We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with a stunning view!”
Review of Bellevue Syrene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bellevue Syrene
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I have just arrived home having spent 3 nights at The Syrene for our 20th wedding anniversary.
It was a fantastic hotel with really friendly staff. Our room was 518 which was spacious and a great view over Sorrento.
I would suggest you visit Vesuvius and Pompeii on your first day as it is near to the airport.
We hired a boat through the hotel - Nautica Sic Sic (don't be put off by the name!) with a skipper who was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. It cost 340 Euros for the day plus 80 euros for fuel but it was well worth it.
We went to Capri/Positano and amalfi which was fantastic.
I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garyfrielick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frasil13, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Bellevue Syrene, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2011

We are so glad to read the feedback you posted us. At the Bellevue Syrene Hotel we pride ourselves on our level of service so I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the excursions recommended by our Concierge (in fact we're able to satisfy whatever enquiry thanks to our selected partners for rental boat, private guide, limo services and helicopter tours) . We really hope you get another chance to enjoy them again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,132)
There are newer reviews for Bellevue Syrene
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

Had a wonderful 3 nights at this beautiful hotel in May 2010. Returning next week and sure I will not be disappointed. Beautiful Hotel, Beautiful Location and lovely staff. Happy to be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jax1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frasil13, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Bellevue Syrene, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review we greatly appreciate your comments.
It will be a pleasure to take care of you again next week and we are even happier than you, because each repeating guest is like a friend who is coming back home.
This year you can appreciate the renovated terrace for a super romantic candle light dinner at our "La Pergola".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

The Bellevue Syrene is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting. The view from our sea view room looked out at Mount Vesuvious and the Bay of Naples and was stunning. Our room was a Deluxe Sea View room which was very spacious. My only two slight criticisms were firstly that the room was very hot. When I asked at reception why the aircon was not working I was told at this time of year it is turned off throughout the hotel!. I think for 470 euros a night you should be able to adjust it yourself! Also, the balcony was very small and very close to the adjacent rooms. Other than that, the room was lovely. The service from the staff was superb, everyone was really friendly and helpful. My wife has a Gluten free diet and this was no problem for them. Gluten free bread was provided at every meal. There is also a Club Lounge where snacks and drinks are free throughout the day. The outside restaurant is fabulous and such a glorious place to have an evening meal whilst looking out over the shimmering moonlit sea.

Room Tip: Book a standard sea view room
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

I don't think you could find a more beautiful hotel. The hotel is arranged such that you feel like you're one of only a few guests.

Rooms: Very large and nicely decorated. Every room had a balcony on the cliifs and a view of the Bay. Perfectly clean, lots of natural light, and plenty of fresh air (should you desire). Bathrooms were clean, spacious, and well appointed with soaps/lotions.

Dining: Breakfast was very good (included). They offer a selection of free snacks/drinks throughout the day and a pianist plays in the evening. I did not try the restaurant for lunch/dinner.

Hotel: Service was very friendly and accomodating. They've got their own private beach area that was nice, though diffiult to get to (unavoidable since the hotel - like all others in Sorrento - is on top of a cliff). The club lounge (inside) is amazingly decorated and colorful. Outside, it has a beautiful terrace to view the sea.

I did not try the spa.

The only drawbacks are that it is not in the middle of town (only a 5-10 min walk, though) and that reservations could have been easier (they required an email to request the reservation). Also, not all the rates were displayed on the website when I searched - when I called, I was offered a better rate (and then had to email them to reserve it). Strange.

Room Tip: Call. Don't use the website for reservations.
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBDWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Amazing. Only word to describe the Bellevue Syrene. Truly worth every last dime. I will go back to Sorrento solely to sit and enjoy this place again. We have traveled all over and enjoyed amazing hotels and experiences, but every day, my favorite thing about Sorrento was to sit and enjoy this hotel. We were even there when the beach was not open.

So, what makes it great? The view is truly magnificent and maybe one of the best in Sorrento. The open living spaces are one of a kind and make you feel like you have the entire hotel to yourself. Food, wine, champagne, and juices sit out available to you from 10 AM until (maybe) 10 PM all day. They are refereshed continuously and changed as the day changes (from breakfast, to lunch, to tea, to cocktails) This alone makes this place a great value...We always came back to sit and drink, snack, and take in the views. Even the indoor areas are wonderful because they look out on the gardens and pathways.

We had rooms 512 and 514, which are adjoining (one king bed in each). Basic rooms with private balcony with all the amazing views you can stand. They were more than enough for us...HUGE bathrooms with walk-in waterfall showers. Nice linens. Towers were OK but at least big. Large Crabtree and Evelyn bath products. Lots of counter space. We put our 2.5 yr old on a cot in 514 and still had plenty of space to move around.

Big breakfast buffet each day which includes generally anything you can think of to eat. Available from 7-10 AM (maybe 6AM).

The hotel is well located. Davide has great food and gellato. We actually ate here 3 times. Il Buco was worth the price for a great meal. Refood was not that good. We ate at La Favorita de (the word for priest) on the main street (not the hotel) and it was really good. Excellent and warm place to take kids, too. Best seafood of the trip there. Maybe best white bean with escarole soup as well. The ravioli with the lemon and shrimp has already been duplicated in my kitchen since I got home.

Room Tip: All the rooms are surely wonderful
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BellaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frasil13, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Bellevue Syrene, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words and we were really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Bellevue Syrene.We're delighted that we were able to look after you so well and that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit like our famous "Club Lounge" and room facilities.
We very much look forward to welcoming your family back soon.
(What a pity for you and your sons, just few day later your stay thanks to the warmer temperature than usual we've already opened our private beach for season...)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Bellevue Syrene with a small-group tour in October, and I was highly impressed with this gorgeous hotel: The staff was wonderful and the hotel was clean and lovely (each common room more beautiful than the next)! What really makes this hotel stand apart, however, are the views of the Bay of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius. So beautiful and romantic! You can sit outside on the large verandah and have a cocktail at sunset. My room had a small balcony directly over the ocean. This hotel really is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in, and the service is first class!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4everwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

The Bellevue Syrene is truly what you call a first class hotel: immaculate service, spacious rooms and well appointed with great views.

The hotel has been completely refurbished and although it is in classic surroundings, you never get the stuffy feeling that sometimes comes with classic hotels. The design is light, quirky and stylish and immediately puts you in the holiday mood.

The hotel offers a complimentary lunch buffet of sweet and savoury snacks and drinks, and in the evening an apero buffet. A great extra!

This is certainly a hotel we would return to and recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FergieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
966 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Syrene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Syrene

Address: Piazza della Vittoria 5, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $397 - $1,060 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellevue Syrene 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellevue Syrene is a 5* boutique hotel in peak of the sea, overlooking the bay of Sorrento. It is a charming house with ancient frescoes, in the historical centre of Sorrento. A spa and a private solarium on the water are available. Romantic terrace restaurant during summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bellevue Syrene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Syrene Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing