We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully located on the cliff, simple but friendly, reasonably prices”
Review of Hotel Desiree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Desiree
Ranked #73 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Let; face it basic 2* hotel, so one can't expect standard of luxurious accommodation. It is basic hotel with limited facillities, but very pleasant, beautifully located on the cliff with panoramic views on the Sorrento bay and price that can hardly be match with hotel in this category in Sorrento).

Pros:
Beautiful views,
Private beach accessed by the lift only ( this can be a problem for people that afraid of lifts, and it is very old type of structure)
Great price/value ratio
Helpful and friendly staff

Cons:
limited breakfast
worn our rooms, with cheap decor
Long walk to the town
Private beach a bit neglected

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view on the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cezaryfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 411 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Hotel Desiree is amazing!!! My boyfriend and I stayed at various hotels in Rome, Sorrento, Florence, and Venice....and of them all Hotel Desiree was by far the best. The rooms are a decent size and in decent shape...but what makes this place one of a kind is the mind-blowing views, fantastic service, and private beach!! We had a room with an ocean view, which you can request if you email the hotel...it was breathtaking. Even if you don't have an ocean view room, there is a massive rooftop terrace with full ocean views from every inch of it. My boyfriend and I ate dinner up there and watched the sunset...it was simply incredible. Tony is usually at the front desk, and he is so helpful, cheery, and funny! He gave us great advise about the area and was in general just so warm and pleasant. The private beach is also completely unbeatable. We swam almost every day here...it was never too crowded, and great for a relaxing time on a raft or for a long swim or snorkel. It is important to note that this hotel is not in town, but the walk to town only takes 10 to 15 minutes depending on how quickly you walk. It is further from the train, so you will need to be prepared for a longer walk (about half an hour) or a taxi ride when you first come in to town. That being said, if you stay in town you will be to low to see the breathtaking views that you get when you stay up on the cliffs in a hotel like Hotel Desiree. We spent a long time deciding between staying at a hotel right in town or in a hotel up on the cliffs above town, and we were so glad we chose to stay up on the cliffs, the walk to town is well worth the views you get!! Thank you Hotel Desiree and Tony for such an amazing experience! This place is one of a kind!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mallory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Hotel Desiree is on the edge of town---although within walking distance, there is a bus that comes to take you into town. Parking is right there which is great. The room was okay but without much of a view, but when we asked, were moved to a room with a nice look at the ocean and of the beach below. The breakfast was good, so no major complaints, except their beach which you can take an elevator down to was filled with litter and garbage. Since they advertise their beach, even though we were there in off-season, people do swim on nicer days and it should be cleaned up. That's the reason I gave it a 4/5 instead full marks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee3nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was an excellent small hotel perched on a cliff above the Mediterranean. Our room had a balcony and window with an excellent sea view. Our hosts were very helpful and extremely pleasant. The room was clean, well furnished and well tended during our four night stay. Bus stops right out front with access to the entire Amalfi Coast, and an easy walk to beautiful Sorrento's centro. Very reasonable, with an excellent complimentary breakfast. Going to Sorrento? Go here.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 808JimB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel Desiree was a great find. Great value for money and excellent staff who happily give advice and info on trips and places to eat, we were not disappointed by any of their recommendations. The room was a bit dated but clean and comfortable exactly what we needed after 5 days rushing around Rome. The views were stunning and we loved sitting on the sun terrace (top of hotel) with a couple of beers ad nibbles watching the sun go down. At the last minute we decided to cut our stay in Sorrento short by a night so we could drive back to Rome at a slower pace, being a bit of a technophobe I found changing this reservation via my phone impossible....in stepped Corinna who by the time I returned from my day out had contacted Booking.com and resolved this for me. Thank you. We will definitely recommend and hopefully return to this hotel one day

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My best friend and I stayed here early October. Loved this little hotel. It is a little hike uphill out of town, but it is not bad. And, it is so much cooler up the hill. Our room was spotless and the bathroom was so large. Loved the tub and shower. We had french doors that over looked the sea and we kept them open all night. The breeze was fantastic and the sounds of the waves just lulled us to sleep. The staff are phenomenal. Very helpful and so friendly. We booked the boat tour to Capri through the hotel. We were picked up and dropped off at the entrance. Lovely day on Capri. HIghly recommend the tour. And the best part, we left our laundry at the front desk and it was done when we returned. We were really spoiled at the Hotel Desiree.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LD16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We loved this little hotel. It was a breath of fresh air during a long trip. The room was old fashioned and quirky but very clean and comfortable. The staff was so helpful and friendly, they knew all of the best places to eat and shop. The bus stopped just outside the door and was so conveinent for the town and train station. We are already planning a trip back we liked it so much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trudy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
La Tonnarella
La Tonnarella
#60 of 100 in Sorrento
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#68 of 100 in Sorrento
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#85 of 100 in Sorrento
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Desiree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desiree

Address: Via Capo 31B, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $80 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Desiree 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Desiree is just 10 minutes’ walk from the town centre, in a quite and panoramic location. Clean and spacious the rooms have views of the Desiree’s gardens and/or the sea of Gulf of Naples.Lovely panoramic terrace with bar, parking and lift to reach its free private beach. Harbour and train station are also just a pleasant walk away and buses run from nearby the hotel. Staff at the Desiree are friendly and welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Desiree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desiree Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Desiree Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing