We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, comfortable, great location”
Review of Palazzo Tasso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Tasso
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming, comfortable, great location”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The welcome started before we arrived with a helpful email containing directions from the airport, bus timetable, and some suggestions of things to do when we got there. Throughout our stay the staff were very friendly, helpful and gave good advice. Silvana also went the extra mile by phoning around and arranging a boat trip to Capri for us after the official end of the season.

Our rooms were quite small but had what we needed (except a kettle!). Clean. Comfortable beds.

The location is very central and all the main sights of the town are within easy walking distance, as is the train and bus station. There are plenty of good restaurants in the neighbourhood.

Breakfast buffet is good and includes a few local specialities as well as the usual standard fare. Lovely fresh rolls and pastries.

If you are looking for a friendly bed and breakfast hotel and don't need the facilities of a big one like lounge, bar, swimming pool etc. this is a very good choice. However, the only word of caution is that it wouldn't suit anyone with walking difficulties because the lifts stop between floors and wherever your room is there are there are stairs to negotiate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRMW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico D, Direttore generale at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you very very much for your wonderful review. You have been very kind with us! It was a pleasure meet lovely persons like you and we are happy that we made your stay an unforgetable one!
We thank you very much to helping us with your review to let other people know how we work and we try to make everyone part of our family. We start with a smile and a warm welcome at the reception, and before this with a welcoming e-mail so when you arrive at Palazzo Tasso its just like we know eachother already. Continuing with all the comforts and modern facilities in the room, preparing a valuable breakfast on the top floor with fresh home made pasteries every day.
We are always at disposal to suggest to our guests the best places to visit in our area, trying to satisfy special requests for excursions, restaurants and we are always at disposal for anything you might need.
Palazzo Tasso is our home and we want that all our guests feel like at home!
We hope to welcome you again at Palazzo Tasso!
SIlvana
Managing Director
Palazzo Tasso-Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    156
    25
    1
    2
See reviews for
88
345
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Don't get me wrong it is a delightful B&B in an extremely convenient setting with wonderful friendly staff and a ten minute walk from the train station, but a lot of reviews are praising the rooms for being spacious, light and airy with balconies, however ours was not. It was quite small with an equally small bathroom and very limited drawer and wardrobe space so if you intended to be there for longer than a few days to see the surrounding area then it was not a good room to stay in. There was not even a dressing table and being a female who likes a fair bit of space to put toiletries this was not possible. One of the problems was the lift shaft took up part of the room. It was also quite dingy being down a side street so we felt the need to always put the light on in the room. It also did not have a balcony although it was supposed to have according to our confirmation through our booking agent. There was also only one English speaking News channel on the tv in the room and it would have been nice to have been able to watch something else after having a meal out in the evening before actually going to bed!
On a different note we had a wonderful time in Sorrento and felt that 6 days was enough to see all we wanted to e.g Pompeii, Herculanean, Capri, Naples, Amalfi coast etc. Sadly, some buildings were looking in need of a good plaster and paint but I guess with the economy at the moment there is no money for repairs! It is easy to get to other places cheaply via the buses and train, but quite costly to go to Capri by Hydrofoil or Naples by ferry-best to go by train to Naples. Be careful in Capri as I got ripped off paying 16 euros for a limoncello cocktail on the front as I stupidly didn't ask to see the menu on this one occasion. The bus from Sorrento to Amalfi cost 7.20 Euros return and takes about 1.5hrs but is a lovely ride-make sure you sit on the right side going and the left returning for the best views. Don't forget to take another bus from Amalfi to Ravello which is a lovely village 4 miles inland. There is a charming place called Villa Cimbrone which has gardens, windy walks and stunning views (7 Euros to get in). Finally it would be nice if the Italians could smile and be a bit more welcoming to tourists. We noticed a lot of the waiters came across as being quite surly a lot of the time (quite different from other nationalities, especially the Turkish!)- This does exclude Pepe and the others at the Palazzo Tasso of course. :-)

Room Tip: Scooters use the side streets as short cuts so can still be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farnesbarnes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico D, Direttore generale at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Palazzo Tasso, and also for your review. As you said we are close to everything and we always suggest the most beautiful and interesting excursions to do in our beautiful Sorrento Peninsula. Also our strategical position allows to reach every place easly, this helps us a lot. Thank you also for your compliments for our friendly staff and for our breakfast which we serve up on the roof floor with fresh home made pasteries every day.
We are sorry you thought your room was a bit small for you and we hope to welcome you at Palazzo Tasso again with a more spacious room next time.
SIlvana
Managing Director
Palazzo Tasso-Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Córdoba, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

It's a beatiful building very well located. The bedroom is beatiful And all installations have not also a modern design but things of a great quality. Something you can notice as soon as you arrive there. The breaksfast is complete and the attention very kind. We really will go back there.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guadacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico D, Direttore generale at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We thank you very much to helping us with your review to let other people know how we work and what is our conception of holiday. We start with a smile and a warm welcome at the reception , continuing with all the comfort and modern facilities in the room, preparing a valuable breakfast on the top floor. As you see we have fresh home made pasteries every day
We are always at your disposal to suggest to our guests the best places to visit in our area, excursions, restaurants and we are always at disposal for anything you might need. Palazzo Tasso is home and we want that all our guests feel like at home!
Hope to see you soon again at Palazzo Tasso!
SIlvana
Managing Director
Palazzo Tasso - Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AIRDRIE
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

recently back from 2 weeks in Italy.We stayed at a small bed and breakfast hotel in central Sorrento, this hotel was very comfortable,and friendly, The staff were very friendly and helpful with advice on where to eat,ideas on where to visit and how to get to other towns and villages around the area. Nothing seemed to be any trouble for the team to make our stay memorable. Anyone looking for a simple quiet place to stay while exploring the historical and beautiful sites I would recommend Palazzo Tasso..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony as these are at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ39SPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico D, Direttore generale at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay at our Palazzo Tasso, this is really important for us!
We always talk to our clients making them feel at home giving them information if they have special requests or any questions in order to make their stay the best possible. We like to hear that when our guests are back home that they loved Palazzo Tasso and that they would definitivly return again ! This is a great satisfaction for us, and it confirms that all our hard work into our project, hospitality, comfort, suggestions etc, is well worth it. Hope to see you soon in Sorrento!
Silvana
Managing Director
Palazzo Tasso-Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I found the Palazzo Tasso a wonderful place to stay. It's new and in a great location. The rooms are very unique in a good way. Our room was very nice with a good sized bathroom. We also had a balcony which is always a nice addition. Silvana, our host, was wonderful prior and during our stay. I've been to Sorrento prior, Silvana suggested places I hadn't visited before. If you want to be in the heart of the city, this is the place to stay. Breakfast was good. The breakfast room is charming. I will stay at the B&B the next time I'm in Sorrento. The rates are very reasonable too. They do have an elevator which was nice too, especially after hauling my luggage up steps for most of our trip. It's a close walk to the train station, but not too close.

You won't be disappointed with the Palazzo Tasso.
The only thing I didn't like, I had to leave after one night.

Room Tip: I had room #1006. Quiet side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 175Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico D, Direttore generale at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing Palazzo Tasso for your stay in Sorrento and for writing this excellent review, we truly appreciated it. It is always a pleasure to note our guests satisfaction and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us.
As you said our rooms are very comfortable and cozy all with a modern style, and we have a very rich breakfast for our clients to start their day. We try to do our best every day to make our guests holiday an unforgettable one. We hope to see you soon again in Sorrento for more days.!!
Come back soon !
Silvana
Managing Director
Palazzo Tasso - Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I recently stayed at the Palazzo Tasso Hotel for four nights. It was the perfect hotel in the perfect location! We had a great room with a balcony overlooking the main street in Sorrento. We enjoyed watching all the action down there, but when we closed the balcony doors, our room was very quiet. We walked everywhere to shop, dine, and see the sights. The hotel staff was excellent and very helpful. The Capri tour they arranged for us was one of the highlights of our stay. We had an excellent guide and minimal wait for the Blue Grotto. If we ever have the opportunity to visit Sorrento again, we will definitely stay at the Palazzo Tasso.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ljb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico D, Direttore generale at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Palazzo Tasso located right in the historical center of Sorrento and especially for this excellent review, that we truly appreciated. Its a big pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Palazzo Tasso is really close to everything , shops , restaurants, we are lucky, our position is strategical and together with this we try to do our best to make our guest's Holiday an unforgettable one!
We offer double glazed sound proof windows in order to block out any kind of noise, even being in the very heart of the Center, so after a very long full day you can come back and relax in our silent rooms.
We thank you again for this beautiful review, for us our guest satisfaction is the most important thing. Hope to see you soon in Sorrento!
Silvana
Managing Director
Palazzo Tasso - Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed 2 nights at this fabulous B and B. The staff were superb and recommended a visit to Positano when we arrived, they then phoned and enquired about boat excursions for us. The accommodation was super, lovely street, right in the centre of Sorrento. Breakfast was lovely, meats, cheese, bread and cakes. Would certainly recommend.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saxholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico D, Direttore generale at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our Palazzo Tasso right in the heart of Sorrento.
We appreciated your wonderful review. We always try to do our best to satisfy all our guests needs, making their holiday an unforgettable one!
We hope to welcome you soon again.
Silvana
Managing Director
Palazzo Tasso - Sorrento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Tasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Tasso

Property: Palazzo Tasso
Address: Via Santa Maria della Pieta' 33, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Tasso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the charming historical center of Sorrento you will find Palazzo Tasso, which offers cozy & elegant rooms, extremely luminous, decorated in a fresh style, ideal for those looking for privacy and tranquility. Sorrento, place of outstanding beauty, is the ideal starting point for the visits of all major attractions in and around Sorrento. The newly-refurnished property offers all guests the possibility to enjoy their vacation in beautifully furnished suites with all amenities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Tasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing