We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bellevue Beauty!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellevue Syrene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bellevue Syrene
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bellevue Beauty!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed 2 nights here in the late summer early fall of 2009. Words really can't express the beauty of this hotel and its surroundings. It is out of a fairy tale. I recommend this to any romantics hoping for a truly unforgettable, once in a lifetime vacation. Its as if we were in a James Bond movie roaming the streets of italy overlooking the tall cliffs down into the ocean. The staff was great and the hotel looked perfect. Its preserved as good as a meseum. Its so nostalgic and charming. Its a dream come true. You will be more than pleased having stayed here. We will go back given the opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bugssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    81
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
158
628
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Bellevue Syrene for 6 nights at the end of September to celebrate our anniversary. We loved it! The location is perfect – right on the cliff overlooking the Bay with panoramic views of the harbor and Mt. Vesuvius. It is tucked away so that it is quiet yet still just steps to all that Sorrento has to offer. The atmosphere was just the right mix of simple sophistication, classy but not stuffy or formal, but relaxed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The Club Lounge concept of offering complimentary light fare and beverages all day is fantastic. We loved being able to come back to the hotel after a day of sightseeing to enjoy a glass of wine and read out on the terrace and unwind in a gorgeous setting! We ate dinner in the restaurant one night and the food was excellent and the piano music was lovely. We did not use the bathing platform as the weather was mostly cloudy when we there, but we used the walkway by the beach to get to the Marina and the ferry services, which was very convenient. A few minor things that we didn't like was that our room (on the -1 level) did not have a separate closet, only an area of the room with a rack for hanging clothes and we thought the turndown service at night came too early, usually while we were getting ready for dinner. But overall, we loved the hotel, would recommend it highly, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shorerat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

The hotel is in a great position overlooking the Bay of Naples, built in 1820 and travellers on the Grand Tours in the 19th Century stayed at this Hotel.

You can walk from the hotel platform along the coast to the port, rather then walk through the Tasso square and down the long winding steps. Catch a boat across to Capri or down to Amalfi.

The rooms are large decorated in a modern style very individual with balconies overlooking the Sea, the bathrooms are also large and the hotel is very clean.
Guest lounge is great with free drinks and snacks available all day until 9pm.

I found the hotel to be a great place to retreat to from the madness of Sorrento which can get very busy in the main Tasso Square and surronding narrow streets.

I had read reviews that the staff at the hotel were either rude or unhelpful. I found the staff to be helpful and efficient but very formal. I have also found this to be the way in 4 and 5 star hotels in Italy they take the professional very seriously.

Loved the hotel and will return next year with my parents.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smedley26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Great position. Large room and fabulous terrace. Disinterested reception staff let this hotel down badly. In our opinion staff make or break a hotel and our stay was disappointing because of this.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanton1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed at the Bellevue Syrene for the final four days of a two week 25th anniversary trip to Italy. This hotel was our "splurge" for the trip. The resort is amazing - a beautiful terrace overlooking the Bay of Naples. The staff is friendly and professional - and we were treated like royalty. We had one complaint - our "classic sea view room" looked nothing like the pictures shown on the web site. The room we were given had obviously not been renovated in quite a while. When we first entered, we were greeted by a strong moldy smell coming from the air conditioning system. We voiced our complaint to the front desk, who very graciously showed us other available rooms. The alternative would have required us to move to a different room after two nights, and the second room did not have a sea view. Despite the moldy smell, we decided to stay in the original room because we didn't want to lose the sea view. Despite the cleanliness of spaciousness of the room, we did not feel the price was a good value. We would certainly consider staying at the Bellevue again, but next time we will make sure we have a room in a renovated section of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tpcinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed at the Bellevue Syrene for three nights for our 20th wedding anniversary and loved it. The hotel is beautiful. A mix of old italian antiques and modern ammenities give the hotel a well deserved 5* rating. The staff are helpful and curtious, the rooms are spacious and clean with fantastic sea views and balconies and the comlimentary snacks and drinks are a lovely touch which is a rare find in any hotel. Located a short walk from Sorrento old town centre, we found plenty of restaurants and coffee shops offering varied and reasonable italian food and drink. I would highly recommend this hotel and thought it was well worth the money. If it was only an hour from where I live, I think I would stay there every weekend !!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracykieran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

While we did not stay at this hotel, thought would comment on the excellent restaurant. Location and view are superb and the food and wine list were impressive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Syrene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Syrene

Property: Bellevue Syrene
Address: Piazza della Vittoria 5, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellevue Syrene 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellevue Syrene is a 5* boutique hotel in peak of the sea, overlooking the bay of Sorrento. It is a charming house with ancient frescoes, in the historical centre of Sorrento. A spa and a private solarium on the water are available. Romantic terrace restaurant during summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Agoda so you can book your Bellevue Syrene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Syrene Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing