We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel President
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just returned from staying at this excellent hotel, great selection and enjoyable food, fantastic panoramic views over Sorrento, the bay and mount Vesuvius whilst having breakfast, evening meal and even from the pool and particularly from the rooftop bar. Relaxed atmosphere and staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Could not fault this hotel or position. Shuttle bus was excellent. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Would recommend superior room with sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godfather2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    246
    63
    28
    8
See reviews for
229
736
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow Shropshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our first visit to Italy this year,we had a junior suite, it was worth paying the extra, for the beautiful spacious room and the superb veiw from our balcony. 10 minutes drive up from Sorrento, but the shuttle form the hotel was great. Staff and the food was very good too.The only thing which was disappointing was the size of the garden, but that did not effect our stay there.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a sea veiw. We noticed some rooms had a balcony looking onto a carpar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I can only reiterate what most other visitors have already said about this hotel. It is a lovely hotel in every way, the views are truly spectactular both day and at night, where else can you see a volcano as you swim! The food was plentiful and delicious, a variety of choice for all tastes. All the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful all the time we were there. The superior room we had booked, although a bit noisy as we were directly under the piano bar, was spacious and well equipped and ideal when travelling with a teenager as it was on two floors.

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful area of Italy. Location is perfect to explore the area and there are plenty of trips to keep all ages entertained.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody thinking of visiting Sorrento.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a gorgeous hotel, with beautiful view of Sorrento below. all the staff are helpful and friendly and the food is glorious, the drinks are definitely expensive though. The mini bus driver for access to town is a great lovely man, who goes out of his way to help.

Although i would not recommend this hotel for any wheelchair users or people with walking difficulties as there are stairs leading to everything.

Room Tip: hope that you dont get bottom floor rooms as the hotel is built in to a hill so not sea side has a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed 9-16 Aug.

The hotel itself is around 2km up in the hills above the main town of Sorrento, looking out over the bay of Naples. The views are spectacular. There is a courtesy minibus to get up and down from hotel to the town driven by a chap called Tony who provides great tips for exploring the region.

We had friends staying in the main town and it was clear the President was streets ahead when it comes to value for money (likely due to its location). The food was great (it won't be winning any Michelin stars soon, but was of a good quality), staff and service impeccable. This is the first four star hotel I've stayed in in Italy (and Europe, really) which actually felt like a four star.

Really can't say enough about how much we enjoyed staying here. A great base to explore Sorrento, Naples, the Amalfi coast and historical sights.

Room Tip: If you're wondering whether or not to stump up the extra £ for a sea view room (through Thomson...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here after a busy time in Rome! It was perfect! It is a little far away but they have a free hotel shuttle that takes you into town. We found it a great location to see other places too. From here we took the bus to positano (amalfi coast) the view was breathtaking I think from almost every room in the hotel. The hotel restaurant was fabulous. Really nice breakfast in the mornings. Only had one bad meal for dinner. Very relaxing. If you want relaxing with a view that captures you each new day, this is the place! I would definitely go back to have it as my base hotel and then take the bus to visit other places like Ravello, Vesuvius, and further south. Great stay. Miss it already. The pool area was so wonderful, oh and can't forget the midnight views of the water, city, and mountains from the roof top terrace. Ahhhh so great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KL-CanadianTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a an taste stay yet again. This is our 5th stay at the president and it never disappoints. The staff are excellent from stepping off the coach, the porter, the reception, the bars, the pool, and of course the rooms. We had a spectacular room overlooking the gardens and the town of Sorrento and the Bay if Naples. It feels like an extended family. Thank you to Vincenzo on reception who sorted out the room for us, you are amazing. To Louigi and all the waiters, you make us feel so special, always a smile and fantastic food brought to us. Thank you to Niño (Tony) a great pool attendant who feels lie our friend. Great cappuccino's. there are so many thank yous to make. Needless to say you get the gist, it's a fantastic place, immaculately clean, extremely welcoming and we can't wait to go again. We recommended it to a few of our friends who stayed earlier in the year, they are also looking to go again. It's the jewel of Italy. X

Room Tip: Book superior sea view, you never tire of the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel President

Property: Grand Hotel President
Address: Via Parisi 4, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#29 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel President, 4 star hotel in Sorrento Italy, overlooks the Sorrentine Peninsular and the Bay of Naples offering one of the best views in the world . A view which has inspired many artists and song writers for centuries. The splendid terraces of the Grand Hotel President with their sea views, the swimming pool, the beauty and fitness centres and the refined panoramic restaurant are all part of the services that combine to guarantee the full attention of the staff which is always attuned to satisfying the desires of the guests . The tranquil atmosphere in which the Grand Hotel President is immersed , accompanied by the scent of flowers and scrubs from the hotels very well maintained gardens, make it the ideal place for a relaxing and restful holiday. The centre of Sorrento which is only 3 klms away, is easily reached thanks to the free shuttle service of the Grand Hotel President. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HRS, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel President Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing