We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Immaculate small hotel with great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #76 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Immaculate small hotel with great location”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I judge hotels on how clean they are and how friendly. This hotel is immaculate. I felt at home the moment I entered my allotted room. Very clean. Massimo collected me in the shuttle bus from the drop off point and took my case right to my room. He refused a tip which I found really refreshing. Sweet man. Bit disconcerting being told your check out time on arrival but maybe they think you will not ask. This is such a small hotel that they know your room number before you ask for the key. I had read some bad comments about the breakfast at the hotel. Cannot understand this unless you expect an English breakfast. I have travelled extensively in Italy and what we received was the usual: breakfast cereals, boiled eggs, different cooked breakfast each morning, fresh fruit, cakes, toast, yogurts,croissants, meats. What more do you need? Valentina is a star member of staff who works so hard keeping all the items stocked on the breakfast buffet, tidying up and still a lovely smile for the patrons.
The night porter was another lovely member of staff and always happy to see you. Really sorry he was not working the last night as I wanted to say thank you. Hope his Roma team do well this year.
The location of this hotel is ideal. Just a short walk to the ferry and centre of town. I would advise a garden room as the street can be noisey on a night time. The garden is very clean but gets little sun and needs some citronella candles for the insects.
I found it inconvenient not having anywhere to sit out and sunbathe until a guest told me about the sister hotel Ascot where you could use their pool. I thought this should have been something the staff informed you about. Unfortunately the site of the building means the sun disappears at 2pm so just a short day by the pool. But it is free. The small balcony at the Astoria had the same issue.
If you are out on tours all day it will make no difference to you.
My only issue with this hotel was they had no courtesy room on the last day. I had to check out at 10am and had no where to change before my pick up at 5pm. Meaning I had to take a clothes change to a local restaurant to prepare for my flight. This made the last day a little awkward.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms. Nice lift to upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amandahep15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    115
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
29
142
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Astoria is in an excellent location, just 2 minutes walk from the main piazzo and less that 1 minute from the Corso Italia. There are dozens of bars and restaurants around the hotel.

The rooms are small, but have very comfortable beds and are exceptionally clean. We had a garden room with a balcony and this was very quiet both during the day and at night.

Breakfast as is pointed out in a lot of other reviews is of a poor standard. There is no fresh orange juice and coffee is dispensed from a machine. The selection of warm food consisted of scrambled eggs and bacon but to be honest this looked very unappetising so i didn't even attempt to try it.

The hotel staff are efficient, not overly friendly, but not rude either.

The Astoria is rated as 4 star but i would disagree with this - I'd say its a 3 star. It doesn't have the levels of luxury, service or breakfast I would associate with a 4 star hotel. Thats not to say its bad in any way, iI would highly recommend staying here, but I felt the star rating was optimistic.

There is no pool at the hotel however residents can use the pool at the ascot hotel, which is about a 10 minute walk away. The pool at the ascot is in shade most of the day but is sunny in the morning and is a nice pool which was quiet on the 2 occasions we visited.

Overall I would recommend the Astoria, as long as a great breakfast isn't important to you. I would stay here again is visiting Sorrento. I donlt think there is a better located Hotel in the town!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCreelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Spotless hotel decorated with colourful Italian tiles. Rooms are compact, modern and have excellent bathrooms. My room had a balcony which was east facing and enjoyed glorious morning sunshine. The breakfast was good with a choice of fruit, cereals, scrambled egg and toast. The location of the hotel, in a pedestrian street right in the town centre, could not be better - excellent. Overall great value for money.

Room Tip: 402, 403, 404 all have nice balconies, are on the top floor - served by lift - great view over the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sowelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norofolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Hotel astoria was in a prime position in the heart of the old town of sorrento. We were allocated on arrival so we were very pleased. Everything is on your doorstep, near the harbour, bus and train. You come out of your hotel to the busy shops in narrow roads, plenty of churches and a theatre. The hotel itself was very friendly, there were only 8 of us for half board the rest of the people were bed and breakfast, on the last night the hotel laid on transport and we were taken to a lovely resturant in the mountains of sorrento. The food was typicaly Italian and was very good. The bedroom and bathroom were decorated well. No one stayed in the hotel during the evenings as everything was on your doorstep. You could use the swimming pool at the sister hotel, the Hotel Ascot. which was only 5 to 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: We had room 102 which overlooked the garden with wicker armchairs and settees and table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorofolkCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are just back from two weeks in this Hotel. It is very clean and the staff of eager to help. The breakfast was very poor and boring. We booked a garden room with twin beds a year ago, but were given a street room view with a double bed.When we asked to change we were told all garden rooms were full, however we are aware that at least 4 were empty.
Despite this, the Hotel is in a great location and the room was adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a great place to stay with friendly staff and kept to a good clean standard.
Located very centrally in Sorrento so getting out and about Via Sea, Ferries etc is not a problem at all.Also only a walk away from the Train station so all round very handy.
Also a great Italian resturant right next door-well worth a look-great food and not too expensive.
Go for the Hotel Astoria!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

great location-poor food/breakfast but again location amazing central claen hotel good facliities would stay there again but would eat out or else bring as we did locally sourced food to our breakfasts!

Helpful?
2 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#49 of 100 in Sorrento
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ascot
Hotel Ascot
#63 of 100 in Sorrento
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Corso
Hotel del Corso
#67 of 100 in Sorrento
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#15 of 100 in Sorrento
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Via Santa Maria delle Grazie 24, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Astoria is in the heart of the historical centre of Sorrento, just a few minutes walk from the main square, the port and the railway station and is surrounded by narrow, cobbled streets, unique to this old part of town which is the hub of everyday activity here. The friendly atmosphere, courteous staff and a long family tradition in hospitality combine to make your stay at the Hotel Astoria enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing