We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We just had the most wonderful vacation at the Royal Gran Hotel.. We are return clients many times from the year 2000 when we found the hotel by chance. It is just as beautiful and spotlessly clean now as it was then.. We cannot say enough about the staff they are the best of any hotel we have ever stayed at. . The grounds are magnificent and the views are spectacular. The location is central and a five minute walk from the heart of town where everything is at your finger tips.. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms in every location of the hotel, and one is just as nice as the other..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank gus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear guests,
We are very happy to learn that your stay was pleasant and we thank you for your patronage and loyalty .It is from returning guests as yourself that we can say that our service and facilities and our location is consistent trying to improve and please our guest as best as possible, from our housekeeping staff to the front desk, concierge, bars, kitchen and restaurants, we go that extra mile to satisfy our guest and making them truly feel like they are at home.
It is a pleasure to receive your positive impressions and I will immediately share your positive comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your kind remarks.
We thank you once again and are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon to the “Royal”.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    284
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
340
903
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in Sept.
If you arrive by train or bus then walk straight out of the station, down the steps in front of you and keep going in that direction...down a small road, across a plaza/green between two buildings and the hotel is right there. It's less than five mins walk this way!
The hotel is really beautiful; it's very spacious inside with huge seating areas in various styles of room. there is a bar area also. Outside there is a terrace area where you are overlooking the sea and the port, watching boats coming ad going. The terrace serves a very large menu of food and the food is delicious.
The pool is quite big and the whole area is meticulous. The pool area closes at 6pm (good to know)
Breakfast is not to be missed; the variety of foods is unbeliveable and the food is of a very high standard. We went to a special buffet dinner one night and the spread was amazing.
The room we had was 406 and is not overlooking the sea - it looks over the green area heading towards the station. It had a balcony (with chairs & table). A sea view would be fab, but this was fine as once you go downstairs you can see the sea anyway.
The bed was not a proper queen/double bed but was two single beds pushed together - I hate this!!!!
The bathroom was beautiful - gorgeous tiles, big, separate toilet and basin and then bath/shower and basin.
There are two computers in the foyer for guests use and a printer also, which is handy for printing out boarding passes.
The air con in the public areas of the hotel is very good. there is air-conditioning in the room also but it's not of the same standard.
The people on the front desk could be more helpful - like we asked how best to get down to the port and they just gave road directions and so we didn't venture. There is an elevator but they didn't even tell us.... we found out the next day from some tourists down town. They also push organised tours/day trips but are not forthcoming with info on how to use the buses/trains.
Apart from this the hotel is truly fabulous. And it's spotlessly clean and very well maintained.
The location is heavenly - sitting on that terrace overlooking the port is fab. It's about a 10 min (or less) walk into the town centre.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie-Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for posting your kind feedback following your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel Royal.
We have appreciated all your positive comments on the hotel as the location, the great service, the generous and qualified breakfast, the great food, the pool area, the nice decoration and so on.
We believe our quiet yet central location in the city of Sorrento ensures that our customers are often pleasantly surprised with the connectivity options to both all areas around Sorrento, bus, train station which are all located a short walk from the hotel.
We were disappointed to read that you felt that the Front Desk did not, on this occasion, deliver the standard of excellence so many of our customers have experienced previously; we will check on this.
Thank you for writing that you cannot wait to come back. We look forward to ensuring you have another great stay.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel was absolutely great - a perfect position, attractive and well designed interior, the bedroom was very comfortable and the breakfasts were very good. It is a very short walk into the centre of Sorrento and to the port. We would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea will have a great view.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Manxman060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you. We’re glad we were able to meet your expectation of how a hotel should be. This is really what we always strive for: to make every stay worth its while and to meet every client’s heart’s desire.
Thank you and we certainly look forward to having you stay with us again.
Yours sincerely
Massa Giuseppe
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We just spent twelve days at the Grand Hotel Royal. This is our second stay at the hotel.The staff is amazing. Everyone from the front desk to housekeeping are warm, helpful and always smiling..The property is beautifully maintained The choice of dining venues and quality of food is exceptional. Nightly entertainment, speciality dinners, with and amazing waitstaff. We are already planning our return to Sorrento and the Grand Hotel Royal for next season

Room Tip: Overlooking the Bay of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ferland123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guests,
Wonderful review, thanks! We’re very happy you choose us again for your holiday. We’ll make sure the staff gets to hear how impressed you were with them and with the service in general.
Do stay with us again next time you come to Sorrento and we’ll once again make your stay worth its while!
Yours sincerely
Massa Giuseppe
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Grand Hotel Royal was a beautiful property in a beautiful setting and the staff was absolutely wonderful. We splurged for a room with a sea view and balcony - most certainly worth it! It was the best hotel (out of four) that we stayed on our whole trip. My boyfriend and I stayed there for five nights and we cannot say enough about the hotel and its staff. Everyone knew our names and our room number and everyone was incredibly friendly, especially Vincenzo, Tomaso, and Serena. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Garofahoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guests,
Reading your review makes us feel good about our job, about what we’re doing and what we have to offer as a hotel. It feels so good to be a “Favourite” even if all the compliments mentioned are really part of our service. I will congratulate our staff and especially Vincenzo, Tommaso, and Serena for their efforts and the obvious impression they have made.
Thank you so much and we look forward to having you come back real soon.
Yours sincerely
Massa Giuseppe
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is exquisitely appointed, very centrally located. The location and views are out of this world and the staff was incredibly customer service oriented, professional and diligent. We definitelly will return and we will recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesusinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guests,
You can’t imagine how good you made us feel with all the positive remarks and observations you’ve made. The review is not just ego-boosting but it has in a sense packaged the entire hotel services into an exciting one for other future clients.
Please do come and see us again soon and I have, as I always do, pass on your comments to my fantastic team.
Yours sincerely
Massa Giuseppe
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the third year that my husband and I together with our son, daughter-in-law and grand-daughter had returned to holiday in August for two weeks at the Grand Royal Hotel and it was, as always, superb. The Hotel has wonderful views over the Bay of Naples and is just a short walk away from the centre of Sorrento. The professionalism and attention to detail by the staff is a credit to the management and this hotel is extremely well run. The food is exquisite and freshly cooked and the chefs are very accommodating to any changes you may wish to make. The gala dinners and musical entertainment were first class! Unfortunately, my husband was taken into hospital two days before we were due t leave the hotel (in no way connected with the hotel services) and the management could not have been more helpful and kind. They were able to accommodate us for an extra two weeks although the hotel was extremely busy and we could not have asked for more understanding in what was a very difficult time. I would like to mention specific members of staff but as they are all so good it would be hard to discriminate from the reception staff through to the head waiters, chefs, waiters, cleaners and indeed the senior management. This is what dreams are made of and we hope to back next year!!!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms over the Bay of Naples with Vesuvius in the background come at an extra price but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaletpark123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent review and for your beautiful expression: “this is what dreams are made”.
It is from returning guests as yourself that we can say that our service and facilities are consistent trying to improve and please our guest as best as possible, from our Housekeeping staff to the Front Desk, Concierge, Kitchen and Restaurant, we go that extra mile to satisfy our guest and making them truly feel like they are at home. Your beautiful comment regarding our staff is the best compliment that a General Manager can receive and I will be pleased to relay it the entire team.
You do not have to thank me for having helped you when your husband got sick, I only did my duty and, anyway, has been a pleasure for me to be near you in that particular moment of your life. I am glad you will stay with us again and certainly look forward to seeing you on your return.
One of your favourite hotels is waiting for you!
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing