We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite so Grand”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Royal w/c 12/10/2012 for 7ngts expecting something wonderful after reading the reviews, unfortunately it did not reach our expectations.
The hotel is within easy reach of the station less than 7 mins walk, however the main reception staff were a little arrogant and brusque in her manner, the female receptionist that booked us in gave no instructions or information about the hotel regarding , pool, breakfast, times etc.
The room was a fairly decent size, on the fifth floor, but unfortunately looked out to the front of the hotel. which turned out to be extremely noisy at night it over looked a piazza where it would appear the local teenage bad boys hung out in the evening, till the early hours, shouting screaming etc.
The bedroom floors all ceramic tiled as you would expect, however the walls are quite thin and every time the ajoining occupants in the next room moved a chair across the floor or opened a draw, or walked across the floor the noise was horrific, particularly when trying to sleep.
I don't know whether we were unlucky and the person in the next room had a OCD problem, but it certainly caused a few sleepless nights coupled with the traffic noise.
On our last night I was awoken by the new occupants next door who was I think was a German gentleman who had decided enough was enough and proceeded to shout from his balcony to ask the noisy teenagers to shut up.
The bathroom was a little jaded in areas around the bath and shower with the silicone sealant going black, however general housekeeping was fine, towels sheets etc.

Breakfast was a buffet affair, with a selection of hot and cold, which was overall quite good, apart from the bad cakes, and no coffee pots, its was a one cup affair, but again the staff we found to be of the same manner as the reception staff, we wondered into the breakfast room waiting to be seated, but alas it was a find yourself a table attitude.

The pool area, was a no go area due to the vast amount of flies, I don't know whether it was because of the many fruit trees, dotted around the well kept gardens, but unless you covered yourself in insect repellent they congregated in hundreds over your body.
Again on the couple of occasions we sat by the pool not once were we approached by the pool bar waiters to ask if we would like a drink, coffee, ect.
Pool towels were a hide and seek game, some days you had to hunt one out, the other days there were none, if I had known I would have taken my own, but the hotel states it provides them for the pool area.
There is a lower sea decking area reached by a very dirty antiquated lift at the bottom of the cliff, which was a happy respite from the pool flies, however the second time we used this we were told by a young arrogant pool boy I presume employed by the Grand Hotel to leave the area as it was closed, this was around lunchtime on one of the few sunny days, due to rain storms, I asked him why there was no signs anywhere to tell guests that the lower decking was closed, he just shrugged, and gestured in that purrhhh manner that the Italians do so well.
The toilets on this area were dirty, with full length glass doors to both toilets, both with faulty locks, there was a bar on this area, however dirty and never staffed, and looked like it had not been used in some time.
Its worth mentioning from a health and safety point that the metal steps for sea access hanging onto the side of the wooden decking were rusted and badly decayed one side completely unattached.
On the basis it was quite a trek to the sea lower deck, which involved the antiquated lift ride, plus a long walk through a damp smelly, and dirty tunnel, up some steps, across another deck area, then down some steps, we were somewhat annoyed to find we had to leave, and go back to the fly infested pool.
We checked out around 6.15am so were unable to have breakfast in the dinning room, we were offered a breakfast takeaway box instead, which I have to say was truly revolting, two slices of white cardboard bread which was soooo stale the sides were curled up and dried out, sandwiched between a plastic processed slice of cheese, and a thick soggy over ripe slice of tomato. a couple of very stale sweet cake type croissants, and a warm fruit juice carton. these went straight into the rubbish bin at the station, totally unedible.
Would we stay there again ? NO

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Guests,
We are really sorry that your stay at the Royal did not reach your expectations.
We accept with pleasure the negative comments because they help us to improve and sometimes the customers can see details that we do not see.
Normally we receive very, very positive comments and we are very surprised to read such a different one.
We wonder why you did not come to talk to the manager during your stay at the hotel.
If you have received a room on the city side it means that your reservation was for a room without sea view. In any case, the balconies of the rooms are soundproofed and if you leave the balcony closed there are no noise problems.
Sorrento certainly is not New York and there are no bad boys gangs around the city.
All customers find our staff very kind and friendly and we certainly are surprised of your judgment as our employees were selected one by one according to those characteristics.
It comes naturally to think that maybe you stayed in another hotel and not at the Grand Hotel Royal. Even the terrible noise that you heard from one room to another has never been reported by any other guest.
There are some flies because we have a beautiful garden, but certainly not the invasion that you described.
The cleanliness in our hotel is appreciated by all our customers.
Every year during the winter closure we make improvements and this year will be ameliorating the tunnel that leads to the beach.
Thank you for being our customer and we would love to have you again in the future maybe reserving a room overlooking the sea.
Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,665 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I visited here last week. We stayed for 8 days and had a wonderful time. Beautiful views from our balcony, very clean room and wonderful service. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCGruv187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your review about the Hotel Royal and for your patronage.
We do our best to meet all of our Guests' needs, where possible and no one thing can be more pleasant for us to know that you appreciate our job. The satisfaction of our guests it is really important for us and our objective is to be the best place for everybody.
We really hope to welcome again at the Royal and, in the meantime, we remain at your entire disposal for any further information
Best Regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our stay at the Grand Hotel Royal was - Marvelous. The location was perfect, a short walk to the excellent Shopping facilites and Tasso Square. The Hotel, overlooked the Bay of Naples" unbelievable " If you wanted to use the Public Transport, it was very reasonable,with both the Train and Bus Terminal TEN Minutes away. The Hotels Superb Service and, amazing Food made our Stay Truly Unforgetable.The local Restuarants and Bars Served Excellent Food, and we found the Locals Warm and Friendly.
If we were asked to give the Hotel and surroundings a Score out of 100, we would give it a Score of 99.
We would thoroughly recommend the Hotel, Sorrento and surrounding Areas to all Ages-
Fantastic--we will Return to the Grand Hotel Royal "Next Year"
Sandra & Stanley Hertfordshire.

Room Tip: A Room Overlooking the Swimming Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,
We have received your magnificient comment on our hotel and we want to thank you for spending your time to write it on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased that you had a “marvelous” and “unforgetable” stay at the Royal; your appreciation for our location, the stunning view and, as you reported, the “amazing food” and the “superb service”makes us proud of our work. Thank you for your willingness to recommend our hotel and, on behalf of the whole team, I look forward to having you again as guest at the Grand Hotel Royal next year.
Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just come back from 8 nights staying at Royal Hotel. Was really glad we booked it., very convenient location - only 5 minutes from Train/Bus station so you can travel cheaply to visit places like Pompei and Amalfi. Hotel was lovely, nice gardens, pool and views were tremendous. Buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice - loved the prosecco which was complimentary with breakfast! We only ate once in the restaurant in the evening - food was fine but it was a little rushed for our liking so preferred to venture into Sorrento.

Room Tip: We chose a site sea view but were upgraded which was nice. Try not to get a room near the stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurers64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your comment and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and, especially, that you appreciated the location, the magnificient view, the buffet breakfast and all our services.
I am really glad that your overall experience with us was positive; we do our best to try and provide our guests with high standards of service and assistance.
It is indeed a shame you didn't had the chance to enjoy a romantic dinner “A la Carte” by our magnificient Terrace “Le Sirene” with its stunning view of the Vesuvio and the entire gulf of Naples.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again at the Royal!
Warmest regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

we stayed at the royal hotel for 2 weeks in September what a fantastic hotel, the staff where very helpful excellent in fact, breakfast and evening meals where out of this world the food was the best we have had in a hotel, the rooms where comfortable and clean only problem was no tea and coffee making facilities thankfully we had taken our own.The pool was very cold could do with being heated. we walked in to Sorrento every day and found a lovely coffee shop over looking the bay by the lift that takes you down to the port we had a wonderful holiday and will be going back to the royal next year for our 2 weeks holidays, hope all the staff are still there thats what makes it such a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms over looking the bay looked wonderful we are going to book one next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandy021964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience and all the staff is grateful for your really kind words; nothing can be more pleasant for us to know that you appreciate our job. You have been so nice to describe your stay with such magnificent words and we are so glad that you have appreciated your experience.
As matter of fact the satisfaction of our guests is really important for us and our objective is to be the best place for everybody.
Thank you for your beautiful expression to describe the Royal as a “Fantastic Hotel” and regarding the food you used such beautiful words like “Out of this world” and “The best we have had in a hotel”.
You're right, it is the staff that makes hotels excellent and modestly our staff is really great although we always try to improve.
Once more thank you so much. We greatly appreciate your comment and we really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again at the “Royal”.
Kind regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We decided to have a little splurge in Sorrento and stayed at the Grand Royal Hotel for five nights. The hotel itself was lovely and the rooms very comfortable. The staff were helpful enough and the breakfast buffet was lovely. There is a pool area and a private beach (boardwalk and pontoon) to escape the crowds in town. We did not end up eating in the hotel so cannot comment on what the food was like at lunch or dinner. It was a great location with wonderful views and our only gripe would be that the rooms do not have tea and coffee making facilities and the hotel has no irons to provide to guests. You can get things pressed but it takes 24 hours and costs approx €6 per shirt. We found a lot of things more expensive in Sorrento than other areas of Italy so felt that the cost of the hotel was on par with the location. Would recommend trying to get rooms facing the Mediterranean as it is much nicer than the other side and a great place to have a quiet afternoon drink.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
We thank you for the precious time and thoughtfulness you have spent on commenting your stay at the Hotel Royal on Tripadvisor.
We have read your beautiful comment about your stay at the hotel and we thank you so much for all your compliments about the location, the rooms, the breakfast atmosphere, the staff attention towards you and services in general.
What a pity that you did not take part at our magnificent Grand Buffet or at “A La Carte Dinner” by the Terrace “Le Sirene” which has a wonderful view of the sea.
We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again at the “Royal”.
We remain at your disposal for any further information and request
Best Regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the royal back in September, on the advise our daughter and son-in-law who had stayed for ten days in may. They said what a fantastic hotel it was and they weren't wrong! We had a weeks stay, and after staying in hotels worldwide can honestly say this was one of the best. Very quiet, very clean, and the food was excellent every day. (We stayed half board) but I think it was the staff that made it really good. They were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Once again excellent hotel and would definitely go back, hopefully next year.
Sue and Dave Higgins

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Higgyhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Mrs & Mr. Higgins,
Thank you for your beautiful expression to describe the Royal as a "Fantastic hotel" and “One of the best”.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that you appreciate our services and the staff attention towards you.
We try always to meet guests’ needs and expectations; I will immediately share your positive comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your kind remarks.
We really hope to welcome you again at the Royal Hotel very soon and in the meanwhile, we remain at your disposal for any further information.
Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $225 - $699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing