We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just returned from our long awaited week's holiday at the Royal. It did not disappoint!
We had chosen a sea view room as it was a special occasion and were delighted to receive a free upgrade to a beautiful room with amazing views. We had decided to make it a fairly relaxing holiday,mixing a few trips out with a few quieter days enjoying the peaceful setting of the hotel with all its fantastic amenities. This was a good decision as too often we rush about and don't enjoy the facilities available-- we simply spent hours relaxing and enjoying the amazing views from the terraces and sun decks. We even ventured for a swim in both the pool and the sea--cold but wonderful and refreshing. Plenty of sun chairs available with free towels.

We found the standards in all areas of the hotel to be top class. All the staff we encountered were excellent and seemed to take pride in their work. Everywhere was spotless and service was courteous and efficient from the maid to the maitre d'.
We were on a bed and breakfast basis but enjoyed the gala dinner one night and a superb a la carte meal another-- both on the terrace in a lovely setting and atmosphere. These experiences don't come cheap, however, but worth it if you can afford to splash out.
Breakfast was a pleasant experience also, in a lovely setting with a good choice of food. The hotel kindly allowed us to have an early breakfast on the last day as we had to check out early.

The hotel is an easy walk into the centre of Sorrento and a short walk from the railway station if you cut straight through the piazza directly opposite. We took a trip with Goldentours( arranged efficiently by the hotel) and the coach left from the bus station across the road from the hotel so it does enjoy a very convenient location.

I intend to post a review of our days out on the travel forum along with our impressions of Sorrento itself rather than post too much detail here.
I have tried to concentrate on reviewing the hotel here.
Although we were blessed with beautiful weather I'm sure we would have enjoyed our stay at the Royal anyway and couldn't recommend it highly enough. It is an expensive hotel but well worth it for that special occasion-- you really do get what you pay for. The Royal is a classy hotel with an understated elegance that we felt comfortable with.

A big thank you then to all at the Royal for making our first visit to Sorrento so special---we certainly hope it will not be our last!

Room Tip: Any room with a full sea view is worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterwilliam_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guests,
You have been so nice to describe your stay with such magnificent words and we are so glad that you have appreciated your experience.
We have appreciated your positive comments on the Grand Buffett and “A la carte Dinner” by our magnificient Terrace “Le Sirene” with its stunning view.
The satisfaction of our guests is really important for us and our objective is to be the best place for everybody.
All the members of the staff are so thankful to have mentioned their attitude towards you during your stay.
Once more thank you so much. We greatly appreciate your comment and we really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again in the “Royal”.
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,624)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

951 - 957 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have visited this hotel twice now. If you enjoy a peaceful, relaxing stay in clean and well decorated and furnished surroundings and within easy walking distance of the town of Sorrento and the railway station and harbour then this hotel is to be highly recommended! We (family of 4, youngest aged 21 years) stayed in double rooms furnished beautifully with a balcony and view over the Bay and harbour. The staff were courteous and friendly taking pride in their work and added greatly to the enjoyment of our stay. The rooms were beautifully clean. The food was excellent. A large selection of fruit, cereal, meats, cheese, bread, cakes and hot buffet and freshly cooked eggs were available for breakfast. The set dinner had a good selection for each course and we also ate A' La Carte on the terrace overlooking the Bay;amazing food and ambience. Will we go back again? YES

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Mrs Pamela,
Thank you for this detailed, passionate review on the Hotel Royal!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your nice comment regarding our staff is the best compliment that a Hotel Manager can receive and I will be pleased to share it with my entire team; your kind recognition will be very well received. I agree with you that service is what makes a stay truly pleasant. We do our best to meet all of our Guests' needs, where possible.
The Hotel's location is in the centre of the town and guest staying at the hotel can relax and feel truly at home, sipping an aperitif at our terrace bar or enjoying breakfast, lunch and dinner at our “A la carte” restaurant “Le Sirene” that, as mentioned, offers the most breathtaking views of the sea, combined by our Food and Beverage team who know how to take care of guest, from our special dishes prepared by our Chef to the personalised services of our waiters.
The rooms are all carefully finished, prepared and controlled by our housekeeper and cleanliness is of utmost importance.
Thanks to your review, future guest can be more informed about our hotel, we are glad that you were able to mention every aspect of your experience.
On behalf of the whole team, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal soon.
Sincerely
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Well, we are regular repeat guests as are many others and just love this Hotel.

Location is great - everything on your doorstep - local transport links, shops, pavement cafes, supermarket, delis, restaurants are all a gentle stroll away.

Pool (unheated as the norm for Italy in our experience) is a generous size. Adjoining hydro massage pool tends to be used as a kids pool which is sometimes annoying and inappropriate with inflatables etc. although signed as being disallowed. Sunbeds and towels FOC.

To be honest sunbeds are a little closely packed in but there is a generous terrace area with tables and chairs and also a private bathing platform by the sea.The fact that guests of the sister Hotel De la Ville are encouraged to use the Royals facilities adds to the tightness of space though.

The gardens and views of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples are beautiful. We always book a full sea view room, B&B basis directly with the Hotel. Lunches in the Terrazzo Bar are always great & good value though so we choose to eat there every day.

The staff are immaculate and unfailingly friendly & we feel we have made genuine friends there.

Would we go again and recommend? 100%

See you June 2013!

Room Tip: Full sea view rooms are amazing.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank newboldbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Mrs & Mr. Newbold,
Thank you so much for the precious time you have spent on commenting your last stay at the Hotel Royal.
We are very happy to learn that your stay was pleasant and we thank you for your patronage and loyalty
Attention to detail and personalised service are the foundations on which we have built, throughout the years, the success of the “Royal”
Thank you so much for “loving our hotel” and for all your compliments about the location, the generous size of our pool, the wonderful view from our terrace and services in general.
I am equally pleased that our staff made such a favorable impression. I will pass along your compliments to our “team”.
Our goal is to reach the excellency. We really appreciated your comments and advices, they will help us to improve our service and get close to our goal.
What a pity that you did not take part at our magnificent Grand Buffet. Next time, we suggest you to enjoy a pleasant dinner by the terrace "Le Sirene" that offer the most breathtaking view of the sea.
We would like to thank you for having been our special guests and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel Royal next June.
Warmest regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The location of the hotel is great. Walk out the door, turn right and walk for 500 yards or so and you are in Tasso Square. All bars and restaurants are now on your doorstep!

My wife and I syayed at this hotel from 14/09/2011 until 21/09/2012. We were staying on a half-board tariff and our room was on the ground floor just behind the pool. The room was spotlessly clean, and had a nice 22" flat Screen TV and minibar. The bathroom was a nice size and freshly decorated with nice tiles and shower over bath, and clean hand and bath towels daily.

The bedroom itself was average size with double bed and a few paintings on the walls, which were nice and cleanly painted. I hired the room safe which was a digital combination type and cost 24.5 euros for the week, which I thought was about average price. I had a week WiFi rental from my room which was 18 euros for the week.

The hotel cleanliness I thought was really good, and the hotel lounge was bright and airy as was the reception area.

The food we thought was first class with a varied menu, and one evening I had pea soup, which was exceptionally good, and one of the best (if not THE BEST) pea soups I have ever tasted. We did not have any bad meals there, and we looked forward to dinner. Dinner was waiter service and all the staff were really nice and helpful.
Breakfast I thought was also good, with plenty of choice and you could have either a hot or cold spread, whatever you fancy. The omelettes and eggs were done to your personal preference.

All the hotel staff were very polite and helpful, from reception to the pool area.

Italy always has been quite expensive, but since joining the euro, prices seem to have gone a bit haywire. In Capri, two small beers cost 16 euro. In Sorrento, 8-10 euro, which is cheap by comparison but still dear I think. The food in local rezstaurants is of good quality, by depending on which restaurant, and where you sit, the view etc., can be expensive. Nothing in Italy is free.

Now, when you leave your hotel, you have to pay a 'tourist tax'. The price charged for this depends on the star rating of your hotel. The cost for the two of us for the week was 21 euros.
I can see Italy pricing itself out of the tourist trade!

In all, we had a great holiday and think that the Grand Royal is a well-run establishement, served by very friendly and helpful staff. I would certainly stay here again and would recomment it to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel by the pool, away from the main road at the front.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Mr Ian,
We thank you so much for the precious time and thoughtfulness you have spent on commenting your last stay at the Hotel Royal on Tripadvisor.
Thank you, as well, for reporting that the Grand Hotel Royal is an excellent hotel.
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.
Our comfortable rooms and the variety and meticulousness of our services mean that we are able to guarantee all our guests a pleasant and satisfying stay.
We have appreciated your positive comments about the room, the great location of the hotel, the first class food and the kindness of the whole staff.
It is a pleasure to receive your positive impressions and I will immediately share your positive comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your kind remarks.
Thank you for your recommendation for our hotel, which have made us very, very pleased.
We really appreciate the time you took to share your comments and it is our hope that you will give us very soon the opportunity to serve you for another “Great Holiday” and your favorite “Pea Soup”.
Best Regards,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is all about it's location, which is breathtaking
Some of the minor irritations can be forgiven because of the charm and friendliness of staff, especially at the terrace and pool bars. And of course this is Italy.
Probably the best hotel we have stayed at in Sorrento. Is it worth the money? Take a look at that view and stroll the terrace in the evening and it would be hard not to agree.
Enjoy
David

Room Tip: Sea view-has to be
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CambridgeDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Mr. David,
We are pleased for all your kind words about the hotel location, the terrace “Le Sirene” with its breathtaking view, the hotel staff, the food and it is a pleasure to know that you have appreciated our services.
Thank you for your beautiful expression to describe the Royal as “the best hotel you have stayed in Sorrento”.
Sorrento is one of the most famous holiday destination in Italy and the “Royal” is one of the most renowned hotel in the center of the city. It has a private beach, a centuries-old garden, the terrace “Le Sirene” with its amazing view; the staff is professional and friendly. All these aspects render our hotel unique and exclusive.
Anyway, we know we are not perfect and we are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer.
Thank you for your words of appreciation, we are so happy you had a good time at the “Royal” and that our place often gives special emotions to the travellers who come to stay with us!
Assuring you since now our best attention to any further visit, may we take this opportunity to send our warmest regards.
Best Regards,
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just returned yesterday from a 7 night stay at this hotel. This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel over the last 10 years. Sometimes going back to a place you have enjoyed in the past can be a disappointment, but not this one. Just as good as it has always been. Fabulous views and rooms, lovely public areas, the swimming pool is fantastic and the outside space is beautiful and well maintained. We always opt for a full sea view on the 6th floor, fantastic, well worth paying the extra for. The staff are friendly and very helpful, nothing too much trouble. The location of the hotel is superb. You have the tranquil setting of the hotel at the rear with pool, gardens and beautiful view over the bay of Naples, yet you can walk to the busy Sorrento Centre in under 5 minutes, the train station (which we used to visit Pompeii) is 5 minutes walk, the buses also stop outside the train station (which we used to visit Positano and Amalfi) we got the hydrofoil back from Amalfi straight to Sorrento's port which again is only 10-15 minute walk from the hotel or you can use a bus to take you up the hill. The first two times we visited this hotel we came with our teenage sons and we all enjoyed it and this year we came as a couple and had a fabulous time. Suits all ages. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LichfieldKTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
We have read your beautiful comment about your stay at the "Royal" and we thank you so much for your loyalty and for all your compliments about the superb location, the faboulos view and rooms, the lovely public areas, the staff attention towards you and services in general.
It is so important for us to know that guests feel so well at the “Royal”; it is one of our purposes to get people satisfied.
All the members of our staff, are so thankful and we really hope to welcome you soon again at the “Royal”.
Thank you for your loyalty and in the meantime, we remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
With our kindest regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent 11 glorious days in Sorrento at the Royal an excellent hotel with spectacular views from our sea view balcony! The hotel was ideally situated for the centre of Sorrento where it is pleasantly bustling with visitors and residents.
Our room was spacious and clean and housekeeping excellent. We did have a few hiccups the first when we were inundated with ants following a day of heavy rain we reported it to reception before going into breakfast but on return to our room found they were still there my husband then went looking for the maid who promptly sorted the problem the second we asked at reception if we were able to have early breakfast the following day as we had early start on a trip to be told to mention this to dining room staff ourselves I felt this was the responsibility of the reception desk! This aside a super hotel and dining staff were fantastic the food was very good we are missing it already.Will be returning soon

Room Tip: Sea view a must the views are fantastic
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonino M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Mrs. Pauline,
Thank you for the time you have taken to comment your stay with us.
It is a pleasure for us to know that you have appreciated the food, your room with its spectacular view and the hotel location.
To the other hand, concerning the problem with the early breakfast, we apologize and we will organize a meeting with the reception staff in order to ameliorate this aspect.
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at the “Royal”, we remain at your complete disposal for any further information or assistance you might need.
Kind regards
Giuseppe Massa
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $228 - $1,263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing