We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great views”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Royal for 9 nights in August as part of our honeymoon. We were upgraded to a junior suite and this pretty much meant a much bigger room. We had a great sea view over the pool and out into the Bay of Naples. Service on arrival was a bit surly, I commented to my hustand they weren't very friendly. However we found the waiting and bar staff to be friendly and helpful. The food we ate at the hotel was very good. One night they did forget about us and we had to wait half an hour for our starters but they were very apologetic and every other course came out very quickly. I thought the breakfast buffet was good and the bar/lunch service by the pool is good. We didn't have a problem getting sun loungers or towels - I guess you just have to be down there sharp because it is a busy hotel/pool area. Great location in Sorrento - minutes from the train station and town which is great for a wander at night. We did the boat trip to Positano and Capri and then got the train for a tour of Pompei - all worth it. The restaurants down the lanes of Sorrento are worth checking out and one in particular up the top end of the town near the Hospital - La Fenice is very good - very busy! I was happy with my stay at the Grand Royal and would recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treeh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 9 nights from 17/8/2009 and had a side sea view room.
The room was very clean, beds comfortable, great bathroom with shower cubicle and bath, lots of space in the room.
Although we had no problem with the reception staff, we found the evening restaurant staff slow and unmotivated and in the bar area it was very difficult to get service at your table.
The pool area was nice although the sides of the pool were a little grimey, towels provided were good. The pool loungers can fill up quite quickly in August but we managed to get a space everyday. The bar and lunch area provide good service.
Our package was half board, the evening food is ordered off a menu. This food was good but not exceptional when comparing to other 4* Italian hotels. Breakfast was adequate, there was plenty of food but they just needed to go a little further - somedays there was fresh fruit other day none, there was tinned fruit every day, not a great variety of meat and cheeses. We noticed some of the evening desserts were added to the breakfast buffet (strange to see a Creme Caramel or chocolate dessert at breakfast but people were eating them!).
The hotel is in a great location, close to the main piazza, port, train station and bus stops. Easy to go on trips without booking through tour operator. We managed to get to Capri and Naples (via ferry, palace close to port worth seeing), Amalfi coast (via the bus, bendy roads make it an unpleasant journey) and Pompeii (via train EUR 1.90 each way, excellent half day out).
The town itself is big and was very busy during August, good to walk around the streets and shops.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DINKYsEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Amazing hotel, fantastic views over Bay of Naples and friendly staff.

Breakfast was unbelievable.

Two small negatives... beds were rock solid even in prestige room and the hotel is a good hour away from Naples Airpot (around £130 in a taxi - use hotel cab service for 105 euros)

Pompeii trip and Capri excursions are great too

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KoloLej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Just returned from a weeks holiday to the Hotel Grand Royal, very glad we weren't there for a fortnight. The hotel was very disappointing. It is a little like stepping back in time. this may well be typically italian, but come on, the italians are supposed to be at the forefront of design and chic.
The breakfast was not of an acceptable standard, bits of fresh fruit mixed with tinned fruit salad?? Surly waiters and a dining room that had seen better times. We didn't take any more meals at the hotel.
The pool and the beach area (a wooden jetty) were sadly lacking in sun loungers. Usually enough deck chairs but nowhere near enough loungers for guests. Towels were in short supply and by 11am the attendant had run out of towels. This happened several times.
We booked prestige rooms, another disappointment. Although they were clean they were small and the bathrooms were antiquated. One night there wasn't enough water coming out of the shower to rinse the shampoo off my hair.
I agree with other reviewers that the reception staff were unhelpful and not very friendly.
Worst of all check out is 11am. We were unable to secure a late check out but were told there was a shower at the pool and one at the beach area. These showers were completely open no curtain or door. They were really the showers to rinse the pool or sea water off not to get washed in for a flight home. No hairdryers, no mirrors, and just a beach hut to change in.
The hotel wasn't a cheap hotel, not a problem if you feel it was worth it but this hotel is highly over rated and definately not worth the price.
A very average holiday hotel that we would not return to.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

It is the second time that we have visited this elegant and superbly situated hotel. We had a lovely holiday last year but unfortunately not so good this time. The view, if you take a sea view room, is absolutely breathtaking, no argument there. However normally the rooms when you pay this sort of price are fairly spacious. We had booked a "Premier" room.

We actually found ourselves this year in a much smaller room than we had previously enjoyed. We did not make any fuss at the time however in retrospect we should have complained .

My husband had to do some work using the internet and as he needed to use the desk I had to climb over the bed to get to the balcony. Opening the door to the room was also a challenge as the door was too close to the wall , such that we even ended up bending the key trying to get in.

The bathroom was tiny and had a sharp ended door stop just in front of the toilet. If you had to get up in the middle of the night and forgot about the door stop you ended up injuring yourself and limping for a day or so.

All the other rooms in that corridor are much bigger and they should only give this one as a possible upgrade for people who have booked a standard garden view room. (Not sure they would want it though).

Some of the receptionists at the hotel could do with better training in the diplomacy department. We ordered a breakfast in the room on the last day as it was clearly advertised that we could do so at no additional cost. and ordered the same things that we ate in the dining room, we had a cooked breakfast . When we got our bill we found that we were charged 10 euros extra and when challenged this, we were given some incomprehensible explanation about ordering extra items such as eggs and fruit. We almost didn't bother to take issue on the point but considering our other grievances, we felt entitled to mention it.

However far from being sympathetic and showing some good will by taking the 10 euros off the bill they in fact realized that they had forgotten to add the figs and added 6 euros extra instead.

Which school of marketing do these people go to? Sadly this left a sour aftertaste and next year, we may well vote with our feet and try out the Europa Hotel next door which has an equally panoramic view.

I would still recommend this hotel as it is well situated but I hope the Maniello management group will train their staff to be a little more obliging with their customers. What is 10 euros when a client has just paid some 1450 euros for 4 days and did not even get the room they expected? The answer - posssible loss of future business?

The rest of the staff however were very nice particularly those at the wonderful poolside restaurant such as Dominico and his team.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pipeletteKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Great position, very clean throughout, rooms very well appointed. Nice pool and private beach area, 2 minutes walk from railway station. All staff extremely friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful stay and would fully recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed 7 nights in this hotel on August in a double standart room and in general terms we liked the hotel, loved Sorrento and the whole coast, although the hotel is not perfect because needs to improve a lot, despite the gaps that have we were thinking coming back, but the end of our stay was very displeased , but i will start telling the good things. The location was great, 5 minutes walking distance to the train/bus station, 7 minutes to the Piazza Tasso (where there are many restaurants, cafés and a lot opf shops) and 10/15 minutes to the Marina Picolla (from where all the boats/ferrys leave). The view from the hotel terrace to the Vesuvio and the sea is fantastic, the pool as good size, the private beach/platform is very good(the water is always good),the breakfast was very good with quality and the room was beautiful, whem we were at the hotel seemed like we had go back in time 50 years, was very romantic and glamorous.
Remember to take Mosquito repellent, we were bitten and we saw a lot of people in the hotel and in the city with big red spot in the legs, don't forget to take.

The bad things were, the cleaning of our room was not bad but also not good, since the first day until the last od our stay we always had hairs in the floor of our room(was never cleaned), our bathtub was cracked and patched and start to leave water on the floor in the minute we opened the water (always took shower), the towels were thin and were up to shred, our mini bar had a already opened bottle of water and nesquik and yoghurt from another guests(meaning with was not seem before we enter the room) and this are things that are not admitted for a 4 star superior hotel!
We were in a building annexed to the hotel and not in the main building and this is never mentioned anywhere, this annex does not have easy access to the interior of the hotel even the employee who accompanied us to the room went to the walk by the pool which was the access that we used always, but there was one time the we went to the interior and we had to climb different stars and then catch the lift(meaning it is impossible for someone with a handicap). The opening time for the pool bar that gives the towels was from 9 am to 6 pm, but at least int the two days we get uo earlier it only opened around 9:30/10 but before 6 pm was already closed even in the days that had opened later.
We made a cruise but before choosing which company we would went we ask an opinion at the reception an Mr.Salvatore come and advised us and we asked if he could do the call do the company to book and he did it in front of us gave us th number of the ticketoffice in the marina we should went next morning pick up our tickets to go to the cruise, next morning we went there and in the ticket office was told to us that we would pay to the hotel, we were not expecting that but ok!We did the cruise and was fantastic and everything went ok!
The night before we leave we decided to do the check out so we didn't had to lose time in the next morning because we had the bus to catch to the airport at 8:30 and so we did it, close the account and payed. Next morning when we were leaving the key the employee that had made our check-ou the night before said is had forgotten to charged us the cruise, we said ok that was not a problem but then he said we had to pay with money and we didn't have 70 € with us and that we wanted to pay by credit card because our bus was from 15 min then and didn't had time to go withdrall cash and get the bus on time and will lose the flight, at this time Mr.Salvatore enter the conversation and start screaming with us saying that we had to pay in money and we were not going to leave without paying(we never even thought leaving without paying and nerver said anything similar) and that is very serious acusation! We then said ok were are going then to leave to withdrall the money but he didn't stop screaming making acusations and saying that we were not leaving without paying when were saying that we were only leave to get the cash, was when i also raised my voice saying that we were going to get the money and that he was being very rude and we were minutes away to lost the bus and the flight, when we come back with the money was already trying to say that was sorry and to forget what has just happened, we asked several times for the name of the mager but he didn't gave us it was another employee, Mr.Salvatore kept trying explain himself without understanding we were about to miss the filght and it was is fault!More, they did not gave us a receipt, and we paid in cash!!!This is ilegal!!
This was a very unpleasant situation and i think is very bad to the hotel we are already doing everything we can to this situation does not repeat with everyone, because is very sad to see a Hotel with such potential with employees of this level!
If it was not for this situation i would recomend this hotel with no problem, but now i can recomend but i have to say to be careful and alert to everything!
I really hope the manager for the Maniello Hotels do somenthing so we and more people can come back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Restelo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $276 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing