We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
$430
$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $400/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Tonnarella(Sorrento)
$307
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
$424
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$482
$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$221
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
$507
$492
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$704
$543
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$475
$462
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$349
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $462/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$464
$444
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,697)
Filter reviews
1,697 results
Traveler rating
1,302
291
63
26
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,302
291
63
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewthe cliffbay of naplesbeach barbathing platformprivate beachhotel groundslovely hotelour honeymoonsmall balconyten minute walksun deckspectacular viewsevery eveninghalf boardwalk into townpublic areas
Filter
Updating list...
998 - 1,003 of 1,697 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon in August 2010. The staff were very attentive, especially the restaurant staff. Also the lido attendant was very helpful, and we spent most evenings perched on our balcony with an apperitif watching him tidy up his chairs and loungers. The views from the dining room could not be rivalled anywhere in the world. We did not use the pool area, but instead went to the lido area via the lift. We spent several days here when not sightseeing. The room was comfortable, clean, but a little tired. The food was especially good and the night buffet on the terrace was a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Lovely hotel with beautiful views and nice staff. Small pool which was not heated when we were there, but this did not detract significantly from our enjoyment of the hotel. Free wifi, nice clean rooms, good value. Had its own swimming area reach by lift or stairs. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank utanportsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Overview - My husband and I stayed at Ambasciatori for 4 nights in October. We stayed in a “Premier” room with a balcony overlooking the sea and would choose both this room and hotel if returning to Sorrento.

Room – the room was lovely, very bright, comfortable bed, great pillows (we took advantage of the pillow menu – terrific); the bathroom was nice, water pressure fair, nice to have a tub, good hairdryer. Both the bathroom and the bedroom were clean and of a good size, especially considering they were built into the side of a cliff. The balcony was stellar! If you can, definitely pay for a balcony room; it overlooks the “lagoon pool”, the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius and Naples in the background. The views are simply incredible. When we were in our room, we spent all our time out here, there was a nice table and 2 chairs; we brought snacks and drinks back from town to enjoy on the balcony many times. Absolutely stunning! There was a good mini fridge, free (fairly reliable) wifi and an automatic “darkening blind” over the window, great for sleeping in absolute darkness. No noise issues.

Service – very good mainly, especially at the front desk, the evening bar indoors and at the “lagoon pool”. I would say the service/staff had a higher end “hotel” vibe versus a very warm, staying with family vibe; perhaps a little chilly, but in a professional way. Good concierge service, made all our dinner and excursion reservations.

Amenities – great free breakfast including meat, cheese, fruit, pastries, cereal and omelets made to order and lovely indoor or outdoor dining area; the outdoor areas are beautiful, especially the sea area; the pool did need to be cleaned and it was very cold, but we were there in October, so maybe that would be better in the warmer months; pay parking very handy.

Location – the view from the side of the cliff is spectacular, this (and the sea pool) would be the reason we would stay again; it is a bit of a walk to the center of town, approximately 10 minutes, easy walk, pretty flat; the marina is the same, but then down quite a way to get to the water, this would be the same for the majority of the accommodations in town.

Other – the hotel itself is lovely, lots of places inside and outside to sit, relax and enjoy a cocktail, posh atmosphere, lacks a little warmth possibly and a bit pricey but the fabulous views outweigh everything!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunnydaze70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited Sorrento for our silver wedding anniversary and it was all we had hoped for. The hotel is beautiful inside and at mealtimes the view of Vesuvius and the bay of Naples was stunning! The staff were always helpful and pleasant. Sitting by the pool on the clifftop was idealic and again there were great views of the bay. It was lovely to be able to get the lift down to the private "beach" (decking) where we swam in the sea and then sat for a very pleasant lunch. Service was excellent. Totally perfect! We had half board and enjoyed all our meals which were varied and of a good standard. Our room was at the back (sea side) of the hotel and again the view was amazing. We had one of the lower level rooms and the room and bathroom seemed a little "tired" but comfortable and very clean. The hotel was located a pleasant 10 minute walk from the town centre. On our anniversary we took a fabulous cruise along the Amalfi coast - a great way to see this coast. We took public transport to Pompei which was easy. There was a fantastic Ice cream parlor in Sorrento which we visited daily!

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying for the sea view and balcony especially as this was our special anniversary.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here briefly during my trip in Italy while meeting some friends. The rooms were dated, but had a good amount of room which was great. The lobby was beautiful and had a scenic view of the water which made the morning breakfast a nice treat. The buffet was better than others we had in Italy which was nice. We spent one evening dining on the terrace (which is very pricey) with a private butler/waitor (whatever you want to call him). It was a great sunset experience overlooking the water that it was one of the best moments we had. The dessert was amazing. I really should upload some photos of this which I will try to do soon. Getting to the hotel we took a taxi which took only a few minutes, however, the drivers all charge the same amount no matter how far your hotel is from the train station. Overall, this was a nice place to stay while in Sorrento. It was close to downtown as we walked from our hotel into town and was nice not have to use a taxi.

Room Tip: Request view of the water.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveldoc555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews