We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Spent 4 nights in a sea-facing room, following 3 nights in Rome. We had a delightful stay, staff very helpful, and the food was delicious. Glad we upgraded as the room was on a corner, plenty of space, and a lovely en-suite bath and shower. Everything worked, very tidy and fresh and clean. Electronic shutters which could be opened bed-side were a nice touch. Breakfast had plenty of choice and the evening restaurant had a warm atmosphere with far reaching views over the bay to Vesuvius. Food first rate although we only had one evening in the hotel as we like to explore the local towns. Easy walk into Sorrento for plenty of bars and eateries of a wide range in price and standards. Beach and pontoon very comfortable for resting with a bar for drinks and snacks. The pool seemed a little disappointing, but everywhere is tight on space in this region, and all the hotel pools looked rather small. We would love to go back, but rarely visit the same place twice!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the nice review ;
We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated the comfort of our rooms, the restaurant, the quality of our food, and the atmosphere offered by our hotel.
Thank you on behalf of our Staff and hopefully you'll be back for a second time.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have recently returned from a weeks stay at the The Ambasciatori and have nothing but praise for the hotel management and staff. It is an extremely professionally run hotel with standards of service that are sadly lacking in many 4 star hotels these days. Choice of room is very important as we had a beautiful recently refurbished full sea view room with an uninterrupted view across the Bay of Naples to Mount Versuvius. Unless you are on a strict budget avoid the rooms facing inland as I imagine they would suffer with traffic noise. Service around the pool and restaurant was first class and the restaurant experience could truly be described as ' Fine Dining ' All in all an excellent and memorable holiday

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Guest

We wish to thank you for choosing us, for sharing your positive experience with this review,
and most of all thank you from all the Staff for your nice words.

We hope to welcome you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just back after a fabulous week in The Ambasciatori Hotel in Sorrento. The staff are wonderful, the food brilliant. Above all- beach was fantastic. We want to go back now, but unfortunately reality beckons!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buadhach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori;
our Staff, our Restaurant and our beach are already waiting for your return to cuddle you once again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hotel Ambasciatori, May 24 – 28, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful hotels in Sorrento and the views are spectacular. An artist friend actually painted me a picture of the hotel from a photo after my first visit because I raved about it so much. But be very careful when booking this hotel. The description of a “superior” room states that there is a garden and partial sea view. That is what we had on our first visit and what I booked again for $400. per night. What we got was a room overlooking the next door pool, parking lot and a roadway. We were offered another larger room but with a worse view and told that only deluxe rooms had the garden/sea view. It was a huge disappointment. There have been other cuts and changes that have lowered the value of this hotel in my opinion. Last time we could sit at the window in the fabulous dining room at breakfast to enjoy the view. Now those tables are blocked and only available at dinner. The breakfast still offers a large selection but gone are the freshly baked assorted croissants, replaced by store bought sweets. The chafing dish items were cold by 8 am. Also gone is live music in the piano bar, except on Thursday nights, the fine linen hand towels and pansy boxes on the balconies. Small things but all are evidence of cutbacks even though the prices have almost doubled for the same time period over the past three years. Still a beautiful hotel but not the value it once was.

Room Tip: You need to book a deluxe room now to get the preferred garden/sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here for my wedding anniversary and loved it a week wasn't long enough!
The staff are attentive without being overbearing. Food lovely plenty of choice. Amazing views. Central enough to town centre without being too close as centre very busy but only a 10 minute wander with lovely views on the way.
The only thing I was disappointed with was the pool was absolutely freezing but I assume at the beginning of the season it hasn't had the chance to warm up and listening to guests at other hotels this seemed to be the case for most if the pools this time of year.
Would/will defiantly return to this hotel.
Rooms a good size. Plenty of wardrobe space. No irons or kettles provided (hotel said due to health & safety) so bring your own. The hotel does have a dry cleaning & ironing service and does have room service.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori with Trip Advisor Community and for writing such a lovely review.
We are glad to learn that you appreciated the courtesy and professionalism of our staff.

We hope you 'll be back soon
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I cannot praise this hotel enough. It is the second time I have stayed there and it more than lived up to expectations. The hotel staff were , without exception, helpful and friendly, the rooms clean and spacious and the view across the bay to Vesuvius outstanding. The hotel is a 10 minute level walk from the main square ,in a quiet location. The walk to the station , with trains to Pompey and Herculaneum, takes even less time.We had 3 evening meals in the hotel restaurant and were more than happy with the quality of the food and the price!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Customers' satisfaction is our main attitude and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our staff is so thankful for mentioning their attitude towards you during your stay.
We have appreciated all your positive comments on the hotel and we hope to see you soon at the “Ambasciatori”.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel by any standards. The rooms are large, spacious and spotlessly clean. The beds are comfortable and the small balcony is great to have a drink in the morning taking in the morning sun. You pay extra for different views, but ours, which overlooked the adjacent hotel was fine given that it was a basic room. Wifi is free and fairly good quality when it works. We had one day when it was down 'due to an external issue'. Staff are super attentive, friendly and courteous. The manager keeps a very close eye on things and makes sure that those annoying little Italian issues that crop up every single day in Italy, don't affect the clockwork running of this hotel. Actually, we didn't come across a single member of staff who was anything other than a complete pleasure. There was a real sense that all staff really and genuinely wanted to make our vacation very special.

There is a range of trips to book with a local agent. We went on two, one to Pompeii for half a day and the 'Amalfi drive select'. I used to work in tourism and they were both, honestly the best excursions I've ever been on and we're talking about hundreds here. Forget about booking through travel companies or doing it yourself, book through the hotel and you won't regret it.

There is a lido at the bottom of the cliff which is accessible via the lift next to the restaurant. Amazingly the lift cuts right through the cliff and there is a guy who looks after you down there if you want a drink, snack, towels etc.

The restaurant has an a la carte or fixed price menu. The a la carte is pretty good, but not fabulous and a little pricy for what you get. On the last night I had 4 large prawns which cost a whopping 22 euros. Very well cooked and fresh, but not enough. The chateaubriand is expensive for two, but very high quality and carved at the table. We had the fixed price menu on one day. Most people go for this and it is included in a sort of meal deal if you opt for 3 dinners. I forget what the deal is, but can't really see the sense in it because there are some really good restaurants not too far away. Try the Leone Rossi near the train station for a real treat and amazing sea food/pizzas and pastas. Anyway, the fixed price menu is OK, but we didn't think it was good enough to have more than once.

Overall though, Ambasciatori gets 5 stars for the excellent staff, spectacular views which are actually the best in Sorrento and the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobbyJBridlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambasciatori, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guests,

We are glad to know that you enyojed your stay and that we met your expectation,
Many thanks for spending your time to share your opinion and to describe so minutely and with such nice words, the room the location and the services.
We really hope to welcome again at the “Ambasciatori”
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $238 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing