We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Wonderful”
Review of Bellevue Syrene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bellevue Syrene
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bellevue Syrene as part of our honeymoon trip to The Amalfi Coast and Capri.
From the moment we arrived and were met at the gates, we knew that this was a special, tranquil place.
We were upgraded to a beautiful suite, a magnificent room, beautifully furnished with amazing views, and a dressing room!
The Hotel was intriguing... You wanted to explore.. And there was so much to see! The terraces, the lounge, outdoor restaurant, the garden area, the lift to the private lido, the view of the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius...
The staff were all incredibly friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The club lounge offered snacks and drinks all day, pre dinner Prosecco and hors d'oeuvre on the terrace at sunset was magical, as was dinner!
The pool area is small, more like a hot tub.. But enough to cool off and admire the view. For a swim you take the lift to the private lido area.
The hotel is only a short walk from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento and is ideally situated to tour the Amalfi Coast.
We had a wonderful stay and I can highly recommend this lovely hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    85
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
172
666
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Bellevue is in extensive grounds in a beautiful location. The staff are all professional and friendly. When you've spent the day fighting through the crowds on Capri (it is lovely of course but I'm surprised it hasn't sunk under the sheer weight of tourists) or even walking around the streets of Sorrento, it is wonderful to return to this hotel. The deck at sea level is great too - not very busy when we were there - and swimming in the sea could not be more pleasant. All this comes at quite a price of course but it is value for money.

We had dinner one night at Trattoria da Emilia (simple brilliant fish on the quayside) eight minutes steep walk to the hotel, and the other at Il Buco (the best sort of Michelin star restaurant - great food but unpretentious). Do both!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGALondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Bellevue Syrene for the first week of our honeymoon and then moved to stay in an apartment further round the coast for the second week which made the overall cost much more reasonable. We loved every minute of it. The location is perfect and the atmosphere is very relaxing. Most days we had the whole pool area to ourselves. We would highly recommend this hotel - the free bar early evening is a lovely way to have a few drinks before heading out to dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loula2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Our travel agent booked this hotel for my wife and me. After 5 nights we concluded that it was the best hotel we've ever visited. The views are amazing and the rooms are impeccably appointed. The service is excellent and it's so easy to waste the day away on the terrace with complimentary drinks or down at the solarium. The only minor complaint is that the pool is tiny, though it's not really used anyway because of the solarium. In any case, we are definitely coming back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Arriving in Sorrento I was slightly concerned at what to expect but I had nothing to worry about, the Bellevue Syrene in a wonderful hotel in an excellent location with a really quite stunning view over Vesuvius that will remain with us forever.

A slight irritation was that on the day of arrival we went to the restaurant for dinner, at 8.30, to be told it was full. I explained that we were staying at the hotel but they just repeated that they were full and there wasn't anything they could do. The concierge wasnt much better suggesting room service. I explained that I was disappointed that nobody had pointed out that if we wanted to eat at the hotel we should book in advance. Regardless the following evening we did eat at the restaurant, we found the menu a little limited and boring and the food likewise BUT the view, the sunset, the setting make it all worthwhile...it really must be one of the most romantic places for dinner but be warned when booking make sure you ask to be seated on the sea side of the restaurant.

We stayed in room 606 which was a standard sea view room with terrace. Once again the views are tremendous and the terrace was great. The room has been built in what was, I assume, the attic which means there are slopping ceilings and whilst the room is perfectly spacious with a nice bathroom you cant help but feel that you're in the cheap seats. Although special praise must be given to Elena who cleaned our room a charming, helpful and enthusiastic lady who is a credit to the hotel.

Breakfast is served in a beautiful partially open room over the sea and is a total joy with an excellent selection of food, great service and lovely classical music playing in the background.

The private beach, which is actually a converted jetty is easy to get to by lift and well looked after by the hotel employees.

All in all a beautifully located hotel with stunning views and if you avoid the top floor and book the restaurant in advance you'll have a perfect time.

One final piece of advice, if you want unpretentious authentic Italian food of the highest standard try the restaurant that you walk past to get to the hotel beach, its called Bagni Salvatore, the owner is called Antonio, the food cooked by his sister Elena. When you take the lift down to the beach and walk along the small path take the first right and you walk straight in to the restaurant. The food we ate here was the best we had during our entire 2 weeks in Italy. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the top floor and pay for the sea views, they really are worth waking up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Love the view, the gardens, the staff and the rooms. The open gardens were just amazing. The breakfasts were the best we had in Italy. . The actual restaurant was ok-very over priced and mediocre food. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomandkatie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

From the view to the service to the rooms to the food to the art... just breathtaking and still makes me smile thinking about it. Perfect walking distance from shops, restaurants and the great Sorrento vibe. A must-stay.

Room Tip: The view of the sea is obviously the way to go, if possible. Just awe-inspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Syrene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Syrene

Property: Bellevue Syrene
Address: Piazza della Vittoria 5, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellevue Syrene 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellevue Syrene is a 5* boutique hotel in peak of the sea, overlooking the bay of Sorrento. It is a charming house with ancient frescoes, in the historical centre of Sorrento. A spa and a private solarium on the water are available. Romantic terrace restaurant during summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Bellevue Syrene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Syrene Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing