We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Sorrento Wedding to dream of”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Sorrento Wedding to dream of”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We joined the wedding party of some English friends at this hotel on 15th May, but stayed a week half-board at the nearby sister hotel, De La Ville, which was smaller and cosier. The hotel management and staff at the Ambasciatori made us feel very welcome whenever we visited the wedding party there. Our friends invited us to have an evening meal at the hotel with them and the management made the arrangements with the sister hotel so we didn't need to pay. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and the wedding celebrations were absolutely wonderful. The location and setting on the Sorrento cliffs made it feel very special and the staff couldn't do enough for us - they ensured it was a truly memorable occasion.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    255
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
299
893
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times and never once had a bad experience. From the moment we arrive until our goodbyes, the staff are just wonderful! Nothing is ever too much trouble. I work in the tourism business in the UK and truly feel some of our hotels could do with spending some time here. The rooms are elegant, there is always something to enjoy in the restaurant - and Tonino's cocktails are the best-try a White lady - excellent. Yes, the hotel is a short walk from the centre, but it is a beautiful, safe walk and it gives you the opportunity to work off some calories after a great dinner. I was there. In May, June an September - do I sound sad only going there- I have spent my life travelling and living all over the world -I have now found a part of heaven just 2hours 40 mins from Manchester! will I be going back - you bet I will - sadly it is closed for Christmas, otherwise I would be back - instead it will be next year! If you go expecting a chain style hotel where you are simply a number and credit card please don't go and book up the rooms so that those who love and appreciate this hotel and it's amazing staff can't get a room!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Astrotraveler1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Ambasciatori at the end of August, 2011, to the first week of September, 2011. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by friendly, courteous staff. We stayed at the hotel as part of our honeymoon and the hotel amenities and employees were outstanding. Our room was impeccable, and breakfast every morning overlooking the Bay of Naples was breathtaking.

We had a room on the 6th floor with a balcony overlooking the Bay. The view at night was spectacular. We spent the end of every evening enjoying a drink on the balcony, watching the lights of Naples blink and the magestic cruise ships come into the Bay and dock.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody. Make sure that you book a room at one of the higher floors as the view is worth the extra $$$$.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyT524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My then fiancée and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori in June 2011 with our family as the hotel was the setting for our wedding reception. The hotel and it's staff are simply second to none.

Location: The hotel is set just outside of the town centre of Sorrento, within a scenic 10-15 minute walk or a little longer if you fancy a stroll through some lemon gardens.

Scenery: We stayed in an Sea View room and the view is breathtaking. Watching the sun go down on our balcony whilst sipping champagne together was the perfect way to begin married life.

Staff: The staff at the hotel are fantastic, always willing to help and very warm and friendly (particularly the porters/waiters).

Room: We were happy with our room, house-keeping did a good job and supplies were always replenished. The shower was a little on the complicated side, but once you get it to the right temperature it is fine!

Facilities: There is a beach area (more of a pier) which you could easily spend all day basking in the neapolitan sun. The pool was always quite quiet which was nice and with a bar next to it, refreshments were never a problem. We only ate in the restaurant once (asides from the wedding) as we tended to explore the food on offer in Sorrento, but when we did we were not disappointed.

Wedding: The hotel and in particular the hotel management were amazing. They were very accommodating and exceeded all expectations by making our wedding reception perfect, from the cocktail reception overlooking the Bay of Naples to the sumptuous dinner and party afterwards. Their attention to detail and how they looked after our families (particularly my grandparents in law) was really excellent.

I would recommend coming to this beautiful part of Italy and staying at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori to anybody and if you are planning a wedding in Sorrento, then this hotel is a fantastic wedding reception venue and they really know how to make the day special for all involved.

Room Tip: Our guests were staying all over the hotel so we got a good look at all the types of rooms. The jun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We booked three nights with this hotel with a Rick Steve's discount as his book recommended this hotel. Upon arrival, our room overlooked a soccer field, noisy and unattractive. We requested an upgrade and were quoted a room overlooking the ocean with the discount applied, so we took it. Upon checkout, we were informed that we were not entitled to the discount as we had to pay cash and not credit card. After arguing with the management, who asked to see Rick Steve's book, he finally honored their original rate including the discount. The night before, there was live music downstairs, we took a bottle of wine to a table to enjoy the music and were abruptly asked to leave and go drink our wine in our own room. We were also charged 4 euros a day for use of the wifi internet, we stayed in many hotels in our trip and were never charged for this. We would never stay in this hotel again, very, very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We booked this hotel to stay for the week as we were getting married in Sorrento but overall I was disappointed with this hotel.

I will start with the good points - I love the glamour of the hotel, it is very traditional and boast the most amazing views. The food in the restaurant was lovely but it very formal (something they don't tell you when you book is that you are meant to dress for dinner). The rooms were clean and the private beach was very nice. The hotel is not direct in the centre but is a short walk to the centre.


The room we were given had the view of the football pitch, and to say this trip was for our wedding I was very disappointed of this level of ignorance from the staff. They even grumbled when we requested if they could possibly deliver breakfast to the room free of charge on the morning of the wedding. They did not make any effort for us on our wedding night, even though my bridesmaid requested it as they said that it woulf have to be discussed with the occupants of the room. Well what a surprise that would have been! We still had to check out for 11am the morning after the wedding! To say this is meant to be a 4-5 star hotel, I would expect a more personal service. I no doubt believe that if we would have chosen our reception to be held here, we would have received a better service but they forgot that we were still paying a lot of money to stay in this hotel in the first place! All i'd say is that if you are going on holiday, this hotel is very nice. If you are thinking of staying during your wedding and not holding wedding reception here - then i'd look elsewhere! If you are thinking of it as a wedding reception, it would be a lovely place to have it as the food is lovely and views are amazing. But this is a very formal expensive hotel so if you would like party atmosphere you would be better looking somewhere else - see Don Pedro's as he has a restaurant in the hills with an amazing view and fantastix atmosphere!

Thanks
Rachel

Room Tip: Request not to have a view of the football pitch!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachie84_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Six of us (all family) were tracing our family roots in the Cassino area and decided to spend a few days in Sorrento taking day trips to Capri and the Amalfi Coast. We stayed at the Grand Hotel Ambasciatore. We had rooms on the backside of the hotel with balconies overlooking the water. The views were spectacular - especially at sunset. Our breakfasts were included and were exceptional as well - lots of choices even made to order omlets and crepes! A convenient walk to the downtown area where you can find the best gelato at Prima Vera Gealto. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a room with a balcony view of the water! Definitely worth the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Califano 18, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by the uniqueness of its position close to the city centre, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, is a prestigious 5 star rating Hotel, immersed in the green of a luxuriant secular park, on a cliff overlooking the sea, with a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet location, exclusive private beach, Wellness center and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing