We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - But !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good - But !”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from a two week holiday at the Grand Ambasciatori which having read the reviews and cancelled a booking at another Sorrento hotel to come here we were very much looking forward to. There is much to like about the hotel and we really want to love it but there are also a number of off-putting things which a hotel of this quality should get right.there is also a definite feel of 'money grabbing'.This is not a cheap hotel and on price alone it is competing with long haul destinations such as Mexico where the hotels are superb and everything is provided to very high standards.
The first major disappointment was that even booking a room with a full sea view, the best and most expensive room that can be booked with Thomson, and booking a year in advance of our holiday, did not guarantee a good sea view room. Despite booking a full sea view room, we were given room 203, a small, poor, inferior room on a lower floor with a stone wall immediately to the side of and extending beyond the balcony. We paid a large supplement for this room and although it did have a sea view it was very much a restricted sea view and we would have been better off booking a cheaper side garden view room with limited sea view. At least we wouldn't have been looking out at a stone wall ! When we complained we were offered a move to room 405 which is located immediately beneath the restaurant. We asked about noise and the manager assured us that due to insulation there was no noise whatsoever from the restaurant. The room was much larger than room 203 and showed what a poor room that was and had a stunning sea view. However, we were woken every morning at 7am or earlier when the restaurant opened for breakfast by the scraping of chairs on the restaurant tiled floor. My wife said that she could tell that the manager was not happy about our changing rooms so we mentioned the noise in the second room to the Thomson Rep. She was very helpful when we complained about the first room but was not interested in any comments about the second room. Neither of these rooms were satisfactory for a two week holiday especially having paid such a large room supplement. The Thomson Rep said that the best upper floor rooms were all suites but it was apparent that during our stay these rooms were primarilly reserved for people who had booked direct with the hotel rather than through a tour company.
'Money grabbing' was evident in the room facilities where we did not even have a box of tissues. A hotel of this standard should provide bathrobes and slippers but these again were kept only for guests who had booked direct with the hotel. For the cost the hotel should also provide tea and coffe making facilities in the room (but of course they want you to spend in the bar etc.) a bottle of water each day and an iron and ironing board if these are allowed in Italy.The safe was to cost 3.50 euros a day which was extortionate but when we checked out after some confusion we were told there was no cost ?
On the plus side, the views from the hotel are splendid, the food excellent and the staff superb. We have to give a special mention to Giovanni, the restaurant Maitre d' who was briiliant but we found all the staff very friendly and very helpful. The food is some of the best we have had on holiday but sometimes at dinner the salad bar dishes were left empty for some time and not re-filled quickly enough. Whilst the food is excellent, the main courses are small in size but you get a good size starter, which again seems like 'money grabbing' giving more of the cheaper ingredients in the starters, and the desserts are good. Breakfast was good but not adventurous. Lunch was good and although sandwiches etc. were expensive you get a good size portion and very good quality. The a la carte menu is expensive and you get no discount if you are on half board having already paid for a meal - this is totally unreasonable and another example of 'money grabbing'. Lunch in the bar right across the road is much cheaper with sandwiches less than half the price but they are no where near as nice. Drinks in the hotel are expensive and again much cheaper in the bar opposite or to buy in the supermarket and drink on the balcony. We accept that this is to be expected but it is a great shame that the hotel does not reduce its drink prices which would encourage more people to stay in the hotel, particularly in the evenings, and improve the atmosphere. The hotel does have some 'happy hours' but knocking just 15% off a gin and tonic costing 10.5 euros doesn't make much difference. We found the evenings in the hotel pretty boring but the centre of town is only a 10/15 walk away.
All in all, would we return ? - we would love to but would only do so if we were guaranteed a sea view room on one of the upper floors.

Room Tip: Try to ensure a sea view room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    265
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
314
914
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed in Sorrento six times as we enjoy exploring the many wonderful places in the town and the surrounding areas. We have stayed at some fantastic hotels there and this time chose The Grand Hotel Ambasciatore as we had visited it in the past and knew it to be an elegant and gentile hotel; a beautiful place to celebrate our wedding anniversary.We were not disappointed.

We arrived late evening in torrential rain and were given the warmest welcome. We were requested to leave our cases and go straight to the restaurant as we were just in time for a meal. Our holiday started well with the most delicious meals served by very friendly and attentive waiters.

Our room was spacious and comfortable.The maid was friendly and helpful. The decor was lovely and there was adequate storage space. The bathroom was clean with large towels and lots of toiletries.

The hotel itself is beautiful with comfy furniture to relax in. The gardens are pretty and the pool area very clean and compact. There is a fantastic bathing area overhanging the sea; a perfect place to while away the time.

The best parts of all -for us- was the quality of the food and the excellent service in the restaurant. The waiters must have been getting very tired as they were coming to the end of the season, but every one of them was superb - very professional and extremely cheerful. The chefs were first class and every meal was proudly served, beautifully presented and totally delicious. There was an extensive wine list, and the Maitre D' was helpful in his recommendations.

This is a hotel for adults who enjoy an understated elegance. Some low key entertainment is provided. We were looking for peace and relaxation and this is what we got.

To all at The Grand Hotel Ambasciatori we say a huge thank you for your welcome and hospitality.

Room Tip: As the hotel is right on a very busy road ,rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter and have bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marfordtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DONCASTER
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Having had a bad year my wife and I decided to have a week doing nothing somewhere warm, and we picked Sorrento. I researched many of the local hotels and we picked the Ambasciatore largely based on positive feedback. It was an excellent choice. The hotel is extremely well appointed and is, as many others have pointed out, in a great location right on the cliff top with excellent views and yet within easy walking distance of the centre. Our room was elegantly and tastefully furnished, as were all the public areas. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. We had booked half board with the intention of eating out a couple of times in the evening however we never did so because the food was so good that it would have seemed perverse to go elsewhere. I had intended to eat sparingly, as I am carrying quite a lot of excess poundage, but this was a vain hope. Beautiful resort and a brilliant hotel. Just don't forget the mosquito repellant!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLDBRITDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We got married in September 2012 and booked Hotel Ambasciatori for our honeymoon. While we booked this hotel through our travel agent, we investigated the hotel on the net mainly through trip advisor. The travel agent spoke highly of it and subsequently 3 work colleagues stayed there and recommended it.

The Hotel Ambasciatori didn't disappoint and has a real wow factor. When you walk into the hotel lobbey its decadent, spacious and bright. Our hotel room was on the top floor. We paid extra for a balcony with a sea view and view of Mount Vesuvius. Every morning we woke up to sound of the sea and could see all the cruise liners pulling in and out. At the weekend we watched the fireworks display.

Food in the hotel is excellent. We were half board and had a choice of menu every evening and the buffet breakfast has everything from ham, cheeses, pastries, cereal, fry to freshly made crepes from the chef.

The pool has its own private restaurant, so you can leave your lounger to eat by the pool in your swin gear and then return later. Staff are lovely, very helpful, polite and go out of their way to help you in any way they can.

The hotel is about a ten minute walk from Sorrento town which is perfect as its full of the hustle and bustle but the hotel is lovely to go back to and just relax and get away from it all. Sorrento is really romantic and really is for couples, newlyweds or wedding anniversary holidays. Its not really a holiday for the kids.

We would recommend this hotel and cannot wait to go back. Everything you read about it that is good is true.

Room Tip: Pack some outfits for dining in the restaurant in the evening - smart casual for the men (not suits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here on a tour. Sea view room was delightful. Food, staff, service, breakfast; Cannot complain about anything here, will not dissappoint...............................................................

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Ambasciatori was the perfect base for us (30yr old couple)
We were in the minority though as most seemed to be over 50 age wise but that seemed to be the standard for this time of year (October) in Sorrento, lots of older, white English and American couples/groups.
Reception were very helpful and informative (older guy who worked the night shift could be friendlier... the girls were fab though)

IF you fly into naples, just get the 10 euro bus to sorrento, its a 5/10min walk from the bus stop. Cabs here are very expensive and really not worth it for such a simple journey

The grounds of the hotel were stunning, lime & fig tree's, secret courtyard spaces, beautiful flowers, the views were stunning
All the wait staff in the restaurants, bars and pool bar were lovely, friendly, remembered your orders and quite entertaining at times - without any intrusion

My favourite part was early evening watching the sunset with a cocktail in hand or having a delicious lunch by the pool looking out on to the picture perfect endless blue sky and sea. You can see why this hotel is a firm a favourite with Italians for their weddings (2 during our stay) - this did not impact our service at all, unlike other reviews I have read on here.

The pool was fresh and clean, with a selection of sunbeds and towels - this is where i have m only complaint as i have been spoilt with very comfy cushioned sunbeds at other hotels, these are the basic old style but sill do the job well, just not as comfortable.
LOVED the hotels private jetty, great for afternoon sunbathing and watching the beautiful boats sail by

Our room was a good size, very clean, well maintained - the maids were very polite and discreet
Mini bar fridge prices were also very reasonable
The balcony was smaller than we expected but not end of the world as it seemed to be the standard in Italy from previous experience
The bars and lounge areas were very comfy and welcoming, with live piano music and singers on certain evenings, the bar also had happy hours which was fun

Location wise, you could really ask for more. You are never 5 minutes away from where you need to be - train station, bus station - trip pick up points, shops and bars. The main square is a slow paced 10 minute walk away - with lovely views along the way.

We didn't get to eat dinner at the hotel as we had other plans but we did have breakfast every day, which was of a good basic standard, but has room for improvement. The egg station was my choice but for fresh fruit or choice of breads/pastries/cooked breakfast it fell a bit short
For lunch the stuffed foccia's were delicious, as were the pizza's, salads were tad small on portion size

This is part of a group that has 4 other hotels in the area - all of which looked fab, i would not think twice of staying here again or recommending it to anyone visiting the area, as it is well worth the money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just back from a week at The Ambasciatori,on holiday to celebrate our anniversary, the hotel is spotless and certainly luxurious however,with a roadside room traffic noise and party animals are a problem if you want a good nights sleep.The food was at the best very average and the atmosphere in the dining area more funeral parlour than a holiday venue! So we ate out three nights in Sorrentro and enjoyed the experience.Drinking water seems to be in short supply, none provided in the rooms or at the table costs buttons locally but not in the Ambasciatori.The staff are always polite and helpful. But overall disappointing experience not to mention the breakfast which was well short for a hotel of this quality!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannielloHotels, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Customer,

Many thanks for being our Guests and for your review on Trip Advisor despite your dissatisfaction.

We are sorry to hear that you left the hotel disappointed by some aspects of our structure;

We deduct, from what you write, that you booked a Classic room which overlooks the road.
We would like to point out that our hotel is located on a side street ( not primary ) leading to the center of Sorrento, and affected by traffic only few hours during the day, at peak times such as at 13:00 or at 19:00, we mean however flowing traffic with no queues and no horns.
For sure you are aware that our Hotel has also rooms with balcony with garden view and many others overlooking the sea. Definitely quiter.

If we only knew when you were here, we could have verify the availability and eventually change your room with a different type!

Concerning our Restaurant, for sure the atmosphere is not for party animals, but not even formal for suite and tie, rather smart-casual enough to enjoy the romantic scenery while tasting the culinary delights of our excellent chefs, all accompanied by good music.

We hope, anyway, you will give us a second chance, coming back to the Hotel Ambasciatori maybe for your anniversary.

Best Regards

General Manager
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,086 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,655 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing