We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute”

I Giardini di Cataldo
Ranked #15 of 84 things to do in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A walk through a lemon grove. Taste and sale of typical Sorrento products and liqueurs: Limoncello, Oranges, Mandarin, Liquorice, Basil, Fennels, Nuts, Limoncello Babà and Marmalades.
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cute”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We visited this lemon grove on the recommendation of many others on TripAdvisor. I must say, we were fairly unimpressed. Yes, it is free, yes, there is shade, yes, there is limoncello tasting at the end. Other than that, there's not much to it. You walk through a lemon grove, I'd estimate to be at 2-3 acres in size (their production grove is much larger and outside of the city), and when you get to the end, there is basically a little shack with an attendant who serves the samples. There are a lot of different ones to choose from, lemon, orange, even blueberry liquer. We bought a sampler pack to bring home. You can buy loose oranges and lemons from a cart they have nearby and eat them on the picnic tables under the lemon trees. It is a nice thing to walk through, but I wouldn't say it's a destination. We thought it would take much longer and possibly have some sort of presentation on how it's made (similar to a winery), but we were in and out in less than 20 minutes. Note: there is no bathroom, and nowhere to wash your hands if you are going to sit and eat an orange, you'll be sticky until you can find one.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jessimay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    80
    22
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected Oasis”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We came across this lemon grove, with a small shop at the end. The Limoncello is excellent - organic and made by them. We also bought a really unusual licorice liqueur which tastes exactly like drinking pure licorice. Delicious.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenceCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding? Yes, a wedding here!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

It has been a little over a month since our wedding in the Cataldo Gardens, and we are still dreaming of what a beautiful and most perfect day it was. After visiting over 4 years ago, and stumbling upon this quiet paradise in the center of Sorrento, we knew it had to be a place we'd come back to. After our engagement, without hesitation, we knew that the most romantic and intimate setting for our wedding would have to be your gardens. Our wedding day was perfect and we could not have done it without the help of the staff, especially Rossella. She was so excited for us, giving us hugs of congratulations, taking pictures with us and wishing us nothing but happiness. We are so happy she was there to share our special day with us. As well as Rossella, Salvatore was extremely welcoming, giving us gifts and asking us to dinner. He also told us to tell the restaurant we were going to that we knew him, and by doing this we got a beautiful table reserved for us and a congratulatory bottle of Champagne.

Do yourself a favor. Stop by the gardens and say hello to Rosella and Salvatore and pick up a bottle of the best limoncello in Italy. Pick up a panini on your way in and stay awhile amongst the lemon and orange trees. Enjoy the simple things that life offers, you will not be disappointed. We look forward to our next visit and to say hello to our new friends.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Cool & quiet oasis”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

It's worth finding the garden for a quiet relax in the shade and to give your nose & tongue a treat as well as your eyes. The free sample of limoncello put me in the mood for a full serving. At this point they seemed to miss a trick, only selling it by the bottle not the glass for consumption there and then.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grommet_Small
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Found this on the last morning of our trip. Beautiful orchard of lemon and orange trees. Go there to sit and read, or paint, or just relax. When we were there in the morning there was a 'bar' serving cold drinks and giving tasters of the products from the orchard - limoncello, and sister products made from oranges and licquorice. So delicious we bought two bottles even though it maxed the suitcase! Not sure how late the bar is open until but the orchard is open until 9pm in the summer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RebelRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I Giardini di Cataldo also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to I Giardini di Cataldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing