We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother & Daugher short break”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mother & Daugher short break”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal, Sorrento with my daughter for a short break. The hotel was exactly as shown on the internet. We stayed B & B only, our room and the hotel itself was absolutely spotless. The breakfast choice was amazing. Staff friendly and extremely helpful. Would recommend to anyone.

Lisa & Sam
Norwich UK

Room Tip: Our room was a bit hidden however, if you booked early enough and got the sea view rooms then I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you. We’re glad we were able to meet your expectation of how a hotel should be. This is really what we always strive for: to make every stay worth its while and to meet every client’s heart’s desire.
We would like to thank you once again for your feedback especially about our staff, of whom we are very proud. We would welcome the opportunity to have you back with us on a return visit to Sorrento.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    281
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
333
885
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was absolutely perfect. Clean, large well furnished rooms. The view of the Bay and Mount Vesuvius was unbelievable. Breakfast came with our room and was excellent. The grounds were fantastic and the location was perfect. Close enough to the main square yet you felt like you were far enough away from the busyness of that area. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the bay are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at The Grand Hotel Royal; it is always gratifying to read so a great review.
Our location is ideal: in the heart of the city of Sorrento situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees; whilst the extensive buffet served in the Glicini Restaurant is appreciated by all our guests and we have a superlative Housekeeping team, who maintain the hotel and rooms in pristine condition.
Your kind compliments have already been forwarded to our great team, who pride themselves on always exceeding every guest’s expectations. Your recommendation is very valued, and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit as a returning guest.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in September everything about this hotel was first class. We had a lovely room very spacious and kept beautfully clean. The reception stasff were most helpful alwasys had the right answer for you.The breakfast was fantastic everything you could wish for the egg station serving eggs anyway you want, cooked by a lovely lady Patrizia always had a smile on her face. The hotel is only five to ten minutes walk to the centre with an abundance of restaurants to choose from. Would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your kind and beautiful review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Here at the Royal we are committed to personal touches. We were especially happy to notice that not only did you praise the hotel, but what is most important to us, our staff. I have passed your comment to our team and everybody, especially Mrs. Patrizia, was delighted by your kind words.
We would like to thank you for having been our most welcome guests and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future, we remain at your complete disposal for any further information or assistance you might need.
My warmest regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

There was a group of 12 that stayed in several different hotels in Sorrento, Sicily, Florence and Rome. We all agreed that Grand Hotel Royal in Sorrento was the standard. Bright clean rooms that were cleaned and all linens replaced every day for our 5 night stay. It also had the best breakfast of all the hotels with the most to choose from. The pool area and grounds were easily accessible and well kept. The service from the staff at the pool and inside at the desk were right on and very helpful. When I go back to Sorrento no doubt that I am staying here!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
We thank you for being our customers and for your recommendation towards other future guests.
Indeed it is very easy to love our hotel for all the services offered and the outstanding beauty of the place.
We have appreciated all your positive comments about the hotel, the friendly staff and the cleanliness of every area. We really care about it and the way our housekeeper and her staff devote themselves to their work is unequalled.
We just have to thank you with all our heart and waiting to have the pleasure to have you back soon at the “Royal”, we remain
With best regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Grand Hotel Royal was more than I expected. The location is on a bluff overlooking the sea. There was a nice pool.... But you could also elect to take an elevator down to sea level and lay next to the water which is a plus. If you into breakfast this is your place. The breakfast is served in a huge bright atrium, and the selections were high quality (even prosecco was included).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogandhiscoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
We have read your beautiful comment about your stay at the hotel and we thank you so much for all your compliments about the location, the high quality breakfast, the pool and the beach area.
We really appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you also in the future.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate our 40th birthdays, everything about it was beautiful. We were supposed to be staying in their sister hotel but we're upgraded to this one and I must say we were absolutely delighted we could not have asked for anything better 10/10 for us. The breakfast buffet was delicious and filled us up till dinner time, the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, Giuseppe one if the waiters was delightful and very gentlemanly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olly544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guests,
I am delighted that you had a most enjoyable stay with us for your 40th birthdays and indeed my sincerest thanks for you taking the time to leave such a nice review.
It is great to read your feedback and extra pleasing to see that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast buffet and appreciated our great staff of whom we are very proud.
We hope to welcome you back here in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, Essex
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

What can I say, our stay with the Grand Hotel Royal was all and more than we expected. The hotel was immaculate, the staff friendly and polite, and our sea view room excellent. We were there on a bed and breakfast basis so didn't sample the evening meals, but the breakfasts were great, catering for all nationalities and thanks especially to Patrizia for her lovely eggs and omelettes, cooked on demand. I always had to end my breakfast with a cake or fruit tart which were delicious (not something I do at home).
If I was really pushed to criticise something it would be our bathroom which could do with an update but having said that the shower was powerful and everything worked so no complaints really.
The location of the hotel was spot on too, with the train and bus station about five minutes walk and the main square in Sorrento about the same distance. Would urge anyone going to Pompeii or Herculaneum to catch a train as it's so easy and cheap and a bit of an adventure.
To sum up, we would not hesitate to return to the Grand Hotel Royal as it's one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Oh, and we must mention the gentleman on reception who without fail handed us our key without asking the number of our room. How's that for personal service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 57Avril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of our hotel.
Feedback such as yours is a great boost to everyone as we make ever greater strides to look after our guests. Memorable experiences are what the team continue to strive for and I am thrilled that in this instance they looked after you the way they did.
It's good to hear that our breakfast exceeded your expectations, and I hope that next time you will enjoy tasting our new menu in our restaurants as well.
Thank you for writing “it’s one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in” and that you like to come back; we look forward to welcoming you again back soon for another wonderful stay.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing