We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff didn't care.”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Staff didn't care.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I am writing from my room here at the "grand" hotel royal on my iPod because I refuse to pay them the extra money they want to use the computers in the lobby. When we arrived I noticed that there were very few people here so i asked if we could have a room facing the water. We were told that it would cost an extra 40 euros a night. We decided that the room was pricy enough and we weren't going to pay more so we took the room that was given us. This morning i had to put in earplugs because the noise from the street woke me up at 7:00 am. Tonight i told them at the front desk that i was unhappy with our room but nothing is being done. Your better off not taking a chance if you can't be guaranteed a sea view.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guests,
We thank you for the precious time you have spent on commenting your last stay at the “Royal” on Tripadvisor. Our location is great, right in the centre of the town but in the meantime really quiet and the guests staying at the "Royal" can relax by the pool, at the hotel beach, in the magnificent garden and feel truly at home, sipping an aperitif at our elegant bar or enjoying a romantic "a la carte dinner" at our terrace “Le Sirene” with its stunning view
The sea view rooms have, of course, a different rate and normally those are always already all sold although the hotel is not full.
Concerning the noise we have double glazing to all balconies and the street noise is almost non-existent if the balcony is closed.
The non-sea view rooms are overlooking a side street which among other things in the evening is also closed to the traffic. In our hotel the wi.fi is free.
We wonder why you did not come to talk to the manager during your stay at the hotel.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    289
    79
    26
    16
See reviews for
350
918
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was a very nice luxury hotel.

You pay for what you get here. This was a night where we spent a bit more than normal to have somewhere a bit more comfortable than normal. We spent about 150Euro and it was worth it. We had a balcony with a view of the ocean, clean white sheets, a hot deep bath, and a very nice breakfast.

This was pretty close to the centre of Sorrento and the staff were all very helpful and polite.

I recommend this hotel if you are looking in the Eu 150 up range.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Since living in Rome, we've been down to the Amalfi coast at least a half a dozen times. And we always make Sorrento our home base and that means staying at the Royal.
It's perfectly located, just a 5 minute walk from the center, with a spectacular view cliffside over the magnificent bay. The staff is always warm and charming. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. If you can book one with a small terrace overlooking the bay, you're sure to have the most spectacular views at sunset. They always manage to find us a new restaurant nearby to try and we've never been disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Excellent hotel and facilities, we will definitely go back. Room was quite basic but we spent so short time there it wasn't a problem. Having beach towels supplied was a bonus and the pool area was exceptionally clean and there was plenty of space. Amazing views of the bay. The hotel is far enough out of town to be away from the hustle and bustle but near enough to have a slow walk down on an evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessiuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our long weekend in Sorrento. Not a modern, faceless hotel, instead one with character, a hint of grandeur, beautiful gardens and a good location. Our room was spotless and very spacious, as was the bathroom. You could just about see the Bay from our room, if you craned your head around the balcony.
We visited in November, and it was a little quiet as we were out of season for the Amalfi, but that didn't really spoil our trip. The staff there are very professional and clearly about their guests.
Sorrento itself is lovely and the perfect gateway to explore the Amalfi coastline, or get a ferry and nip over to Capri or the other islands. You can buy tickets for all ferries down near the marina. We used to walk there, but you can catch the local 'train' (more of a fun ride taxi, no tracks involved!) that will take you down the hill.
The narrow cobbled streets are lined with a variety of stores and bars. You'll find everything you need, and a nice selection of tourist nicknacks to take home as gifts for family.
Using local transport was easy - we hopped on the train, catching it from Sorrento to visit Pompeii.
Food wise - some great restaurants and some nice restaurants which you'll find on the beaten tourist track. Just wander down a few of the side streets and you'll soon find some eateries worthy of a second visit.
Travelling to and from Naples - definitely catch the ferry/cat. Our flights arrived too late for either and we had to taxi it there - 100 euros the worse off. But you learn! Naples itself...our experience was not great, very busy, rubbish on the streets, graffiti covering all vertical surfaces; this was our memory as we walked to the national museum primarily to view the artifacts kept there from Pompeii.
We'd love to go back and explore more of the coast line in season, and perhaps we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Heaths99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington,NC
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel in Sept. the name says it all. The staff was very helpful, the hotel was beautifully maintained and decorated. The bedrooms and baths were comfortable and very spacious. The views and gardens are fantastic. We will stay here again. Love, live, love it.

Room Tip: King size bed deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great introduction to two nights at the hotel when the porter picked up our bags and instantly took them to our room, he didn't even wait for a tip (which was a first!). We found that this helpful attitude was held by all the staff we en-counted. The room was decorated most tastefully, although ours was a "good hike" to the elevator. However we felt we were lucky to have got a room at all as it was New Years Eve, but if we stayed again, we would definitely choose a room with a balcony and magnificent ocean view.
The foyer area is huge, a very comfortable area to sit and plan the day's activities. The outdoor patio area is also huge and overlooks the magnificent coastline of Sorrento. The dining room is beautiful and we certainly enjoyed the breakfast provided. The hotel's position is perfect......on the cliff front of Sorrento, and within an easy stroll to a wonderful array of shops and great restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meg l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing