We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare beauty.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A rare beauty.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A small splurge for our honeymoon. Staff was wonderful, grounds were exquisite, food and drink were excellent and the views were breathtaking! The hotel was about a 3/4 mile walk to the main town, but well worth the walk. We went to Sorrento during high season, but were met with peace and quiet during our stay. We could easily venture into town everyday.
The rooms were beautiful, I would recommend splurging and going for a partial sea view. We were able to see the cruise ships roll in and out everyday.
Breakfast was delicious. We sat in the outdoor/indoor terrace every morning. We arrived on a Thursday and decided to stay on site for the buffet dinner, well worth it!

Room Tip: Get at least a partial sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacey t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are extremely happy that your experience at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori exceeded your expectations and we really look forward to welcoming you again,
kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    251
    57
    23
    14
See reviews for
292
870
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting overlooking the Bay of Naples. The staff are very helpful and friendly and all areas of the hotel are spotlessly clean. There are 2 good bathing areas (a pool and a bathing platform into the sea) with plenty sun beds and umbrellas with towels provided, no need to rush down in the morning to book a bed. The breakfast buffet was wonderful - hot and cold selections. There was even a chef who cooked your eggs fresh - fried, scrambled, omelette or pancakes. It is quite a walk into the centre of town but it is all on the flat.If you want a quiet relaxing holiday with a good view and helpful friendly staff this is the place for you.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank suzan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review,
we are glad to know you liked and enjoyed all our facilities; from the vivid pool area to the relaxing bathing platform and the breakfast buffet, we alway do our best to suit every palate.
We hope to welcome you again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I cannot fault this hotel it was absolutely beautiful. The gardens, location, food, staff, rooms were all outstanding and it was an absolute pleasure to come back to this hotel after a long day of sight seeing.

Room Tip: We had a garden/sea view balcony room which was much better than the rooms that look over the road s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hejb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your nice review, your pleasure is our greatest satisfaction.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Looking forward to organising a return holiday to the same hotel and location. Next time perhaps we shall visit Capri and Pompei, but this time enjoyed staying around the hotel relaxing and walking into Sorrento town. Thank you to all at the hotel for such a wonderful time, as nothing was a bother. The food was exquisite Italian cuisine accompanied by delicious Italian wine. Enjoy your stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 704george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for your enthusiasm.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A guide told us that some hotels are built upon cliffs some 50 metres high! The Ambasciatori is somewhere near that ! We stayed on the top floor , which is 3 levels above the ground floor . There are 4 levels below, then a huge drop to the bathing platform, accessed by lift. Room 708 is a remarkable standard double room, with a dual aspect balcony and larger than similar rooms on that floor. The views were spectacular from the room/balcony. On one side was the pool, gardens and busy port, while immediately from the room was Vesuvius and the very active Med. Indeed, we woke up on 4 occasions to find large cruise ships anchored some 100 metres from our balcony doors. So dramatic ! Also there were numerous firework displays from sea platforms at night , we thought linked to weddings in the many hotels . This was the first time we had watched such displays where we were higher than the rockets exploding around us.
Essentially the hotel is not geared to children, with a small pool and protected sea bathing area of about 2 metres depth. No children s entertainment was provided , excellent for older clients who prefer a quieter sunbathing experience . Sadly , the table tennis table did not exist and the dartboard was damaged.
The location was ideal for us as we like a slow walk to town. We timed it at about a 20 minute stroll .The opportunities to shop are vast and the Tuesday market large and accessible. The port to take the numerous boat trips on offer was expensive to reach by taxi, 20 euros, but the regular local buses which would stop outside the hotel and was just over 1 euro ! We also made a saving by using the jet ferry rather than an official trip to Capri , which left us in control of our arrival and departure to and from the island. So easy. We would also recommend taking the open bus tour , lasting just short of 2 hours. This swings you way outside the city and gives you a flavour of the Amalfi coast line and life in the surrounding countryside .
Finally the night time shopping and social activities are great . The lanes are an experience in themselves with an array of bars restaurants and quirky shops .
Enough ! Sorrento is an amazing place and I haven't even mentioned Vesuvius and Pompeii ! Don t miss that !

Room Tip: It is worth treating yourself to a room overlooking the Bay of Naples. Quiet at night and interesti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank djm_davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just got back from spending 10 nights at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori in Sorrento. We stayed at this hotel 5 years ago and were so impressed we wanted to return and we're so glad we did.
The staff were exceptional. They work very hard and yet always remain very friendly and courteous.
The hotel's décor is beautiful and they're facilities are great with both a pool next to the hotel and a pier stretching into the sea with plenty of sunbeds available.
One of the highlights of our stay was the food. We booked half board. The food was absolutely delicious and our evening meal was even served to us under silver domes with a stunning view of the bay of Naples and Vesuvius.
The hotel is in a great location, about a 10 minute walk from Sorrento where you can find some brilliant ice cream places (our favourite was bourgain villa).
One day we visited Pompeii, which we saw 5 years ago but wanted to see again. If you'd like to go, make sure you get there early. We got the train which got us there 5 minutes before it opened but by the time we'd walked to the ticket office we didn't need to wait. We spent about 2 and a half hours looking around, so we finished around 11am. As we were coming to the exit the queue to buy tickets was huge and in the sun! There is very little shelter in the site of Pompeii, but we did notice they had recently built a café towards the centre of the site.
Overall, our holiday was fantastic and very enjoyable! We'd definitely return again.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms have absolutely stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this lovely hotel, situated as it is in a prime site in Sorrento.From the minute you enter into the spacious, grand reception, you sense class. We had a side, garden view room overlooking the pool and with a glimpse of the sea, and it was spacious, very well equipped and kept immaculately clean by very efficient staff. The staff throughout were all equally as efficient.
For the Italian / Sorrento experience, we had the bed/ breakfast and generally found the options for breakfast to be lovely and in many cases it was sufficient to last through until dinner in the evening. Also the views over the bay and across to Vesuvius are breathtaking.
The setting for the pool is lovely and the gardens round about offer opportunities for some quiet and shaded moments, again with stunning views. The option of going down to the decking below should not be missed where you can continue the sun worshipping with a little breeze.
We were reluctant to do any of the organised trips, but did venture to Amalfi. We did this on a boat, and would recommend this because the best way of seeing the true beauty of both Amalfi and Positano is by approaching from the sea not dropping in after some scary bus ride.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room at the front overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank posinthornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
990 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
2,184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
2,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing