We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
$374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Magi House Relais(Sorrento)
$235
$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$298
$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$337
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$307
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Miramare(Sorrento)
$279
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$414
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$779
$736
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$428
$402
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
$289
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,628)
Filter reviews
1,628 results
Traveler rating
1,242
284
63
24
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,242
284
63
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewthe cliffbay of naplesbeach barbathing platformprivate beachhotel groundssmall balconylovely hotelour honeymoonten minute walksun deckamazing viewshalf boardtown centrejunior suiteevery evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
825 - 830 of 1,628 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The two of us spent a week here 5-12 August for a special birthday (booked through Citalia).
We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel in particular having the private beach decks and the beautiful gardens so in lovely relaxing surroundings. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful just the right amount - not too intrusive We had a room on the top floor which are attic rooms with narrow balcony (wide enough for table and 2 chairs) and gorgeous views of the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. I would say to take you own hair dryer as the one supplied fixed to the wall in the bathroom is old fashioned and you had to keep your finger on the button pressed in for it to work. Also I would have liked a kettle in the room and an iron which I thought were standard these days but obviously. Breakfasts were fine with plenty of choice. We ate at the hotel for the buffet night do which was an enjoyable evening on the beautiful terrace surrounded by gardens and flowers and the food was good this night and when we ate in the restaurant one evening. It is very tempting to while away time in the hotel since it is so lovely but it is only a ten minute walk into town. I would stay again and look forward to it.

Room Tip: It was wonderful to have a sea view room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Everything about this hotel is designed to ensure that you have a wonderful holiday. Friendly and helpful staff, great restaurant, beautiful surroundings within the hotel and throughout the attractive gardens make this hotel very special. Breathtaking views of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius and just a short stroll to the centre of Sorrento. The first of many future visits!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.

Our location is indeed a valuable asset, a short walk from the town, while being away from the hustle and bustle; thanks also for your kind remarks about the Restaurant , and the Staff,
We are already looking forward to your next visit

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a superb hotel. The staff is just amazing. Very clean hotel. Location is perfect.

There is just nothing wrong, it is paradise.

Sorrento downtown is a 10 minutes walk. Close to many restaurants, terrasse.

Breakfast buffet is great, plenty of choices and food is very good.

Very nice dinner area for evening with the Vesuvio right in front

Thank you so much for the great memories !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Campagnaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Mr Campagnaro,

Grazie Grazie Grazie, for the nice review, and for the kind words towards our Staff.
We are glad to be part of your good memories, and hope you 'll come back again.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

stayed at this hotel for our 30th wedding anniversary, it was amazing!!!! the hotel, staff and location were absolutely fantasctic, the hotel is everything you would hope for and the staff could not do enough to help you and were the most pleasant people you coild meet.
We travelled to Rome, Pompei, The Amalfi Coast and Capri and also enjoyed all their bus, train and coach routes using the hotel has a base.
The local restaurants and shopping facilities are very, very good and easy walking distance from the hotel and so is the harbour, a definate must is the little lanes for all kinds of shopping and gifts and is a must and even more unique at night. Pricing is good and not too expensive.
This town is definately a must and so is the hotel.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms give the most scenic views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Guests

We are glad to be now part of your good memories and that you enjoyed your first visit to Sorrento and to the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.
Thank you, for reporting that the Ambasciatori is an excellent hotel.
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.
We really look forward to welcoming you again,
kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Sixth visit and still in love with this hotel

Positioned over looking the Bay of Naples
Flights from mainland UK to Naples
If you travel direct you can get a bus from outside the airport to Sorrento.
Around 10 Euros each.
This stops outside the station and you will need to get a cab to the hotel
Taxis are expensive for what is a short ride at costs around 15-18 Euro’s
Alternatively get a bus from the airport to the port and you can take a Hydrofoil across the bay to Sorrento harbor/port
Bus is around 4 euro’s each and the crossing is around 20 euro’s plus charge for cases at around 25 euro each.
You will need to get a cab to the hotel again around 20 Euros’

This year we booked our holiday with Thomas Cook
rather than direct for the first time.
This was great value, and made some savings.
Travelled from Gatwick 8.40am, which was better than our normal early flight from Stan stead. Coach was included from the airport and it dropped us outside the hotel.
We had made a saving on the overall holiday and were able to choose a garden view;

I would recommend a sea view for your first visit.

The hotel upgraded us to room 709,
I can’t tell you what a beautiful room this was, overlooking the gardens and sea with a fantastic balcony.

Thank you so much

We always stay bed and breakfast and this is always excellent standard of service and presentation, Ommellte cooked to your order with a variety of cereals, fruit, bacon, and quality juices.

There are various options lunchtime and we sometimes take lunch on the sea deck area, big thanks to John Franco

We always travel in August and this year we found all areas of Sorrento quieter than others years, it was extra hot and a little humid this year, 31 degrees one night at 11pm, lovely for eating out.

There is a pool area, small but ample which has a nice shaded restaurant, the staff are brilliant,.
I have seen comments to date saying it’s a little expensive, but I find it good value.

Walk into town at night and try and get to a section overlooking the bay around 7.50pm as the sun sets its special.
There are many good restaurants around the town square,
I found this year that some of the better are operating table booking for the better tables, be smart and book if you find a restaurant you like.

We spend a week, don’t hold back on water and drinks throughout the day on the sea decking area. Light lunch and some wine, cocktails, and coffees when we gat back to the hotel this year because of our lovely balcony had a few drinks from the mini bar, our food and drink bill for two for the week came to 600 euro’s

So sixth year and have decided to book again next year

I only hope if we go with Thomas Cook again we can talk management into giving us room 709 again

So thanks again all the staff and management at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Room Tip: Room 709 best room we have had by far
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bostonwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review and for returning to the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori for your holidays.
We are glad you enjoyed your time here: from the very comfortable rooms which offer you a breathtaking view all over the Naples bay, to our lovely gardens, swimming pool and sunbathing area, which are the best places to relax and have a unforgettable time.
It’s a pleasure to see you did also enjoy our high-quality food and found the Staff polite and helpful.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon,
warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews