We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views, Food & Service”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife & I have just spent a wonderful week at the Bristol Hotel celebrating our 30th Wedding Anniversary. The hotel was recommended to us & we certainly weren't disappointed. The views from the 8th Floor were breathtaking, the location was perfect, just a short stroll into town. Tthe staff were wonderful, the food & the facilities on offer were first class & I would strongly recommend anyone wanting a relaxing pampered holiday in a great location to try the Bristol. We will definitely stay again & again & I'm sure the staff would be just as helpful everytime.
Dave & Joyce

Room Tip: Request as high a floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,360 - 1,366 of 2,490 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here at the end of August for two weeks. We normally make our own arrangements for flights, accommodation and transfers wherever we go on holiday, but this time (and the last) we booked via Thomsons. We paid extra for a 'sea view' room with balcony, and were given room 617. The room was fairly basic but had fabulous views, as do the majority of the rooms at the hotel, but it, along with 4 other rooms, appeared to be 'sandwiched' between floors of the hotel next door. However, having said that, the Hotel itself - the views from the dining room, bar, restaurants, swimming pool...... and the gym,food, service, Reception, staff etc - all exceptional ! Also, the ability to choose either lunch or dinner (on half board basis) is excellent when planning trips for each day. We would certainly recommend the Bristol, but would make our own travel arrangements next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandDBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just come back from the Bristol hotel and had an amazing time. We had upgraded our room to a jacuzzi suite before we arrived and were so glad that we did.(room 656) The room had a real wow factor. A large bedroom, separate seating area and a lovely big bathroom.It was spotless and our bed was turned down every evening. The best part however was the view. We had a huge balcony, with a jacuzzi, table and chairs and a padded sun bed.It overlooked the bay, marina and Sorrento town. It truly was an amazing view, breathtaking in fact. You could see Mount Vesuvius and we never tired of sitting outside taking in the sights.The rest of the hotel was also beautiful and very well looked after. The views from the restaurants were also great and the staff so friendly and welcoming. Every evening there was somebody playing in the bar and the cocktails are fab.The hotel really is in a prime position, i reckon it probably has one of the best views in Sorrento.The walk into town was a pleasant stroll and we welcomed the exercise after all the eating and drinking we had done. Sorrento is a wonderful place with lots to see and do. We would definitely like to go back and would love to stay at the Bristol hotel again. All the staff were lovely and we would like to thank them all for making our holiday so special.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great views.
Good size pool.
Clean and tidy.
Courteous staff however pool staff a little surly and waiters a little too zealous to serve and move you on although never unpleasant.
What lets this hotel down massively is poor quality evening meals. The only saviour was that they allowed you to swap to lunches which were much more edible.

Room Tip: Higher rooms better but not a huge issue on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murleog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a memorable and wonderful week in Hotel Bristol. It is the best hotel we have stayed in when we consider the excellent friendly staff, the great food, the views, the location and the overall comfort available to guests. We would love to visit this hotel and Sorrento again!
Well done to all concerned!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We chose to stay in Hotel Bristol on our honeymoon after much deliberation over which hotel to choose and we weren't disappointed. The location is great, a very short walk into town, and the views alone are worth staying here. We stayed in one of the villas (no. 327) and had a fantastic secluded terrace with hot tub, hammock and sun beds - perfect for a romantic getaway. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us - first class service but without being overbearing. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: A villa is well worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth_whiteley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The best thing about Bristol is the service. The reception staff are lovely, and always willing to help. And the breakfast/dinner staff are even lovelier pulling out your chair and constantly there when you find you want something. I dropped my fork and 3 waiters dived for it. They really made the effort to ensure they knew you and your face, and to ensure that you were having a great time. We were given a substantial packed breakfast when we left at 5:30am for our bus (and when we told the waiters at dinner we wouldn't be back and what time we were leaving - they were genuinely sad - it was so sweet!).

The dinner is great value and the food is delicious - especially the ravioli. the included breakfast is AMAZING. You can have eggs cooked up any way you want with bacon, and/or you have a huuuuge choice in fruit, yogurt, pastries, cheeses and deli-meats.

The pool area is great, with an amazing view - esp with the many bogan-villia flowerspots hanging off the hotel over the cliff and water view.

Bristol could relax on the pool-rules a bit, and I really hope they don't actually enforce them, the written rules are quite strict with covering up once out of the pool but we were never pulled up on it.

My favorite part though was our room! we had a huge private balcony right in between the restaurant and bar so I know we had a room with a good view. The problem was remembering to close the curtains before stripping off. We would literally open the curtains every morning and without fail say 'holy [--]' - you could never tire of that view. And our room was huuuuge.

I really hope Bristol makes it to 5 stars!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chips_Bro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#13 of 100 in Sorrento
1,131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $146 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing