We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star employee”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

During our stay at this excellent hotel we were most impressed by the helpfulness and cheery disposition of the desk clerk Mauro. Nothing was too much for him and he certainly did offer service with a smile.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your positive comment and for choosing to stay at the Grand Hotel Royal.
Mauro is so thankful to have mentioned his attitude towards you during your stay.
We really hope to welcome again at the “Royal” and, in the meantime, we remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,622)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Grand Hotel Royal in October 2013 in a room with a balcony and view of the water. We were here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary which we noted in our reservations online. All the Trip Advisor reviews about the furnishings in the room and hotel; the appearance of the exterior grounds; the pool and waterfront facilities; and the buffet breakfast are accurate for sure.

Upon arrival to our room we saw there were a half dozen pieces of ripe fruit in a straw gift basket. There was no note, so we were unsure if it was meant to recognize our anniversary. Separately, however, on the desk was a general note from the manager welcoming us to the hotel, but also not acknowledging our anniversary.

We had just spent five days in Rome and hadn’t anything to wear. Upon arriving at our hotel room in the evening, we had no choice but to wash some clothes in our room which we hung in the room to dry overnight.

With the clothes still wet the following morning, we asked the front desk where we could find a laundromat to dry our clothes. The front desk told us of one laundromat, which turned out to be at the farthest end of town (15 minute walk). When we arrived, it had a line waiting to use the machines and was very expensive. We headed back to our room with the wet clothes, and without any other known option we hung our clothes out on the balcony.

The first opportunity the hotel staff had to demonstrate that the elegance and refinement of this hotel was not confined to its furnishings, came when my husband was at the front desk just a few minutes later making an inquiry, and was told to remove the clothing that had been hung on our balcony. While chambermaid assistance was offered to help remove the clothes, there were no alternative solutions offered.

While we understand that it may have been “not very nice” to hang these items, we were in a tight spot because they did not dry at all in our room overnight. The hotel did not appear to be fully booked as this is now late October. Regardless, when a hotel guest does something that is deemed inappropriate, there is a way to address it to the guest without snobbery or condescension, and at the same time, leave them to resolve it on their own.

We did some digging online; discovered another Sorrento laundromat much closer to the hotel; less expensive; and not busy. Problem solved -- on our own, with more lost time, albeit without effective solutions from the hotel staff.

Later that afternoon we purchased a bottle of wine to enjoy on our patio. I took it down to the reception desk to get it opened and despite the fact that there were no hotel guests being waited on, I stood there, bottle in hand, waiting to be acknowledged. Finally, a staff person acknowledged me and then looked at the bottle I was holding; looked at me; looked at the bottle again, and when he said nothing, I asked if I could get it opened or get a corkscrew. He told me to go to the bar and ask the bar tender. I went to the back area of the hotel and saw the bar had not yet opened as there were no lights on. I walked through this bar and through the gardens towards the back patio and saw a waiter by the pool and decided not to chase him down. Rather, I went to the store and purchased a corkscrew.

Neither of these incidents soured us to the hotel; it did, however, refrain us from asking for directions, recommendations, or room service or having dinner in their restaurants. Even without the above two incidents, we found the reception desk staff while perfunctorily professional, anything but warm and welcoming to any questions a hotel guest may have. We walked in and out of the hotel countless times during our stay, and we are hard pressed to remember anyone going out of their way to greet us upon return or acknowledge our departure for the day or evening. Perhaps because it was shoulder season or approaching off-season, there was no bellman, doorman, or concierge present in the lobby area -- so the front desk personnel constitute the only human factor for making guests feel welcomed and taken care of.

These incidents were annoyances, but we did not consider them significant enough to complain to hotel management. However, after two nights at the hotel, we received a tri-fold questionnaire asking about our stay; it had our arrival and departure dates and room number and someone’s initials on the inside flap. We were impressed that they requested feedback during our stay and not at the end or after, so we went to the trouble of filling it out, and responded to their invitation to explain any issues or recommendations, which we did in a three page hand written attachment. Unfortunately, after submitting the feedback we never heard from anyone in the two subsequent days of our stay.

In our writeup we detailed the issues above and restated that when making the reservations we noted it was our 25th wedding anniversary.
It’s one thing to leave a hotel with complaints. It’s another thing to respond to a hotel’s request for feedback during our stay and to not hear back from anyone, with two nights and two days remaining in our stay. We note particularly that hotel management goes to great lengths on Tripadvisor to acknowledge customer feedback. That makes it even more disappointing that they do not show a comparable degree of care and responsiveness to the feedback of guests while at the hotel.

Our experience based on interactions with staff was disappointing, and will be the sole reason we do not return to this hotel. While we understand there can be disappointments even at the finest hotels, there’s simply no excuse for management to completely ignore their guests, let alone handle awkward situations without tact and assistance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bklyn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for being our customer.
It is certainly thanks to the comments and suggestions of our Guests, no matter whether positive or negative, that we can improve our service but in this case, we are sorry, we can not agree with your review.
Contrary to your assertion, we respect a lot our guests; we have really great care for them and this comes to us every day confirmed by the many reviews we receive.
We have assigned to you a very nice room and we placed in it sparkling wine and fruit on the occasion of your 25th anniversary with a welcome note.
In the hotel we have a laundry service that you did not want to use; you asked for a laundromat outside the hotel and the concierge staff sent you at a laundromat in Sorrento most used by guests of the hotels that like you, to save money, prefer not to use the internal laundry of the hotels. Of course, the concierge staff can not know if and when there is a queue nor even know the rates which are applied (if, as you say, there was a line, it means that the rates are very affordable!). Of course you can not use the balcony of your room as a drying rack for your laundry and we think there is not even the need to explain why. We have kindly offered the help of our staff to move your clothes in the bathroom of the room where there is a wire dedicated to drying over the bath.
In any case, if you wanted to, there was always our laundry available!
Our staff has a lot of ability but he lacks the gift of invisibility! How can you say that there was no one in the lobby?
It is internationally known that it is not possible to consume food and drinks purchased outside the hotel in the common spaces of the hotel. All the reviews we receive recognize that our staff is very friendly and professional and we do not understand why they should not have been with you as well.
I am always available for my guests and I wonder why you never came to me, during your stay, to talk about of these problems?
Questionnaires are placed in the rooms a few days before departure date but, certainly, it is not mandatory to compile them or even to do it the same day. These questionnaires are used for statistical purposes.
We hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Royal and our staff are looking forward to offer their service and to take care of your every need.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at The Grand Hotel Royal in Sorrento. We stayed on a half board basis and had a fabulous very spacious full sea view room. Both our room and all public areas were spotless. All staff were very helpful, friendly and impeccably dressed. The dining room is quite spectacular both in appearance and the service provided. Dinner was a highlight every evening and the quality, presentation and the dramatics of the restaurant staff when serving each course is something not to be missed. A special thank you to all who made our evenings so enjoyable. Breakfasts were unforgettable too except for the expanding waistlines we're left with! Please retain the high standard of service you so successfully provide in this classic elegant hotel with it's spectacular sea views so that others may have a taste of the wonderful experience we had.

Room Tip: Full sea view room have spectacular views Higher floor
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddymuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guests,
We thank you to sharing your experience and all the staff is grateful for your really kind words; nothing can be more pleasant for us to know that you appreciate our job. The satisfaction of our guests is really important for us and our objective is to be the best place for everybody.
We are happy to know that you had a “wonderful experience” and that you appreciate the hotel location, the delicious food, the room, the amazing views and the friendly, professional and helpful staff.
Once more thank you so much. We greatly appreciate your comment and we really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again in the “Royal”.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a week. My room was quite spacious and comfortable and had a garden view. I stayed on half board basis. The breakfasts were very good especially the fried eggs or omelettes which were prepared by Patrizia who always has a smile on her face and is very pleasant and friendly. All the staff at evening dinner were pleasant and attentive, the meals were superb. The location of the hotel is fantastic, overlooking the bay of Naples and about five minutes from the town centre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Guests,
We thank you so much for your beautiful and kind comment on your stay posted on Tripadvisor.
Thanks to your review, future guest can be more informed about our hotel.
Attention to details and personalised service are the foundations on which we have built, throughout the years, the success of the “Royal”and, more generally speaking, of all the “Manniello Hotels”.
In your review you mention the “superb meals” in the restaurant; our Food and Beverage team know how to take care of guests, from our special dishes prepared by our Chef to the personalised services of our waiters.
We were especially happy to notice that not only did you praise the hotel, but what is most important to us, our staff. I have passed your comment to our team and everybody, especially the restaurant staff and Mrs. Patrizia, were delighted by your kind words.
We hope to welcome you soon back to the “Royal” and everybody of our staff are looking forward to offer their service and to take care of your every need.
Your sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent 6 nights at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is a great base for exploring the area, since it only a short walk to the centre of Sorrento, the railway station (where the buses also stop, including the airport bus from Naples airport – we found this very easy to use and only 10 euros each – we would just recommend checking the timetable in advance) and a 10 minute walk to the port where the boat trips depart. Despite this the hotel is in a very quiet location overlooking the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius – the views are stunning. We very much enjoyed sitting on our balcony with a drink watching the sunset each evening. However even if you do not have a sea view (since this does come at a price!) there is a lovely garden and terrace where you can sit and enjoy the same view.

The hotel is very well appointed and maintained. There are lots of areas around the hotel where you can sit and relax and read a book or newspaper - both inside in the lounge and other seating areas as well as outside on the terrace and in the gardens or by the pool.
Our room was spacious and well appointed. It was bright and tastefully decorated with all the comforts you would expect of a 4 star hotel - a nice bathroom, good linen and pillows, plenty of storage space, beautiful tradition wooden furniture and also a couple of comfy chairs and a little table place strategically in front of the window to sit and admire the view. The electric blinds/shutters on the rooms were an excellent feature ensuring we could have a nice lie in! We have found that beds in this part of the world do tend to be on the firm side generally but nothing a bit of extra padding cannot resolve and the hotel were helpful in this regard. In fact we could not fault the helpfulness of both the reception staff and the housekeeping staff who were extremely accommodating, friendly and efficient with regard to any requests or questions.

Breakfast was served buffet style in a light and airy conservatory overlooking the gardens and made a great start to the day. The selection included most things you could think of and many you would not (including an interesting selection of cakes which I managed to resist most of the week!). However I did make regular trips to the lady who will personally cooks your eggs to order and these were delicious. With regard to food, the hotel does have a restaurant but we preferred to go out into the town most evenings and try various restaurants, of which there is plenty of choice. We did though try the hotel restaurant on our final evening due to a torrential thunderstorm which prevented us leaving the building! However we were personally quite disappointed both by the rather abrupt manner of the restaurant manager who took our order and also the food we ate there. As a result of this we ended up leaving after our main course to have coffee in the lounge instead where the atmosphere and service was much improved. This was a shame as we can honestly say it was the only negative point of our whole stay.

Unfortunately the weather meant we were not able to make much use of the pool or swimming facilities during our stay but they looked good and were well maintained. One night whilst we were there the hotel organised a pianist in the lounge who was excellent.

Travelling around independently (rather than paying for quite costly organised trips) is very easy. During our stay we spent a couple of days wandering around Sorrento itself and then fitted in day trips on the train to Pompei and then to Naples, a coach trip to Amalfi and a boat trip to Capri. If you want to avoid the long and windy coach trip to Amalfi you can also go by boat although this does appear to work out significantly more expensive.

Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay and found it a beautiful part of Italy and would definitely stay at this hotel if we visited there again

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room with a full sea view. These are on the quieter garden side of the hotel an...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LyCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for posting a glowing review of your six night stay at the Grand Hotel Royal. The hotel and the rooms are indeed lovely and beautifully-appointed, and all the Grand Hotel Royal team pride themselves on always going the extra mile to exceed every guest’s expectations, and we are very pleased that you are always greeted by a warm and welcoming smile.
We believe our quiet yet central location in the city of Sorrento ensures that our customers are often pleasantly surprised with the connectivity options to both all areas around Sorrento, bus, train station which are all located a short walk from the hotel.
Regarding the dinner at the hotel, we are disappointed to read that you felt that the restaurant manager did not, on this occasion, deliver the standard of excellence so many of our customers have experienced previously. All posts related to the restaurant have always been enthusiastic regarding both the kindness and professionalism of the staff and the quality and taste of food.
Sometimes it may happen that someone gives a wrong impression especially when it is very busy but, please, be sure that even at the restaurant, as throughout the hotel, the staff is very polite and professional.
Anyway, we will check the situation and we will organize a meeting with the restaurant staff in order to ameliorate this aspect.
Everyone has different tastes and if you do not like something, simply ask the waiters and they will be happy to replace the food that does not meet with your taste.
All in all I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we would like to thank you once again for your feedback and would welcome the opportunity to have you back with us on a return visit to Sorrento.
Your sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This grand hotel is named just right. When we first drove up to the hotel I thought it didn't look so grand. Maybe because of the short driveway, maybe because of the low profile exterior on the busy small street...I don't know. But don't judge it by its exterior because this property is shaped like a slice of decadent cake. From its nice old world lobby to its magnificent views of the Bay of Naples in the beautiful Mediterranean Sea it is a spectacular seaside resort!

Our room was very large- probably close to 500 sq ft. A glass wall opened up to a cute patio where we drank our morning coffee and watched the goings on in the small square. This same glass wall has room darkening motorized shades in the glass that can either be up for a full view outside, diffused for privacy or completely blacked out. We thought they were pretty cool. The room has full sized closet on one whole wall. There were plenty of beautiful wood inlay drawers too. The flooring was a colorful Italian tile throughout. Even though the photos on their website show the property being on a cliff, heading down to the water was either one of two ways: you could take the lift (elevator) or you could stroll down the long, cool tunnel (kids will especially love this) that leads you to the multiple terraced gardens until you reach the huge patio with full bar that overlooks the sea and the last level where you can go for a swim off the docks or just lie in the sun. The Grand Hotel Royal is so much more than I could say here. I know we'll remember it for a lifetime.

Room Tip: I would request a room with a view of the sea.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohhnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am very pleased you were impressed with your overall stay and felt your needs were catered for.
You can’t imagine how good you made us feel with all the positive remarks and observations you’ve made. The review is not just ego-boosting but it has in a sense packaged the entire hotel services into an exciting one for other future clients. Thank you and we certainly look forward to having you stay with us again.
Your sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour we booked with Viator. We were so impressed with this beautiful hotel, the amenities and the staff. Gorgeous sweeping views across the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius. Our room, while it didn't have a view, was lovely too. Very spacious, comfortable beds, balcony with blackout blinds for sleeping, large bathroom with both a tub and separate shower. Our meals were included as part of our tour and the food was good-to-great for every meal. The servers work hard all day and are always pleasant and eating our lunch overlooking the marina is never a bad thing :)

The pool was great too, though it was a little cold for us to swim (we were there in early October) but some people were in it. Towels are right by the pool and there's a bar too - they'll bring your drinks to your lounger.

It's nice and close to the town square so we were able to walk around the markets/stores.

It was our first time to Sorrento and this hotel and the town made a great impression on us. We'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JupiterZowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Guests,
I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Royal. We pride ourselves on the service and the even of tiniest details we offer our guests and was delighted that we met your expectations and especially that you enjoyed our delicious food in our wonderful restaurant. I have passed on your kind words to my great team.
It is so good to know that you found the hotel faultless and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to the wonderful Sorrento.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.
Many thanks once again,
Your sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $231 - $1,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing