We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views - lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Spectacular views - lovely hotel”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hotel built into side of mountain, on busy road, guest facilities are all immaculate and are all located on the highest levels so views from pool, outside lounge and snack bar , from the restaurants , bar lounge and terrace are all fabulous, day and night. Amazing. The food was good, is waiter service - at breakfast you are shown to a table,asked if you want any eggs and bacon cooked for you, and you pick and choose cereals, breads,fruits etc from the Buffett. Similar for evening meal, waiter shows you to table, you have menu to choose your starter and main and you pick and choose your own salad selection from Buffett and waiter gives you a choice of desserts . Few wines around 18€ a bottle others more expensive. From hotel a short walk down hill into Sorrento - shops,cafes, ice cream bars,Marina's, all lovely. Would I recommend this hotel ... yes BUT if noise 24/7 from the very busy main road just outside the hotel could be an issue for you , I would try to make sure your room is on floor 6 or above. We were in room 102 for 4 nights , just above reception, big room lovely views but so close to that noisy road .. we could not sleep. Manager gave us room 618, for last few days, large modern suite with unbelievable views from 2 windows and this room was quiet - the new room made our holiday . Other guests indicated lower floor rooms do have shutters which help block out some road noise ..for us the road noise was the only issue we had but for others it may be fine. A lovely hotel , maybe the quality and location of your room is reflected in the price - we had booked the last room available , next time we'll pay the extra for a lovely quiet room on high floor , hope you enjoy the Hotel Bristol and the fantastic views.

Room Tip: Road noise so try to book room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,807
    411
    109
    26
    10
See reviews for
393
1,477
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Bristol for our honeymoon for 8 nights and it was divine! They arranged a private car to collect us from the airport and when we arrived the manager greeted us personally. We stayed in one of the Villa Bianca Suites and my God was it special! The reviews we read beforehand and pictures we saw don't do it justice. Yes there are loads of steps up to it but its a stairway to heaven! Our room was massive with a huge private terrace, lots of seating including a couples lounge chair, a hammock and a private sunken hot tub, all we could hear was the birds. The view from this hotel was incredible and apparently its the best you will see in Sorrento. The breakfast was incredible - so much choice! Every day we had eggs cooked to order, cakes, toast, crepes, juice, fruit and the best coffee ever (occasionally we had a glass of bubbly too....well, it was honeymoon!)

The staff were fab, we loved them all but epecially Matteo at breakfast, he has a way of making you feel special (the older ladies çertainly loved his Italian charm!). The pool was lovely, we didnt visit much but were always able to get a bed no problem. If we came back to Sorrento we would definitely come here. We didnt eat in the restautant more than once, it was fine but the hotel is quite British eg lots of British people eating cornflakes and drinking tea (very Thomsons) and we wanted to sample Italian culture so ate out a lot. We highly recommend l'Antico restaurant (best food we ate in Sorrento) and Caruso which had an amazing atmosphere and was delicious and affordable (there is a guitarist too and he serenaded us)

Overall a fantastic honeymoon and a wonderful place to visit. If you can afford it, pay the extra for a Villa Bianca Suite, it really made our stay special!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornishjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent five days at this hotel on half board and could not have been happier. Our room did have the most spectacular view across the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius.The Bristol is really tastefully furnished with a marvellous collection of original art works, an inspiration for a budding painter! It was easy to walk into Sorrento or to be picked up for excursions. The organisation was faultless and all the staff were always absolutely charming and helpful. The meals were varied and delicious with local specialties and ingredients available. We were very sorry to leave, especially the wonderful staff, and would love to go back one day.

Room Tip: We were on a higher floor with morning sun and evening shade, both welcome. It was quiet because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just amazing !!!

The hotel is spotlessly clean inside and out. The staff are friendly and courteous. The restaurants are brill. What more do you need?

The ever charming restaurant 'manager' warmly welcomes all guests (especially the ladies). All restaurant staff are friendly, attentive and efficient. The food was delivered hot.

Small touches like turning the bed-sheets down while you are having dinner and offering a packed lunch because you were going to be out on a full-day trip are nice.

This was my first trip to Italy.
I'll be back.
To Sorrento.
To the Bristol Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and our two teenagers stayed here the first week of June 2013. We had booked two rooms, a suite for ourselves and a twin room for our teenage son & daughter. Immediately upon arrival and a warm smiling welcome we were told that they would upgrade the children to a suite which would be available from their second night.
Both suites were lovely with wonderful views of the "Grand Marina" and the Bay of Naples.
The service was excellent and the pool was crystal clear. We were a little surprised however to find that the Sauna was extra and thought it a bit expensive. Breakfast every morning was a pleasure with prompt friendly attention and a wide selection of hot and cold food on offer.
We would certainly stay in the Hotel Bristol again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehaven
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 14 nights on half board ,the food we could not fault and the menu was never repeated and there was always a good choice .I am a picky eater but always found something on the menu to eat which I enjoyed .We did eat out in Sorrento for dinner a few times ,but that was because we had planned to do this before we went on holiday .Our room with sea view and balcony was large and kept very clean by house keeping .The bed linen was changed daily with the towels .It beggars belief about previous comments saying about it being dirty .I for one would not stay in a dirty room or hotel ,my standards at home are very high and if it had of been dirty I would of moved to another hotel . The only complaint about the room was that the bathroom was in our opinion looking a little tired and needed a facelift (but dirty it was not ) I am sure they will get round to doing this in time.The rest of the hotel was also kept very clean with plenty of places to sit and relax .The hotel was very busy but you never felt it was, we always could find somewhere quiet .The staff we found very polite ,friendly and never once did we feel they wanted a tip .We have stayed in four and five star hotels all over the world and this hotel is of Italian four star standards, each country is different ,it is clean with great staff,good food ,fantastic views,lovely seating areas ,nice pool and only a short walk into the center of Sorrento .Give it a try

Room Tip: Room on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetravel044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Top class hotel. Great location offering the best possible views of the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. The food for both breakfast and dinner was outstanding everyday. Some of the staff have been with the hotel for nearly 40 years and they work brilliant together. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkattacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing