had the best food and service here of our stay.

All in all a fantastic holiday
Michelle and Patrick

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle11110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I chose Hotel Bristol based on the comments on Tripadvisor. My husband and I were extremely pleased with this hotel and it exceeded our expectations. Salvatore greeted us upon our arrival with a warm smile and offered us a special room for our first night as we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. The room was stunning, all white with beautiful green/white tile floor, large balony with jacuzzi, table and chairs. The room for the remainder of our stay was lovely as well with a balcony overlooking Marina Grande.

The restaurant staff, Matteo, Giuseppe, Pasquale, Liberatore, to name a few, were extremely friendly and helpful. They treated us so kindly and were very attentive every morning at breakfast and in the evening at dinner. We decided to eat dinner at the hotel every night as the food was delicious and prepared to perfection.

The hotel is clean and beautifully decorated! The pool area and the garden are beautiful and hope to spend more time there next time we visit.

Salvatore at the front desk was extremely helpful in suggesting places to visit such as the Museo Correale di Terranova. This museum should not be missed.

We will definitely return to Hotel Bristol (hopefully next year!) to experience another wonderful visit!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItalianGirl729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing