We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting, great hotel, but very challenging to park there!”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We just returned from six nights in the Villa Bianca, which is part of the Hotel Bristol but separated by a 5 minute walk/climb through beautiful gardens. Our room was huge and had its own private patio with a hot tub and an unbelievable view of Sorrento, the surrounding hills and the harbor. The room had a separate bed for our little girl as well as a living room area. The buffet breakfasts (included in the room rate) were terrific. We also ate in the restaurant several nights and were very pleased with the food and service. The pool is HUGE and has a gorgeous view of Mt. Vesuvius. The one drawback to this hotel is the parking lot, which is located above the hotel up a very narrow road with three switchbacks. It was quite challenging to get the car in and out of the parking lot.

Room Tip: Villa Bianca room 328 had a lovely, private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MassMama33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,163 - 1,169 of 2,510 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

A holiday spent at the Bristol Hotel is certainly a holiday to remember, for all the right reasons!
We like to be sure we have a good time, and as such, often pay for the little extras, such as a sea-view room, and we were so pleased we did . The view of the Vesuvius and the Marina Grande was a delight.
In addition, we had the sunrise over the mountains every morning. Of course, for those who preferred sleeping during this colourful spectacle, heavy-duty blinds are provided.
The room was a clean, well-kept & a good size, with everything you need including masses of clothes hangers!
The bed was huge, and very comfortable!
The restaurant was superb. The view is the same as we had from our room (albeit a little higher), but the rear wall is mirrored, giving the illusion of being able to see all round. Great effect!
The food was also very good. Our waistlines both testify to that. There was a wide range on offer. Given the range of nationalities they were serving during our trip (including a few Italians) I have to say that the food catered for all tastes, and did it well.
The staff were never anything less than helpful, ans always smiling and genuinely pleased to see you. We were always made to feel welcome, and nothing was too much trouble for them. No wonder so many people choose the Bristol for their wedding - we saw at least 3 wedding parties during our trip.
Apart from exploring Sorrento in minute detail, we also took in Amalfi, Pompeii, Capri and Rome. The Bristol is perfectly situated to be a base for the first three locations.
The pool is well served with loungers, and there are many more all over the hotel, including seats in a shaded area one level down. We even found the garden above the pool level, where there was a sign to mini-golf, and kiddies play area.
After-dinner drinks in the lounge bar with live music rounded off each evening quite nicely. Again, the service was top-notch.
On more than one evening, we were treated to firework displays from boats in the harbour - an excellent sight from the restaurant or your own balcony!
We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: The higher rooms give a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just returned from an amazing holiday in Sorrento to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, Despite initial problems with the room booked by Thomson, not being what we had asked or paid for, the hotel went above and beyond what they had to, The view from the hotel is absolutely stunning, the location perfect with an easy walk to and from the town and e hotel itself is lovely. The staff in the hotel couldn't be more accommodating and friendly and Mateo and Salvatore are exceptionally good at their jobs. Not sure why there are any negative comments about the food, so much choice and lovely fresh food every day, with an incredible view from the restaurant. Would definitely book room with sea view and balcony, well worth the extra. The trips to Amalfi, Positano. Capri and Herculaneum well worth doing and Thomson Select very good. Would recommend a family run trattoria, Da Emilia, down in Marina Grande, superb! Overall, I cannot find fault with this hotel and would recommend it without hesitation. It's a shame some people always find something to complain about, don't be put off!

Room Tip: Do ask for a room with sea view and balcony on a higher floor as the road can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyanna59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed there in the beginning of March, this place was hard to describe to others,
not often when you can stay at a place like the Bristol. Service was the best we have ever seen
or had, even in very "high-end hotels".
Everything was exceeding our expectations, the view of the Mediterranean, the rooms , service and food.
The staff was most helpful and informative. We can hardly wait to go back.

Room Tip: "take the upper room with ocean view."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our first time in Sorrento and we booked this hotel through Thompsons. Overall the hotel is very good but there are a few things that severely let it down.

Rooms-V Good
+we would recommend upgrading to the sea view as the view out over the bay was stunning! Air conditioning was v good, beds comfy and rooms cleaned every day and beds turned down at night!
-Seeing as we were recommended not to drink the tap water as tourists it was an incovenience that we were not even allowed to put a bottle of water in the fridge. The other ASTONISHING thing was that we were given 2 sachets of coffee in the room when we arrive and although we don't drink loads its nice to have a cup each day but once you have used those 2 up the hotel will refuse to provide anymore...which seems stingy considering how much we are paying for the rooms and how much coffee costs...

Facilities
+Swimming pool was v nice, kept clean with shower facilities and plenty of sunloungers to go around due to the policy of no saving sun lounger policy (v good in my opinion!). Gym was decent containing runner, bike, stepper and a resistance weights machine
-At the pool there is no smoking/no smoking divide so often you would be sunbathing in a cloud of smoke which when you have children with you (or even if you don't!) is not what you really want....You are provided with 1 towel a day (which is too small to sunbathe on) but you are not allowed to leave it out over lunch (which is fine) so you have to take it back to your room but from there the cleaner takes it and as your only allowed 1 towel a day your then left without one so not sure how this 1 towel but you can't leave it in a sunlounger system is meant to work over lunch! It is often 37 degrees up near the pool but it is hotel policy that you can't bring up a bottle of water to keep you hydrated. This is not a particuarly safe policy to operate when it is this hot. The gym has air conditioning but it never actually on.

Restaurant-we were half board so had breakfast then either lunch or dinner included
+the staff were delighftul especially pasquale and Mateo who made our stay v enjoyable!
-The food quality is generally quite poor. Breakfast selection is v limited with a few cereals and some eggs to choose from. Lunch is probably the best meal with some quite nice pizzas but seeing as you are paying the same price for lunch as dinner the dessert selection at lunch is v poor generally just ice cream or fruit salad. The evening meal menu had a number of options on, some particuarly strange such as fish with silver skin onions on (pickled onions) lets say that it's not a combination to repeat. The meat quality on some things such as the chicken I had on the last not was not great-v fatty. Overall we wished we had chosen to go just b+b as there are so many nice places to eat in Sorrento but the Bristol is not one of them!!

Staff
+the staff were exceptional. nothing is too much trouble especially for the head of reception who whenever we wanted a table booking at a restaurant would do it straight away. They are all incredibly friendly and greet you every time! Can't really fault them!

Location-Excellent. its a 10 min walk into Sorrento and about 20 mins down to the harbour! Stunning views from the hotel but your far enough outside the centre that its nice and quiet at night to get a great sleep!

Overall we did enjoy our stay at the hotel but there are some niggles which make it Average rather than v good, most of all the poor quality of food (but from what we've heard that is fairly universal in Sorrento hotels!) but if you don't mind mediocre/poor food then the hotel itself and its staff are v good!

Room Tip: Ensure you get one with a sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank btr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Staying at the Hotel Bristol was a very wonderful experience, we have enjoyed every moment of it and we have found the staff to be very pleasent and helpful, everytime we asked or required anything the response was professional and prompt. The reception staff have been very helpful and fair and all our requests have been met.

We wanted to upgrade when we arrived as our rooms were too small for a us and we all wanted to be together, we were upgraded at extra cost which was well worth the money, to a room called Lucy room 650 it was absolutly stunning we have a perfect view, jacuzzi on the balcony and super kingsize beds total luxury, this enabled us to have the holiday that we needed and to spend quality time with each other as a family. Also the Hotel was happy to reduce the price of this room.

We got Married at Villa Fondi whilst we were here and decided to have our evening meal / reception at the hotel as we couldnt see where else would be as special. We were treated perfectly and again the staff were very nice and welcoming.

Mateo, Pasqualie and the rest of the dining team couldnt have been anymore helpful they provided us with lovely food throughtout our stay and we didnt have the same thing twice on the menu plus lots of options avaible on the menu, our 6 year old boy was very happy with his choice of food too as they made him what he wanted, even if it wasnt on the menu.

The pool was very nice and kept clean and there were no problems with people taking up sun loungers as this is monitorted carefully by the pool staff, who do not allow people to reserve sun loungers with towels.

We left out in our room ipads, money, iphones etc and didint always use the safe as we felt our belongings were safe, this is very rare when you are abroad.

We have never felt that we have had to give a tip this has not been a concern of ours at all.

We even had the maids coming to our rooms in the evening to pull our sheets back.

We have stayed in some lovely hotels all over the world but we would highly reccomend The Britsol to anyone, when we have spoken to people here they have said it is the fith time here another couple have stayed 3 time here and so on.

We are looking forward to our next stay and are sorry to leave

Thanks to all the staff who work so hard to make it so enjoyable

The Roberts Family

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkRob75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A great hotel from the entrance lobby, to the rooms and through the main areas to the pool and the grounds. The room was very good it was comfortable and spotless, and the air conditioning kept it always cool. The air con was very quiet and ran throughout the night without being heard.
The room we had included a large shower cubicle instead of a bath with we liked. (I understand that some rooms have a bath)
The traffic noise was not heard in the room but during the day it made our second floor balcony noisy. This was not a problem as we found a terrace area at the top of the hotel with shade and comfortable seating. The views from here were outstanding across the bay of Naples to the mountains behind Sorrento.
The pool area was great although it is deep over most of its length which may be a problem if you like to be able to touch the bottom. There is also fairly extensive grounds on the hillside which make for a pleasant walk.
Mateo and his staff in the restaurant are excellent and are very attentive. We love fish and there was a different fish option every night which we thoroughly enjoyed. The evening meals are all waiter service so everything is freshly cooked for you and brought to the table. Breakfast was good with all the hot items ordered from the waiter so it is always freshly cooked.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenEagleTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#13 of 100 in Sorrento
1,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
981 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $146 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing