We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in sorrento”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I went to Sorrento on our honeymoon and stayed for 6 nights in the Imperial, booked through Citalia. We arrived very late and got a private transfer which was a relief as I would not have fancied a coach ride. Once we arrived at the hotel we were greeting by the manager and helped to our room where a bottle of prosecco and a card was waiting for us which was lovely. We were on the 3rd floor with a sea view, the room was clean with lovely high ceilings and the most amazing view with balcony over the bay looking out to mount versuvious. The hotel is very grand and ellegant, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant where you have breakfast has huge glass windows all along the dining room looking our over the bay, it is beautiful and a lovely breakfast to match. The pool is nice and relaxing and very well kept, food is nice at the pool side bar but it is worth going out into the centre for your lunch as it will be half the price and very delicious! We would certainly return to this hotel. Highly recommend the pizzeria and 'light lunch' restaurant in the main piazza, both run by the same family with an a la carte restaurant in the middle of them both, ravioli at lunch place is the best I have tasted and at the pizzeria the pizza rolls are amazing, cant remember what they are called but they are certainly top of my list!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    293
    124
    44
    23
See reviews for
244
607
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is situated in its own exotic garden on the land side and views out onto the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius on the other. The lounge is as elegant as any found in mansion houses and the vestibule feels more modern as it is light and spacious. Byron and Shelley stayed here and you can imagine them reclining in the shade of the garden taking in the scents of the plants and composing their verse. The staircase is a joy to walk on with arched alcoves at each turn. Not all the bedrooms are grand, though, mine was compact and lacked character; it looked out over the pool and the rooftops of Sorrento. The staff are polite, professional, efficient and, at times, aloof.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica-Hume-Niven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

On cliff overlooking water. Get views . Close to ferry to Capri, train to Pompeii & bus dwn amalfi coast. In twn lose to shops & reataurants.

Said no wi-fi in rooms but it worked for us. Couldn't use in restaurant or bar. Old place so rooms are all different and the one we had with a balcony was very small and so was bath. Spent 4 days, not in room much so lcation was most important. good conceirge.

Room Tip: ask about size of rm and location, view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reeldiamnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Spent 5 nights here and had a nice room and awesome view over the water. However, something was missing, everything was very clean, very nice but just felt a bit bare - including the public areas.

The shower situation was dreadful though - clearly an evolution of different ideas and the result was a mismatch that needed ripping out and starting again - room 320.

Breakfast was very varied and the staff prompt if wearing very dated nylon uniforms!

Gardens fabulous and the pool lovely if a little chilly.

Would recommend it but remember that you are paying for the location more than the actual quality of the hotel itself. Oh and beds are ROCK hard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SearchingForit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent our honeymoon here 15 years ago and have been back many times since. We have stayed in other hotels because we couldn't get last minute bookings and visited constantly for drinks on the balcony. We now have cruises due to my husband's disability and hire a taxi when we are in Naples to Sorrento to make sure we don't miss a visit to The Imperial Hotel Tramontano. Cocktails on the veranda is a must and the attention and service is excellent. Room with a sea view & balcony is the best. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Balcony with a sea view is unforgettable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186470Maryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We return to The Tramontano most years for a relaxing holiday to supplement our more energetic forays to far flung places, and have just returned home after another stay. As ever, the staff made us feel as if we had come home. I read reviews where the staff are described as unhelpful, even rude, and cannot believe how this can be so (though I do see some residents ignoring them completely, never thanking them, never engaging them and never showing any appreciation, so they hardly deserve good service).

The rooms do of course vary, in size, location and condition. That is inevitable given the age and history of the place. I can only speak from experience. We book a fourth floor room with a large balcony, which isn't cheap, but what a view (even when lying in bed)!

We also make full use of the bar terrace and the restaurant, both with that lovely view of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius in the distance, the fishing boats, the ferries, the leisure craft........

Breakfast offers a well presented selection of hot and cold choices, always tempting you to indulge in a delicious pastry or another egg, with lashings of coffee. I've seen complaints about the fruit juices, and in the past these have been below par, but on our latest visit there is a choice of three different juices which were far better than the previous standard fare. Of course, you can ask for freshly squeezed orange juice, and we've never been charged for that.

Location is perfect for wandering around Sorrento, but also affords some privacy in the lovely gardens or around the pool.

There are complaints about cost, but if you want to save a few Euro you can spend your time in a backstreet hotel, bar or restaurant without the view if that's what you prefer.

This is a lovely hotel, with lovely staff, in a superb location with a fabulous view.......perfetto!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view, and a balcony if you can stretch to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Offthetouristtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel. The staff are wonderful and the hotel is spotless. I stayed here for 6 nights as part of a honeymoon in Itlay and I was thrilled with the hotel. I read some not very positive reviews of the hotel stating it wasn't 4 star and the breakfast isn't good. The hotel is 4 star and the breakfast was fantastic.

My only critism is we had a "garden view" room which was in fact on the ground floor next to the carpark so our balcony was pretty useless. The hotel has a brilliant breakfast room with stunning views and the lounge areas all have access to the hotel terrace so I spent most of my time reading in paradise on the hotel balconies (would have been nice to get an ocean view room though).

One other minor problem I had was with the hotel bar/lounge prices - €4.50 for a coffee, €6 for a beer. I paid it a few times but I would have used the facility far more often if it was more reasonable. There is a restaurant is 50m from the gate of the hotel charging €3.50 for a beer so we usually had a post dinner drink there instead of the hotel bar. Sorrento varies widely in price from place to place so the hotel is really just keeping to the upper end of the scale.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam-Irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tramontano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tramontano

Property: Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Address: Via Vittorio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Tramontano 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tramontano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sorrento
Imperial Tramontano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing