We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights of grand perfection!”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

After 2 weeks of travel in Spain we felt warmly welcomed to Italy by the most gorgeous hotel of our trip at the Grand Hotel Royal. It was everything and more then we had read in the reviews. The photos simply cannot capture the beauty of being there. The lobby and reception area feels very grand, very open & airy with a gorgeous mix of empire period antique furniture. The bar & patio areas are extremely inviting. Overall the property inside and out is meticulously kept, Gorgeous landscaping & breathtaking sea view of the bay & Mt. Vesuvius! We had a fantastic sea view room with a massive balcony, the room was spotless and completely odor free which was surprising to me based on the age of the property. My only suggestion for improvement would be to perhaps upgrade the beds. Not sure if all the rooms had the same beds of if there are other options but ours was unusually firm. Enjoyed the pool area the first day then discovered the bathing jetty and was excited to get to swim & lounge near the open water. The breakfast buffet was beautifully presented & very tasty. All of the staff we encountered were helpful, pleasant and efficient, We stayed in many other fantastic hotels during our summer vacation but was excited that the best was saved for our the final nights in Sorrento! Would absolutely recommend this hotel 100%.

Room Tip: Sea View room is worth every penny!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chromegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
We wish to thank you for your wonderful feedback.
In your words all the future readers can find the essence of the Grand Hotel Royal in Sorrento.
We always try to be genuine and smiling people and treat each of you as you are our old friends, coming to visit us after long time. The daily efforts to maintain the high standard are reinvigorated by these words, I will share your review with the hotel staff.
I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon in the next future.
Thanks againg for this review, we are very proud about your words.
Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,624)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Royal for three nights after we had been to a wedding in Maratea. This hotel is superb. The location is excellent for visiting the town as it is just a short walk away but it is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff that really shows here. Our hire car was whisked away as was our luggage in seconds. Check-in was swift and simple. The food in the restaurant was exquisite and the lounges are beautifully furnished again all with excellent service. Rooms are top class ans spotlessly clean as was the entire hotel. The hotel is pricey as you would expect from its location but really worth it if you want a few days of spoiling yourself.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AndrewKimberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Mr. Kimberley,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review following your stay here at the Royal and so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. The location is certainly great just 5 minutes walking throught the beautiful Lauro Park to the Piazza Tasso.
We are pleased you appreciated our rooms, the restaurant, the quality of our dishes, the services offered by our hotel, the courtesy and the friendliness of our staff.
On behalf of our wonderful team, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal soon.
Best regards,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay at the Grand Hotel Royal. The accommodation was comfortable and spacious. The staff were consistently pleasant and helpful. The daily weather forecast at reception was a great boon, as the weather fluctuated quite a bit during our stay - hot, wet, cool.

We had a room with a balcony facing the Bay - and Vesuvius. However, when seated, sadly the view was limited as the balcony was of solid construction. We should have asked for a balcony with open railings - which most of them were.

The restaurant was excellent. The buffet breakfast had a very wide range to choose from, including personalised omelettes. There was a degree of confusion over what was included in the 'dinner packages'. 3 courses - but were 'contorni' included or extra? Sometimes potatoes were included; on other occasions not.

The location was ideal as we (wisely) did not rent a car but used public transport for trips to Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum etc. The rail station and bus station are within a 5 minute walk, and the town centre under 10 mins

Room Tip: Suggest Superior Room with iron railings to balcony, not concrete construction.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cathy_palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Mrs.Palmer,
We have read your beautiful comment about your stay at the "Royal" and we thank you so much for all your compliments about the location, the rooms, the food, the breakfast atmosphere, the staff attention towards you and services in general.
It is so important for us to know that guests feel so well at the “Royal”; it is one of our purposes to get people satisfied.
I really appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you also in the future.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fantastic week here with my sister. Had the best time brilliant location lovely breakfasts, beautiful views and gardens, only little tiny niggle was the Wifi could be.improved but apart from that will defo be back 5 stars

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your good review on Trip Advisor about your last trip in our hotel. It is true, the Grand Hotel Royal enjoys a unique location in the center of Sorrento, surrounded by a magnificent centuries-old park: a green oasis in the heart of Sorrento.
We are sorry to read that you had some problem with the wi-fi during your stay.
Once again, thank you very much for taking your time and we are looking forward to host your return in our property again soon.
Yours sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Other reviewers have said everything- the view, the excellent staff , the elegance of the restaurant. The Excelsior must be pretty good to justify the difference in price- and it doesnt have a bathing jetty.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guests,
We thank you so much for the precious time and thoughtfulness you have spent on commenting your last stay at the Hotel Royal on Tripadvisor.
Thank you, as well, for reporting that the Grand Hotel Royal is an excellent hotel.
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.
Our comfortable rooms and the variety and meticulousness of our services mean that we are able to guarantee all our guests a pleasant and satisfying stay.
It is a pleasure to receive your positive impressions and I will immediately share your positive comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your kind remarks.
Thank you for your recommendation for our hotel, which have made us very, very pleased.
We really appreciate the time you took to share your comments and it is our hope that you will give us very soon the opportunity to serve you for another “Great Holiday”.
Best Regards,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for 4 nights in late May. The waterfront location is absolutely gorgeous, with fabulous views of Bay of Naples, Mt. Vesuvius and Capri in the far distance. The grounds are lush and very well maintained. A large breakfast buffet is served in their gorgeous, all white dining room. We had water facing rooms and the views were fabulous!! Walking into town is not even 5 minutes, and we found it very nice to be just off the main square as it was very crowded and loud. Sorrento is very charming with darling shops and great restaurants. This property overlooks the marina where the public ferries leave for Capri very frequently, so that is very convenient also. If you stay here and want a nearby casual, waterfront dinner spot, by all means go to Ghibli down on the water. All of our meals in sorrento were divine and we absolutely loved the Grand Royal. the only negative was the extra firm beds~ they could definitely have used better mattresses and more luxurious linens. Everything else was great!

Room Tip: High floor, water front rooms have the best views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravelVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for the review following your stay here at the Royal and so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. The location is certainly great just 5 minutes walking throught the beautiful Lauro Park to the Piazza Tasso.
Thank you so much for your own words “ We absolutely loved the Grand Royal”.
On behalf of the whole team, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal soon.
Best regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a superb hotel. The ownership history of the hotel dating back over a hundred years explains the attention to detail to make guests feel so very much at home. The Staff were friendly and attentive and the service was excellent. The restaurant was superb, the buffet breakfast had an amazing variety and had something to suit any taste. I would highly recommend the Monday evening buffet dinner to anyone, this was very special. The hotel is situated overlooking the bay of Naples and the views are outstanding. The main shopping areas of Sorrento are situated a five minute walk away and it is a ten minute walk to the port where the boats to Capri and Naples leave from. I can only say that we will return again, as this was a wonderful experience and how one should remember a stay in an hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The best rooms are at the rear of the hotel with the view across the bay of Naples.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jonny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for this detailed, passionate review on the Hotel Royal!
The Grand Hotel Royal is a place where all the guests feel really at home.
Therefore, the hotel staff at the Royal has been imbibed with an attention to detail and focus on not just meeting all customer expectations or demands, but exceeding them.
The attention to all details, comfortable beds and pillows, exclusive restaurant, are only few aspects of our daily work.
But now, in receiving your feedback, we understand how long was the way, and your words and this review on Tripadvisor paying of all of us for all the efforts , starting from the Reception staff, FB and Housekeeping Department, to all the employees that everyday trust in this project.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $226 - $1,262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing