We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
bedford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

A wonderful location to celebrate our golden wedding anniversary year and staying at a lovely hotel. All aspects of the hotel met our expectations, beautifully furnished and decorated, very clean, great views. I also mention the friendly staff - very approachable and helpful especially Filippo, Gennaro and Evalinda. Eating out was great - many restaurants to choose from. L'Abate and Fuoro are good. II Leone Rosso is less expensive but value for money. Capri/Annacapri a must but best to make your own arrangements. Buy your ferry tickets day before and take an early boat - start at 8.10am.
sweetieBedford

Room Tip: Travelled with Thomson. Top floor side sea view and garden room which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetieBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

thank you for your nice comment and for having chosen Grand Hotel Ambasciatori as special destination to celebrate your golden wedding anniversary. We are glad you appreciated so many aspects of our hotel and in particular the service provided from our passionate staff, the food and rooms décor.

Thank you again for your choice and we do hope to have soon a chance to welcome you back in Sorrento.

With kind regards,

Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    253
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
293
874
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have just returned from two weeks staying at this amazing hotel!! We were lucky enough to stay in room 103!!!! Divine, wonderful with our own beautiful spa overlooking the bay of naples!!!! We adored every second!! The staff were ALL exceptional!!!! From breakfast to dinner joyous welcoming and perfection in a comfortable way!!! Sorrento as a base is a perfect choice to see the Amalfi coast!! All easy access via boat or road to Positano, Capri ! Anna Capri and Amalfi!! Still having the beautiful sorrento and it's glorious restaurants and lane ways to enjoy each day!!! Magnifico!!!! Would return tomorrow!!! Thankyou all at ambascatoiri!!!! We shall return!!!!!

Room Tip: We would advise a sea view!!! Room 401 was wonderful but 402 had a fabulous larger balcony!!! Both h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter and Heath... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

It is an immense pleasure to receive your nice comment. Many thanks for your kind words, a real motivation to keep on doing what we do every day with more and more passion. We are very glad you enjoyed our new Suite with the jacuzzi on the private terrace with sea view.

We look forward to welcoming you soon for another unforgettable stay.

With kind regards,

Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have just returned from our sixth visit to this hotel and the experience was still fantastic. From the staff at reception to the staff in the restaurant, bar staff and the maids, the politeness and friendliness excel. This without doubt is our favourite hotel anywhere. Our room was with a sea view with a stunning outlook. With a beautiful garden and superb food, there is nothing more you could wish for. Mr & Mrs Braithwaite

Room Tip: A premier sea view room is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Braithwaite,

We wish to thank you for your wonderful feedback.
We are honored to be your favorite hotel and delighted to read on how you appreciate the professionalism and helpfulness of our staff. We are very glad as well to know that our standards meet your expectations and that's why you return to visit us so often.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon in Sorrento!

Warm regards,

Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We are regulars at this hotel, wherever we go around the world it's always 'why are we not at the Ambasciatori' This year was no exception. The sevice stadard on the deck was well below standard but the manager is aware and I have no doubt do somthing about it. The standards throughout the hotel are still great, staff, food, accomodation etc.

Room Tip: Side sea view I think represent the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear valued guest,

thank you for your kind words. The satisfaction of our guests is really important to us and see you are returning every year means a lot to us. We carefully read your comment and took good note of the service inefficiencies provided down the beach which we immediately dealt with, in order to keep our standards as high as possible.

The whole team at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards,

Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Hotel was excellent , very clean, good food and friendly staff, however the reception staff were not very approachable or very welcoming They had made a mistake over our Lunch and evening meal, but rather than apologise or informing us first ,they still gave us the Lunch voucher and then charged us after we thought this was included which rather amused them,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

My second stay and I was not disappointed. The Staff, service, room's (get a sea view they are stunning), view, location, I could go on and on.

The location is perfect just a short stroll in to the main square.

A little tip I read on TA the first time I went there is a great snack bar opposite the for a break at lunch times and to stretch your legs. Cannot fault the place and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1999_Treble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

thank you for finding the time to write and share your review on Tripadvisor.
It was nice to welcome you back and we genuinely feel privileged to be your favorite hotel ever!
We can’t wait to have you back for your third stay at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori!

With best regards,

Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed 6 nights in june, booked a premier room. The location of the hotel is perfect, with amazing panoramic view over Bay of Naples to Vesuvio. Room was very clean with elegant decor, just as the rest of the hotel. Staff was courteous and helpful in every way, with good english skills. Delicious morning buffet, evening meals excellent with the possibility to enjoy a spectacular sunset. Privat beach area was definitely a plus. A minor criticism was that aircondition in the night couldn't cool sufficiently.
All in all highly recommended.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra expense to book a room with sea side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fretho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

many thanks for the marvelous review. It is always great to hear when our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. As a service oriented company, the satisfaction of our guests is top priority and we are really happy we managed to exceed your expectations especially for the great service provided, beautiful location and facilities, tasty breakfast and meals.

The whole team at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori are looking forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing