We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at The Bristol”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at The Bristol. We could not fault this hotel at all. We booked a sea view room with a balcony and the views were stunning. I would say to save disappointment, book this kind of room and ensure you have a balcony. Also ask your travel agent to request a high floor. We stayed on a half board basis and with the selection on the menu, always found something to eat which we enjoyed in a very pleasant restaurant with stunning views. The hotel is situated on a hill but we found it took us fifteen minutes at a steady pace into the square which was not a problem to us.

All areas of this hotel are pleasant and staff very friendly and helpful. There are plenty of sunbathing areas, and shaded areas to sit and we never found any problem getting a sun lounger, although it is not a hotel where you put your towels on them and then go off for hours on end as they would be removed.

The hotel was very clean with bed linen and towels changed daily and beds turned down in the evening.

We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors with sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngatheart60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,193 - 1,199 of 2,518 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

High quality rooms and wonderful staff. The guy(Salvatore) at the reception was quite help with information on how to get around using public transport. The rooms at the junior suite are absolutely spacious(huge and super clean) and well equipped, the balcony with the sea view on the 7th floor was like heaven on earth. Jacuzzi made it even perfect. You get all the views you'd wish to see. Naples was amazing at night. We could see all you could ask for. The pool at the room top made it even better. Going back to this hotel soon. The hotel is at the city Sorrento. Plenty of shops nearby and all means of transport by road and by sea are a 5mins walk.

Room Tip: Room with sea view. or generally 7th floor rooms with sea view & jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We would have enjoyed our stay here better if we had a room with balcony, we did ask for a better room but were shown an even worse room than ours!!!It was floor one with 2 windows,that didn't open and the noise from the traffic was horrendous. Luckily I had some ear plugs!! Obviously with no balcony theres nowhere to dry your own towels, swimwear etc. The food was nice and service was good. The drinks were expensive but typical hotel prices. We asked for a printout of our running bill regularly just to keep a check on the outgoings. You can't reserve sunbeds here which was a bonus, although it didn't matter as much this holiday as were awake so early( noisy traffic) we were one of the first up there sunbathing. Sorrento is a lovely place and we did a few trips around the area which were great. Could I recommend this place- only if you book a year in advance to ensure you get a high floor room

Room Tip: Book at least a year ahead of your travel, learn italian, start emailing the hotel a year in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzieLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a wonderful Honeymoon we had in Sorrento! We arrived in the morning, very tired at Naples airport and the journey to The Bristol Hotel was fairly long.
We had a very quick check in and then straight to our room. I was disappointed to find that although we had booked a sea view room, we did NOT have a balcony. I soon realised that it had been my mistake on my booking with Thomson as I had not read the wording of the room properly. I was gutted as we spend a lot of our time on holiday on the balcony! We went to reception and asked for a change of room and were downhearted to be told that the hotel was fully booked and there was no chance of a move! I have good news though - the lovely staff at the hotel moved us after three nights to a much better balcony room for the rest of our holiday. We were chuffed!
The dining room is like a fine dining restaurant and the views as you dine are spectacular! The bar is the same, we were treated like royalty. This hotel is 4/5 star and so you do pay a premium for drinks at the bar and the pool, however, we too found the little shop down the road which supplemented our stocks in the room!
We can't really think of any other negatives about the hotel, it is such a relaxing experience.
The only other thing to mention is that we are in our late 40's and the majority of guests are in their 50's, however there are sprinkilings of younger guests, many on honeymoon, or special anniversary holidays.
We have promised ourselves that we will return in a few years as we fell in love with Sorrento and also The Amalfi Coast!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with a balcony and not just a sea view if that's what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItchyfeetShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I will try to write this as honest as possible as I always have done with my previous 70 reviews. This hotel has 2 faces.

Great friendly check in with the reception staff quickly sending us on our way. We had a low floor room given to us which I knew could give us an issue with road noise as per previous reviews have mentioned. They were correct. Having said that once the doors were closed it did shut out a bit of the noise from traffic close below. However the other issue with this room was that the walls were so thin. We could hear people next door either packing their cases or unpacking their cases, we could actually hear their zips on the cases at 1 o'clock in the morning, not good. To cut a long story short we lasted 4 nights in this room before asking if there could be higher one made available for us. The positive was that the room had a beautiful view.
I must say when we asked for this, the staff were excellent in very quickly finding us a room on floor 7. It became clear why there are so many great reviews of this hotel. It was like being in a different hotel, thus my heading of " A tale of 2 hotels". We had 3 final nights of perfect peace and rooms just like they should be with fantastic views again. Thomson, I think should make this clear on their info about this hotel as it is not acceptable to pay so much money for nights of purgatory on the lower floors. We did hear another 3 peole in our short stay here complainig to the hotel staff of the same issue as ours.

Facilities as previous reviews state are excellent with a great pool area and garden walks. A snack bar by the pool, a lunchtime restaurant and a most pleasant dining room for evening dinners. The staff in all of these areas were fantastic and so polite and helpful. The food was decent enough with 6 starters for starters and mains each night on the menu for dinner which was always waiter service, which I must say they were all excellent in their manner.

So, all in all eventually we had a fantastic stay at the Bristol.

Room Tip: Definately ask for a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesdawsonprudhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks on floor 4. The room is basic Italian style but has everything you need and is very clean. My only suggestion would be to upgrade the linen as its a bit old. Balcony with the sea view is stunning and worth very penny! The food was good, you could find something to eat every night, however it's not haute cuisine, pretty standard local dishes. The services is excellent and the wine list is comprehensive enough. The bar upstairs has a great view and the service again is great, the entertainment however is very dull and needs to be left in the 80's. facilities in general are great especially on the roof terrace with the pool.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rudders71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was our second time in Sorrento and having stayed up in the hills before we wanted to have that kind of hotel quality but nearer the town. The Bristol was a great choice, just a few minutes walk to the Corso Italia, the main street, which is a continuation of the road passing the hotel. We paid extra for a balcony room with sea view and we were not disappointed! This is a view to die for! I could have happily sat there all day! There was a small table and two chairs provided. We overlooked the small harbour, with the beautiful town stretching out into the distance, and to the left the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. We so love this view! The hotel is on a main road but this did not detract from the enjoyment for us. Nice to watch the world go by also! We also appreciated the mechanical shutters on the French doors which kept the morning light out until we were ready. The room was a good size with a digital telly and a few English channels, mostly news. Maid service was good, they even turned the beds down in the evening. The whole place was clean and tidy. The roof terrace was lovely with comfy seats and loungers, The swimming pool is on the roof above the terrace, with a seated bar at one end. One small problem was the trees which blot out the sun in the afternoon, so you could find yourself moving around the sunbeds to stay in the sun. But sometimes a bit of shade is welcome in the heat, so nothing serious!
We arrived about 9.30pm and they had kept the restaurant open to serve us dinner. All the restaurant staff are excellent and very helpful, especially Matteo the Maitre D'. I like to eat gluten free and a couple of other things free, and they did their best to help, replacing pasta based starters with a caprese salad for instance. The menu was varied and I found a suitable main every day. The dining room also has a stunning view over Sorrento, just a bit higher up than our balcony view. There is a very pleasant bar which serves excellent cocktails as well as the usual drinks and had some basic musical entertainment a few nights, mostly someone playing piano or playing and singing. The hotel is in a great location for easy access to the shops, cafes and restaurants of Sorrento, and there are some small shops and a mini-mart just down the road for extra food and drink supplies! Would highly recommend this hotel and would love to go back!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a balcony with sea view, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EssexLin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
992 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
0 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#13 of 100 in Sorrento
1,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $149 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing