We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Honeymoon late September” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon late September”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The location of this hotel is the best thing- We walked to eat lunch in town every day and purchased chairs on the dock to lay out and sip Peronis- a little pricey, but bring your towel- its totally worth it. It was late September so the crowds were gone- which was perfect. We took a day trip to Capri with Captain Ago that was a highlight- swimming through white and green grotto. Do yourself a huge favor and take a walk a couple blocks to Inn Bufalito for dinner- We ate there twice and the stuffed peppers were absolutely amazing-

Room Tip: A room with a balcony overlooking the bay and see the sun set every night-
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J9darcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    263
    120
    39
    21
See reviews for
220
550
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at the Hotel Tramontano back in September, along with my husband and parents. The hotel is in a great location, within easy walking distance of restaurants, shops, train station (day trip to Pompei), buses (day trip to Amalfi coast), etc. Hotel was well appointed, and the view from the terrace bar was amazing! The included continental breakfast was good enough for me (delicious pastries!), but not excellent by American standards. I did not spend much time at the pool- my husband and father did while mom and I were at a cooking class- they seemed to enjoy it just fine! The only tiny drawback is they charge for wifi by the minute. Which isn't a huge deal, but Internet is helpful sometimes for trip planning/ research.

This was my husband's and my first trip to Sorrento, and if we are ever lucky enough to go back, we would stay at the Tramontano again- no question!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ELWCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Connecticut
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good location with a lovely view of the bay; Naples & Vesuvius can be seen in the distance. Rooms are nice enough, spacious by Euro standards; we had a regular room ( not a suite but they are available). Few minutes walking distance to main piazzas and historic center. I think it's pricey for $378/ night but may be cheaper at some other time....we were here 4 nights over the new year, but I presume prices go up in Summer high season. I might opt to save some $$ and stay elsewhere, siñce sorrento itself is more of a home base from which to visit other coastal places, rather than it being a destination. Nice little town but you can see it in a day, including the very interesting wood marketry museum. One more note.. room was hot & stuffy ( no air circulation) and were not able to control heat nor fan....slept with balcony doors open every night for pleasant ocean breeze in December! Lastly, mattress was rock hard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RMH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our first trip to Sorrento. We had a great, relaxing five days in this hotel. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant. We didn't use the restaurant as we wanted to explore the wonderful town each night, but the breakfasts were very nice with a good selection and exceptional views.
We are already planning our next visit to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We didn't pay extra for a sea view room. Instead we had a view of the lovely gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimB078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay in Sorrento. Extremely friendly people, very good restaurant, glorious views of the Gulf of Naples, Capri, and Vesuvius. Unique experience. The legend says that the house belonged to the parents of Torqato Tasso. Do not miss the gardens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcm_boticelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed during a rainy three nights in November with our two little kids (8 and 9). Terrific central location, walked everywhere in Sorrento. Our breakfasts in the hotel were good with special requests honored by Luigi and his staff. The views from our balcony along the coast were awesome. I can imagine what a great place to stay this must be in the summer. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have been there for three days in November. The position of the hotel is very good and you are minutes from Tasso Square.
People were very nice and happy to help you with your requests.
It struck me that in the west wing of the hotel was born the poet Torquato Tasso and many writers( Goethe, Keats, Shelley..) were in this hotel for their trip in Italy.
The view from my room was absolutely normal (the pool of the hotel) but the restaurant has an amazing view of the Sorrento gulf and the Vesuvio.
For the price I paid I would expect a better shape for the bathroom, room forniture etc but I think you can't have all together...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank five-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tramontano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Property: Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Address: Via Vittorio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Tramontano 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tramontano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sorrento
Imperial Tramontano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing