We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2006

My wife and I have just returned from the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori having spent our 10 day honeymoon there from 10-20 July 2006. Before going I had read many reviews on here and had no doubts whatsoever that we were going to be staying in a top class hotel. When we arrived at the hotel we were checked in promptly and shown to our room. We had upgraded to a sea view room (classed as deluxe I think) and I'm glad we did. The views are breathtaking, really stunning. The room itself was big and pleasant enough, but I wouldn't class it as 4+ star. The bathroom was a bit of a let down in particular and would struggle to meet 3* in some countries I think. The balcony was small, but big enough for us to sit out on each evening. I can't help feeling some of the reviews on this website for this hotel are a wee bit over the top and generous. Maybe the beauty of Sorrento itself is helping people get carried away? I'm not sure. Either way I was a bit shocked and disappointed to find a hotel charging €260 per night for B&B would then charge us an additional €5 per day per sunbed. The overall impression I got was that everything was an add-on, the place seemed a tad greedy. For example we ordered two glasses of beer one evening to enjoy on the balcony. Not only were we charged almost €5 per glass, but then an additional €4 for someone to bring it upstairs. Is this the norm? Does a 4* hotel charge extra for room service? We ate in the hotel restaurant only once. I found it to be vastly overpriced for what it was and can only assume you're paying a premium for the views across the bay. There are plenty of fantastic restaurants to be found in the side streets of Sorrento that offer nicer food at a fraction of the cost.

Overall the hotel is nice enough, but I can't understand all the huge fuss made over it myself. And having stayed in beautiful hotels all over the world this one wouldn't even make my top 5. The staff were friendly enough, but again, only what you'd expect from a 4* hotel. Don't let this review put you off going, but don't expect the world!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Villegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,314 - 1,320 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2006

Finished our trip to Italy at the Ambasciatori- we booked a standard room and were given a room on the side of the hotel which still offered wonderful views of the bay. The room was light and airy and very comfortable; just like the remainder of the hotel. The pool and gardens were very pleasant, and there was plenty of seating if you did not want to pay for a sunbed. The staff were excellent- very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We only had a bed and breakfast arrangement and the choice at breakfast was superb. We spoke to guests who were half board and they were full of praise for the evening meals. Unfortunately the one night we ate in the hotel, the menu was less than inspiring and the meal wasn't brilliant but I think that was a one off. Its about a 10 minute walK from the centre but we were glad to get away from the bustle of Sorrento. The views from the hotel terrace and restaurant were exceptional - to sit every morning and look out over the bay was delightful.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Whitleylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2006

My husband and I have just returned after a 1 week stay at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and it is a holiday that we will not forget in a hurry- the hotel and staff were just excellent, honestly you could not find a fault with either! We would love to be going back soon- maybe next year... You are made to feel so welcome and all of the staff are so well trained, friendly and speak really good English. The breakfast each morning was so delicious with so much to choose from- there was even champagne on offer! Unless we were away to Capri or the Amalfi coast for a trip we always ate our lunch at the hotel, beside the pool which was excellent and plenty of variety to choose from. Each evening we dined at the hotel which was also excellent. It is hard to imagine before you visit just how breathtaking the views are of the bay of Naples- and when staying at the Ambasciatori you can just look at it any time- we felt really lucky to be staying in a hotel with such a good view. The pool area was really lovely and close by there were plenty of shaded terraces to cool off in for a while and read a book with a lovely cappuccino. How ideal. The bar staff in particular stood out to me as they always seemed to be there and were so pleasant. We had a room at the front right of the hotel which was lucky as we actually had two balconies and one had a side view which looked over the pool and onto the sea- Room 621.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LornaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2006

We are two very seasoned travellers in our 50s and we stayed at the Hotel Ambasciatori for 7 nights (half board) from 30/6 -7/7/06. We have stayed in 3 star recently and 4 and 5 star deluxe many times worldwide - all have been superb. We booked this one in preference to others based on the excellent feedback.

It would be kind to describe this hotel as ordinary. OK it has nice views, Ok the interior is decorated in the style of a pseudo-renaissance italian middle class home. What it doesn't do is service or good food. Our room safe didn't work on arrival and still remained unfixed after 4 days and reception were totally unconcerned. The menus are interesting, but the reality is indifferent luke-warm, basic and unappetising in the extreme. Waiting times for tables we understand, but to be seated and then forgotten for 40 minutes and then have the wrong wines brought to table is outrageous. This was'nt the forst time service had been extremely slow. However many people were repeat guests and were content with this, unbelievably. We dined in excellent, but expensive, restaurants for 4 of the 7 nights, thus paying twice for our food.

We voiced our views to reception and to our rep - nada, naturally. The manager came to ask about the problems while we waited for the return taxi to the airport in the last minute of our last day!

By all means stay here if you are prepared to accept these major flaws, but don't forget there are loads and loads of good alternative places on the Amalfi coast. As for us it was so bad its almost put us off Italy altogether.

Hope this helps and apologies for the negativity but it may stop you wasting a couple of grand. Did I say grand? This hotel certainly doesn't live up to that adjective.

4  Thank MIdastouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2006

Great Hotel - would go back any time. The room was immaculate. Plenty of space for the three of us.
Great breakfasts. My son especially loved the made to order crepes.
Lunches were pretty good as well - didn't try the dinners.

A couple of tips.
The island of Capri is well worth a visit. Get the hydrofoil from Marina Piccola. Try to get an early departure and come back as late as possible as there's plenty to see. The little busses which go round the island are good fun.
Take the train to both Pompeii and Herculaneum. You will get there much quicker and it will save you loads of money. If you are a teacher from the E.U. take proof e.g. your union membership card - you will get it for half price. Children from the E.U. get in free.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KES3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2006

Yes the reviews on this site really can be believed. Here is a 4 star hotel that deserves more. Decor; service;staff;entertainment and above all food, were of a consistently high standard throughout our weeks' stay through Magic of Italy.

The pool area is excellent, but the private lift down to the bathing "jetty" was like something out of 007 and pure luxury, complete with bar.

If I had to temper all this enthusiasm, it would be with a couple of minor points - yes it does cost 5euros a day to hire a sun bed, but hotels in much of the Med and Canaries do the same. But there are plenty of other chairs!

Our room although palatial, was on the front of the hotel and the busy road meant that the balcony was not really a place to sit and relax. ( Excellent sound insulation and air con though meant no sleep lost)

Secondly, this hotel is just far enough from the town centre to make a walk in the heat of the day a bit of an irritation and the traffic/noise fumes can be wearing.

Do try the service bus to Amalfi via Positano - super trip - get the boat back to calm down!
Also try the strange little cafe/bar at the sports field almost opposite the hotel for a snack lunch and a litre of local wine for just 4.50 Euros!

Super place.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lbrccso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2006

We stayed four nights at the Ambasciatori and could not have asked for a more beautiful location. The rooms are nice, on the large size for Europe, and everything was spotless. The staff was unfailingly helpful and solicitious. I was very disappointed in the food, especially the two dinners we had in the relatively pricey restaurant. The only really good food we had was the pizza in the poolside restaurant. I would recommend staying, just not eating, on the property.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $235 - $689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing