We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not that good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Ranked #31 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, but not that good!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was our 2nd trip to the Tramontano after a 3 year gap and this time it was definitely a lesser experience.
We booked, what we thought was the same standard of rooms; 2 junior suites with balconies and direct sea views with an expectation of repeating the standard of our previous stay. We were mistaken.
The luggage was taken down from the reception area and we were given 2 suites with good sea views . These suites however are not in the same league as the first and 2nd floor suites having the bathroom at the front thereby reducing view and space,much lower ceilings and tiled as opposed to wooden floors. There is something psychologically weird about going down a steep stair to your rooms in a luxury hotel.
In the morning (6 ish) we were woken with the sound of the kitchens, moving tables, laying out cutlery above us.
We asked to be moved and expressed our disappointment to no avail, they were full up and aghast that we were critical of the suites allocated to us.
The room was very dated and the en suites looked circa 1985. A crispy sofa on the balcony was ready for the skip..
The hotel is in a great location for Sorrento the views are superb and the staff attentive and professional . There is however an air of complacency, based presumably on their on- going popularity. Despite the issues mentioned the food was good, breakfasts comprehensive and the maitre'd- Luigi always attentive and helpful.

We did enjoy our stay and are not people that fixate or worry to much about fittings, again though for the money, I would expect better than the standard offered in this hotel.

I have given the hotel 4 stars but in reality would say 3 to 4.. if I could.
In context to the price I don't feel the hotel is good value. The Tramonatano is a decent hotel but it is unlikely we will return and I would agree with all the comments in respect of the rooms. This hotel is mostly about the location and view. Make sure you know precisely your room type and the rooms location within the hotel before you commit a lot of money!.

Room Tip: Make sure you know exactly where your room will be in the building.Sea facing or what's the poin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    268
    120
    39
    21
See reviews for
225
555
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in an ideal location with incredible views of the bay of Naples and mount Vesuvius. Within seconds of leaving the hotel you have a selection of nice restaurant's and shops to choose from.
Staff are very friendly,breakfast has a limited selection however the quality is very high.There is a private lift that operates from the hotel to the bathing platforms that is very convenient this operates between 9 and 2 and 4 and 6.if I ever return to Sorrento I will be staying at this hotel.I could not recommend it enough.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I recently stayed at the Tramontano whilst on holiday for ten days, and I absolutely loved it. Sorrento is a beautiful place, and the Tramontano was the perfect place to stay. The setting overlooking the coast, with Mount Vesuvius and Naples in the back-drop was incredible. All of the staff were very friendly, and we had no problems whatsoever. I hope to go back to Sorrento at some point in the future, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here once again; I would recommend it to anyone who is thinking of going to Sorrento.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Camilla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed in this Hotel, for the third time in early August. I suppose by now I know what I am getting and I know why I go back
1) Its location not many hotels can better it - You’re on a cliff on the bay of Naples and you’re straight into the tourist area as soon as you leave the entrance
2) The views, to have breakfast looking over the bay of Naples, to sit in your room and look at Vesuvius or have the doors open and listen to that chaotic noise you only get on an Italian lido, it’s worth it
3) Its Bar and Poolside staff are both attentive and friendly, the way the evening bar staff hover, check, and bring nibbles is pleasing and more importantly done in a way without being imposing - Oh and the views from the bar and terrace, worth every penny
4) Access to the Lido's - The hotel has a lift that takes you straight to the lid's or even a tunnel within the grounds, at the bottom they even have their own changing rooms , a clever touch

This hotel is not about In house Hairdressers, Gyms, or a Shop selling jewellery and Bags, it’s about delivering simple but high quality standards in a building full of character, and yes that also means that some bits are old in fact very old and some things might not work

It’s my third time and not my last because for a person who likes quality, good food in a calm and relaxing environment in a central location, then this hotel does it

Oh and for those that have teenagers, the free wifi was worth every penny, even if it did mean that they never left the room as that saved me even more

Room Tip: there are many various rumours I have stayed on floors 1,2 and 4. One seems to have the better sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I can only think of positive comments to make about the hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient without being overbearing and were only too pleased to offer help with regard to trips and eating out. There is also a first class restaurant within the hotel offering evening meals and the bar offers views over the Bay of Naples. The hotel is clean and we were lucky enough to have a large balcony with a sea view. The breakfast was great with a large choice of cereals, fruit, cooked food, pastries etc. We would definitely stay here if we visited Sorrento again.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alun1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon this past July. We had a beautiful view overlooking Mt. Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. The hotel is centrally located and easy to gain access to everything that the town of Sorrento has to offer. The staff was very friendly and went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. This hotel is very quaint and has a lot of history. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who was thinking about visiting Sorrento. Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve a sea view room to enjoy the beautiful scenery. These rooms are also very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff and Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Excellent service, 4 star and deserved every one! This was a magnificent hotel, in magnificent location overlooking the beach and accross the bay of Naples. It was spotlessly clean , attendance by staff was effective discreet and very obliging. Lovely gardens, pool area, outside lunch in shaded area, coffee available on the veranda overlooking thebeach which was accessible by hotels private lift. Rooms wee spacious and tastefully decorated with luxury bathroom, and nice seating area with setee, arm chairs and coffee table, and good storage, comfortable king size bed .Air condition and shuttered windows, which when opened revealed views of the gardens, or the pool area from windows on both sides of the room.Food was excellent, and the range of the buffet style breakfast was a great start to every day! Public rooms were super ,and there were a number of seating areas ouside. One guest we met had been there 10 times and another 3 times, and we hope to return ourselves.

Room Tip: We found the 4th floor had excellent views, but all rooms had similar spacious areas.There were lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bc9992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tramontano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Property: Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Address: Via Vittorio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Tramontano 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tramontano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sorrento
Imperial Tramontano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing