We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2006

We booked our holiday at the Ambasciatori based on Trip Advisr reviews, and in general we were not disappointed.

It's postion, 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento, and on the edge of the cliff overlooking the sea, Capri, ischia, naples and vesuvius is perfect.

Rooms and facilities are excellent, and the staff are friendly and very efficient.

Meals in the evening were first class, but not so good was the Grand Barbeque and Buffet on the tuesday (a bit disorganised, with people jumping queues for the food).

Breakfasts adequate, albeit range was limited for a hotel of this class.

Nevertheless, overall a great hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    253
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
293
874
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2006

There is no doubt the location of the hotel is superb and views from it are breathtaking. Close enough to the centre of town, yet far enough away to be undisturbed by excessive noise.
Our hints & tips...
Rooms: absolutely get a full or partial sea view - it's well worth the extra money
Eating: we stayed half board. breakfasts pretty average, evening meals really well presented, varied and good quality. Wine & drinks matching UK restauarant prices. If you want extra to eat, try the little bar across the road - very welcoming with good snacks and prices.
Service: OK. Pleasant enough, nothing spectacular, but they're all polite, professional and good english speakers
Highlight: the weekly al fresco candle-lit dining event in the sunset from across the Bay of Naples is beautifully presented and a magical experience not to be missed
Mobility: having seen the difficulties experienced by wheelchair / pushchair users getting around on the pavements outside of the hotel and the different levels within it, wouldn't have thought it was particularly wheels friendly
Out and about: Sorrento itself, Pompeii, Vesuvius, Capri, Ischia, Amalfi coast are all covered by other reviewers, but just remember that if you go August time ( and the books don't always prepare you for it) try to pace your visits as it is hot, crowded and tiring but overall well worth it. Oh and don't forget the Italians don't do queues!!
Overall: a good traditional 4 star hotel that trades on its location as its way of setting itself apart from the competition

  • Liked — Al fresco dining with the sunset over the Bay of Naples as the backdrop
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a sea view!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank croakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2006

I liked the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and had an excellent holiday in Sorrento.

Plus points
1) Excellent location with lovely views over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Ten minutes walk from Sorrento's main square.
2) Good breakfasts
3) Great bathing deck in the sea
4) Quiet room

Negatives
1) Fairly expensive for what it is e.g bathrooms are fairly basic, grounds are a little unkempt, pool is small. However I think this is probably a reflection of the cost of hotel rooms on the Amalfi Coast rather than the hotel being overly pricey.

Good things to do.

1) Go to Amalfi/Positano on the SITA bus - only costs €1.30 to Positano and the service was very efficient. Catch the bus from the train station in Sorrento and get tickets from the shop in the station (don't get tickets from the green railway carriage in front of the station as they only sell packages e.g bus ticket and lunch in Amalfi for €30 which struck me as being a rip off).

2) Go to Pompeii on the train - approx €2.60 return. Takes about half an hour and service is efficient. Again you can buy tickets from the shop or ticket office on the first floor of the station (ignore the green railway carriage which only sells packages).

3) Eat out in Sorrento - lots of lovely restaurants e.g Photo (between the hotel and the main square), Caruso (just off main square). Check the bill carefully though - an extra €20 charge mysteriously appeared on our bill one night

4) Visit Capri - however always very crowded. Bus services around the island are excellent.

  • Liked — Views, pool deck
  • Disliked — Price!
  • Tips/Secrets — I recommend a room with a sea view or partial sea view.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank London1666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2006

Just back from a fortnight in this hotel. A very pleasant experience. Double room with balcony - very clean and spacious. Loads of room for unpacking and daily use. Room cleaned every day. Beds changed every third day.

Highs:
(i) The pontoon (called the beach area), built over sea-water with over 70 sunbeds/umbrellas. Lunches there very tasty and the whole area very clean and well-serviced;
(ii) The breakfast. Excellent, loads of choice, pastries particularly good!
(iii) The Reception staff. Most helpful and friendly. Very very welcoming - genuinely nice people.

Lows:
(i) The breakfast coffee. Not at all nice. They seem to make it early in the morning and when you ask for it, it is brought to you cold - and not a nice flavour.
(ii) The fuss made of the extended family of the owners of the hotel. They take HOURS to get themselves organised to go on a boat trip and you should see the amount of stuff they take with them. It is a long-drawn-out affair played out right in front of the clients of the hotel (some of whom feel that they are paying for the fabulous boat and luxuries!!) - all the fuss and bother with staff running up and down looking after them. Also, their children sometimes come down to the pontoon area with their nannies and the noise of their remote-control boat on the water is a bit loud.

Hotel is fifteen minutes' steady walk to main square in Sorrento town. However, if you want to take the bus just walk outside hotel, turn left and bus arrives every fifteen minutes. Note, though, that you must have your ticket in advance. Tickets can be bought in any tobacconist in the town: 1 euro per ticket (you must ask for 'internal tickets'). Transport very good - we never used a taxi even once during the fortnight.

Despite the two 'lows', however, we will definitely return to this hotel - a very very nice holiday. Memorable.

  • Liked — Pontoon area over sea-water with over 70 sunbeds/umbrellas and snack bar
  • Disliked — Coffee in the restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — buy bus tickets in tobacconists for 'internal' trips - one euro each and have them in your pocket at all times
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank An-tUidhrineach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2006

Me and my partner (of 4 months) took our first holiday at this hotel, we were not disappointed even though 1 week cost us nearly £2k.

The first room that we were given (which had been upgraded by paying in the UK) was only a partial sea view - so whilst we were there we changed rooms and upgraded again for approx £35 per night to a suite (401) it was beautiful and had the biggest balcony in the hotel!!!

The holiday was planned as a relaxing one - normally I run around sightseeing and not sitting still, but at this hotel we very rarely ventured out of the hotel as there was everything you needed there at a reasonable cost.

Trips to Capri, Pompeii etc were very cheap and can be organised direct as the train & port are not too far away.

It takes approx 10mins to walk in to the main square Tasso and there you will find Bars & shops.

We both had a fantastic time and would definitely go back to see Massimo & his team another year.

  • Liked — Staff were Fantastic
  • Disliked — Paying for Sunbeds on the private beach
  • Tips/Secrets — Definately book a suite if you can it is well worth the extra money.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayHonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

My wife and I have just returned from the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori having spent our 10 day honeymoon there from 10-20 July 2006. Before going I had read many reviews on here and had no doubts whatsoever that we were going to be staying in a top class hotel. When we arrived at the hotel we were checked in promptly and shown to our room. We had upgraded to a sea view room (classed as deluxe I think) and I'm glad we did. The views are breathtaking, really stunning. The room itself was big and pleasant enough, but I wouldn't class it as 4+ star. The bathroom was a bit of a let down in particular and would struggle to meet 3* in some countries I think. The balcony was small, but big enough for us to sit out on each evening. I can't help feeling some of the reviews on this website for this hotel are a wee bit over the top and generous. Maybe the beauty of Sorrento itself is helping people get carried away? I'm not sure. Either way I was a bit shocked and disappointed to find a hotel charging €260 per night for B&B would then charge us an additional €5 per day per sunbed. The overall impression I got was that everything was an add-on, the place seemed a tad greedy. For example we ordered two glasses of beer one evening to enjoy on the balcony. Not only were we charged almost €5 per glass, but then an additional €4 for someone to bring it upstairs. Is this the norm? Does a 4* hotel charge extra for room service? We ate in the hotel restaurant only once. I found it to be vastly overpriced for what it was and can only assume you're paying a premium for the views across the bay. There are plenty of fantastic restaurants to be found in the side streets of Sorrento that offer nicer food at a fraction of the cost.

Overall the hotel is nice enough, but I can't understand all the huge fuss made over it myself. And having stayed in beautiful hotels all over the world this one wouldn't even make my top 5. The staff were friendly enough, but again, only what you'd expect from a 4* hotel. Don't let this review put you off going, but don't expect the world!

  • Liked — View of Bay of Naples
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Villegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2006

Finished our trip to Italy at the Ambasciatori- we booked a standard room and were given a room on the side of the hotel which still offered wonderful views of the bay. The room was light and airy and very comfortable; just like the remainder of the hotel. The pool and gardens were very pleasant, and there was plenty of seating if you did not want to pay for a sunbed. The staff were excellent- very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We only had a bed and breakfast arrangement and the choice at breakfast was superb. We spoke to guests who were half board and they were full of praise for the evening meals. Unfortunately the one night we ate in the hotel, the menu was less than inspiring and the meal wasn't brilliant but I think that was a one off. Its about a 10 minute walK from the centre but we were glad to get away from the bustle of Sorrento. The views from the hotel terrace and restaurant were exceptional - to sit every morning and look out over the bay was delightful.

  • Liked — views over the Bay
  • Disliked — evening meal
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Whitleylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing