We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff could have been friendlier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Ranked #30 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nice modern and fresh hotel. View from the breakfast area was stunning. Breakfast spread was small but fresh and nice on the palate.

Little can be said about the staff, who was not in the least friendly or warm. Seemed very rigid in every way. Because of which didn't want to extend my stay there.

Room was full of mosquitoes because during the winter no aircon works. So one had to either suffocate or be bitten by mosquitoes.

Since the room was facing the back alley, every single word said could be heard in the room (as the windows had to be kept open for ventilation).

Room Tip: If you choose the sea facing view, the view is outstanding.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LotusTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALACA, Direttore at Hotel Regina Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your good comments on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write them on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased you had a dream of a vacation in Hotel Regina and we really hope to give you another opportunity to "dream" by coming and staying by us once again.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

HOTEL REGINA SORRENTO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Regina Sorrento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 694 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Visited this hotel with another couple from 27th to 30th October. It is about 15 minutes walk from the bus station and easily walkable although we had no GPS working on our phones so took a taxi at 17 euros ooch!!!
The hotel is small but beautifully presented. It is whitewashed and the internal decor is white and relaxing. The rooms are lovely with well equipped bathrooms and room facilities are excellent. We had one standard room and one larger room. The standard room was fine however we were a bit jealous of our friends who had a lovely spacious room overlooking the pool.
Breakfast was included and was wonderful. There was hot food out but the staff still offered a choice of omelette which came freshly made accompanied by basil and tomato. Juices were fresh and there was a wide choice of cold foods. The best part of the hotel is this roof restaurant with a wonderful view over the Bay of Naples, where you can eat outside or have a quiet drink in better weather. Unfortunately we had rain most of the trip so were unable to take advantage. The hotel does not do evening meals but does provide lunch and we dined there twice and had some very tasty pasta and local wine.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant particularly Pepe in the restaurant. Drinks in the little bar downstairs were very reasonable.
There is a quiet terrace to the side where the pool is and on a good day you can sit under the orange trees and relax.
The hotel was very close to the centre less than a 5 min walk but sufficiently back that there was no passing traffic to speak of, so no honking horns at night! The staff organised our trip to Pompei and can help with all necessary advice on other trips.
We have stayed in a lot of hotels in Europe and this was one of the best. On a return trip to Sorrento I would certainly try and stay there again. There were larger, plusher hotels but they were surrounded by street noise and full of coach tours. Regina is a small hotel and therefore much quieter. We all really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a deluxe room with a balcony or a view of the side garden. The extra room and views are...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALACA, Direttore at Hotel Regina Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your good comments on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write them on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased you had a dream of a vacation in Hotel Regina and we really hope to give you another opportunity to "dream" by coming and staying by us once again.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

HOTEL REGINA SORRENTO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Outstanding Hotel with great view of Mount Vesuvious. Rooms were immaculate and quite spacious. A few blocks walking distance to the Sorrento shopping areas yet a few steps from the water as well. The breakfast buffet was exceptional and in a glass enclosed room with a fantastic view of the Naples/Mt. Vesuvius skyline. Recently opened in March and already on it's way to becoming a first class hotel. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly and Luigi their waiter was a delightful young man who helped us with everything. We would definitely stay here again on a return trip to Sorrento.

Room Tip: rooms facing Mt. Vesuvius have a balcony that's lovely . The breakfast buffet was outstanding an...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALACA, Direttore at Hotel Regina Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your good comments on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write them on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased you had a dream of a vacation in Hotel Regina and we really hope to give you another opportunity to "dream" by coming and staying by us once again.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

HOTEL REGINA SORRENTO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My partner and I were on a tour when she broke her elbow really badly. We were stuck in Sorrento for days dealing with bureaucracy and language barriers at the hospital, and we needed to extend our stay and constantly request faxes to be sent, advice on where to go etc.

The hotel staff were extremely helpful, kind, and as the boss of the hotel said, "We are not your problem. They are your problem." (when referring to the travel insurer). They would always go out of their way to ask us if they could help and that if there was anything we needed, they would get it for us.

Looking at it from the point of view of holiday and not an emergency, the hotel is really close to all the shops and businesses in Sorrento (although it is of course a small town). There are amazing views just a 1 minute walk from the hotel. The roads around the hotel are very narrow but then that's a feature of Italy - just watch for cars coming around corners.

The staff were great, helpful, and the breakfast food was really fresh and enjoyable. We became friends with one of the staff members due to the length of our stay and all in all, they are just good people.

We will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: You either view the bay, or you view the mountainside (but you can't see much because it is all...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed there in August 2012. Our room was very nice,brand new and everything was really clean and fresh. The hotel is in great location just off from the busiest part of Sorrento. The breakfast is really nice and the view from the restaurant is amazing.The food is very tasty and all the staff at the hotel are always smiling and trying to help. The pool is on the small side but not really issue for me.
Overall very good hotel in excellent location

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barabbas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALACA, Direttore at Hotel Regina Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your good comments on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write them on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased you had a dream of a vacation in Hotel Regina and we really hope to give you another opportunity to "dream" by coming and staying by us once again.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

HOTEL REGINA SORRENTO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was a great place to stay. And great value. Very well equipped with the pool and roof terrace / bar it did not disappoint. Try to get a room with a sea view and don't be put off by the fact that the volcano you will be looking at is still active. Rooms spacious and very tastefully decorated.

Great location near loads of shops, restaurants, the marina and station. Sorrento was a gem and we intend on coming back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dobbiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALACA, Direttore at Hotel Regina Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your good comments on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write them on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased you had a dream of a vacation in Hotel Regina and we really hope to give you another opportunity to "dream" by coming and staying by us once again.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

HOTEL REGINA SORRENTO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Hotel Regina Sorrento is located within walking distance of the Sorrento center/shops/restaurants--yet just enough outside the busy center to be quiet. A beautiful small hotel, the top floor (4th) is a glass dining area where a wonderful full breakfast is served each morning to all the guests. The view is priceless, looking out at the Med and mount vesuvius / pompeii. An English speaking staff makes this a very friendly destination for Americans. We booked a standard room (small, tidy) but then choose to upgrade to a larger room with a balcony and sea view. More money--but completely worth it--the room was large, new and the view--again--priceless. We stayed 4 nights and each day used the hotel and the city of Sorrento for our base point--doing day trips to: by bus down the Amalfi Coast to Ravello (Exciting! Breathtaking Views!), Pompeii by Train (interesting ruins to explore), Hydrofoil to the Island of Capri (Romantic, Dramatic Cliffs, Hiking). One day we just shopped and ate a lot in Sorrento!. Highly recommend the hotel to a couple who likes to walk and be in a quiet classy small hotel.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a room with a balcony looking out to the Med!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VincentLaFontan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALACA, Direttore at Hotel Regina Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your good comments on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write them on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased you had a dream of a vacation in Hotel Regina and we really hope to give you another opportunity to "dream" by coming and staying by us once again.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

HOTEL REGINA SORRENTO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
941 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina Sorrento

Address: Via Marina Grande 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $117 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Regina is a brand new hotel located in the heart of Sorrento. Recentely renewd it offers all comforts and an amazing view on the Gulf of Naples. All the rooms are tastefully decorated and offer free wi fi internet connection, ensuite bathroom with shower and some are equipped with jacuzzi bath. The reception is open 24/24 and a buffet breakfast is served every morning in our panoramic breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regina Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Regina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing