We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 out of 10”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“10 out of 10”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

What I love about this hotel:

1) The amazing view from our hotel - complete and unobstructed harbour view. I could spend hours just chilling out in the room balcony.

2) The location - only 10 - 15 min pleasant walk into heart of Sorrento which is central to great restaurants and good shoppings. Also I always felt safe even when walking at night.

3) The friendly waiters in restaurant - They always led us to the best available seats at the time, which almost always come with a seaview. The waiters work tirelessly, walking up and down the restaurant to ensure all guests are looked after.

4) The fantastic full buffet breakfast menu - there was so much yummy food to eat, I wished I had stayed in this hotel a little longer so that I could try out all the different cakes that they served.

5) Beautifully furnished and enormous rooms - I felt very spoilt.

6) Very clean

7) Helpful and friendly concierge

Final words - Absolutely great value for money. Loved it loved it loved!

Room Tip: I stayed in a lower balcony room which I thought was 10 out of 10. However if you are short on cash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,767
    392
    102
    26
    10
See reviews for
383
1,430
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
limerick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

we stayed here for our honeymoon in oct. it was lovely. had a great view, large room, comfy bed, movie channels and balcony and a great terrace to ourselves. we were greeted with a bottle of champagne and fruit basket which was a lovely touch. the breakfast is delicious, loads of yummy cakes. we ate in the restaurant one night, it was lovely. the service is amazing. would highly recommend the bristol hotel. sorrento is beautiful. we didn't have great weather so we were delighted the hotel was comfy and nice to make up for it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indietoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Even though we visited the Bristol Hotel in Sorrento after the end of the summer season, I can see why people would spend large amounts of time at the hotel. We had room number 706 and could not have had a better view of the city and bay. The room was a huge (by European standards) comfort double with a balcony and seaview and well worth the €160/night we paid. The public areas are also spacious and well placed. The breakfast buffet was quite generous with numerous bread choices, eggs made to order, juices, fruits, bacon, etc. The wait staff was also professional and friendly.

The negatives were that the room was a little dusty as though no one had cleaned it in anticipation of a guest and the internet was very sketchy during the time we were there. In addition, the front desk personnel misinformed us about whether the boat trips around Capri were still running in late October. Fortunately, my husband and I went over to the island anyway, finding most of the boats running.

I'd love to go back during warmer months, but I'm not sure I'd leave the hotel at all.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oklahomagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the Bristol for our honeymoon. On arrival they upgraded us to a deluxe suite with champagne and fresh fruit. Although we were b&b we did eat in the restaurant on a number of occasions and could not fault the food or service. Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would definately return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeatherIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a late review, but wanted to post anyways. We stayed at this hotel in early summer and loved everything about it. The staff were extremely personable and helpful. The rooms and views second to none. The short walk into town was easy and felt nice after an evening meal. The little shop along the way, was a nice place to stop and buy water, lemoncello, etc. We dined in the restaurant one evening, but ate in town all other nights. The morning breakfast was great. We spent mornings at the pool, and would walk into town for lunch and sight seeing and then return for a dip before a late afternoon nap.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stunning views across the Bay towards Pompeii, Vesuvius, Naples and over Sorrento. These views are available from the swimming pool and bar, and from the main restaurant and bar, so everyone gets an opportunity to take them in.
We took a late booking via a tour operator and initially had a smallish room with a "sea view" (which was all that was available) - but the sea view was only partial and couldn't be seen from a seated position. So we were pleased to be able to successfully upgrade locally with the hotel into a Junior Suite that was roughly three times the size and had a balcony with absolutely stunning views across Sorrento and over to Vesuvius and Naples. Probably the most interesting view we've had in 30+ years of travelling.
Virtually all of the rooms are in shade for much of the day in October as the hotel faces north-east (as do almost all the other big hotels in Sorrento which have been built for the view!). The swimming pool area is also in shade from around 3.30 onwards but is fine earlier in the day - and there is virtually nowhere that the sun gets to on that side of Sorrento in the late afternoon because the sun goes behind the mountains.
The quality and ambience of the meals in the restaurant was very good, with decent variety and reasonable wine prices (for a hotel). Similarly the bar had a nice, but narrow, balcony for sitting out pre-dinner. Service was good, timely and polite.
Reception staff were very helpful and many of the staff had clearly been there for many years.

Virtually all the clientele had booked via Thomson in the UK (though there were quite a few independent travellers in the suites) and in October these were mainly people in their 50s and 60s. There were a few young couples and two families for part of our stay - so younger people may find the ambiance a bit dull, whereas older travellers may find fewer disruptions than some other hotels/destinations.

We'd be happy to stay there again in a similar room - though perhaps for a shorter period as part of a tour. There was plenty to do in the area though for the 10 days we were there.

Room Tip: Junior suites are much larger and usually have a balcony with a great view. However, in the autumn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EE_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I (Puff J) are just wrapping up 5 nights at Hotel Bristol. Everything about this hotel is fabulous...the staff..the view!....the fluffy towels and crisp sheets...the incidental exercise you get by walking down to Sorrento Town and back again. We have had great breakfasts with amazing views. We have had every staff member smile at us and say hello. We have had suggestions of what to do for the day and even a bowl of fruit in the room. This must be one of the most best placed and well run hotels in the area. One slight downside is the WiFi. They really need to sort out proper coverage. But I am writing this at a Fabulous cafe in Town called Faun Bar where the food and wifi are great. Special mention to the manager of the restaurant. Fabulous service!! We will be back in summer!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShazzaDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
2,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,570 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
897 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing