We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”
Review of Palazzo Tasso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Tasso
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

My Partner and I stayed 8 nights at this hotel. The staff where very helpful and friendly. It is in a great location right in the heart of Sorrento. Can be a little noisy at times on the first floor so recommend staying on a higher floor if possible. Overall we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico D, Direttore at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing Palazzo Tasso located right in the historical Sorrento, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our work. We do our best to let the guest feel at home and enjoy their stay. Concerning the noise, we are sorry about that, we offer double glazed sound proof windows in order to block out any kind of noise, if there is any, as it is situated right in the historical center- the heart of Sorrento. We truly hope to welcome you again soon.
Silvana
Managing Director
Palazzo Tasso - Sorrento

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 624 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is fantastic, we have travelled through Euprope over the last three weeks and have stayed in Sorrento for six days, and by far the room, the staff and the location is the best.
The room is modern with everything one needs with private balcony overlooking the street
The bathroom, well, at last a double shower, yes, very nice,!!!
Opposite, out the door is a great family restaurant, cheap prices and authentic Itatlian cooking, the owner Lou and his nephew are great,,,, highly recommend this place...
Most importantly the staff at the hotel are excellent, Silvana was very professional and her staff were just as obliging to assist, the best we have found over the last four weeks,,, thank you to all of you. Highly recommend to anyone....

Room Tip: Rooms are very quite and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico D, Direttore at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your excellent review, we are very glad you loved your stay at Palazzo Tasso, in the historical center of Sorrento. We always try to do our best to offer to our guests an enjoyable stay, with hospitality and good suggestions. We hope to host you soon again.
Silvana
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A stones throw from Tasso square, look for the Cathedral Bell tower & the entrance is situated in the cobbled alley behind it. We booked a standard room with a balcony but on arrival we found that the allocated room 1003 did not have a balcony, just a window opening to the narrow thoroughfare at the back of the hotel. The reception staff explained that this was an error on hotels.com website. However we were upgraded to a slightly larger deluxe room 1008, on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel, which had a small Juliet balcony. All the rooms appear to be recently renovated. Although on the Corso Italia & the main route through Sorrento, the rooms were not too noisy, the double glazing shutting out a lot of the sound. There is also A/C in the room and a handy mini bar, which can be restocked with drinks from the local supermarket.

The staff were always extremely helpful & friendly. Breakfast was basic, with one plate of meat, cheese triangles, cereals and croissants, tea, coffee or juice & freshly restocked. If eating out there is a nice little restaurant The Chanteclers at the back of the hotel (opposite the entrance), lovely meals and good prices.

Good train transport links to Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum, however the ferries to Capri were 27.95 Euros for a 15 minute journey, whereas Naples (30 minutes away) was considerably cheaper...exploiting the tourist trade!!!!! We caught the Carreri bus (pay the driver) from Sorrento to Naples Airport for 10 Euros, however this was full on our inbound journey & meant the local bus into Naples (buy a ticket at the tobacconist) & then train to Sorrento.

Room Tip: Room 1008 medium size and small Juliet balcony (looks precarious), newly decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jayh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at Palazzo Tasso, Sorrento with the family (4 of us including 2 kids, 9 and 6). The place was absolutely immaculate - we stayed on the 3rd floor in a very clean, modern room for 4. The room was at the front of the hotel, and had a balcony overlooking one of the main streets, Corso Italia, great for people watching...but surprisingly with very little, it seemed very quiet at night! No worries about being on the 3rd floor either as a lift is provided to carry your bags up to your room and breakfast was served on the floor above us in a superb, light-filled room at the top of the building. This again was very modern and clean, with stunning views from the high level windows including across to the cathedral bell tower next door (which didn't disturb is either...the place seems to be well insulated against noise). Breakfast was great, especially for our two kids who were able to pick and choose exactly what they wanted, and coffee/tea flowed generously from staff who were in the breakfast room to help serve and clean up. Staff we very friendly, Pepe in particular made it a very enjoyable stay for us, my kids loved him, and nothing seemed to much trouble. He was also a font of local knowledge and recommended some excellent places to eat. This was my kids first trip abroad and they're first comment based on our arrival at the hotel was how friendly Italians were - a credit to Pepe who was the first Italian they had met! Before our arrival I found Silvano extremely helpful - all my questions were answered informatively and promptly, and directions to the hotel from the train station were easy to follow. The main entrance to the hotel is in a characterful back street off the main road, and its was great to walk out of the hotel into this traffic-free (well apart from the odd scooter) road and emerge a few minutes later into the main square in Sorrento, or drop down through one of the alleyways and onto Corso Italia.

A gem of a place - I can't recommend it highly enough, and given the opportunity to visit Sorrento in the future I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Thanks guys for a wonderful stay.

Adam Whitehouse

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a small, modest, yet perfect hotel for our stay in Sorrento and to visit surrounding areas, including Capri and Pompeii. The hotel is mid-town Sorrento, convenient to everything: restaurants, gelatterias, shops, pizza, the harbor and the train station. The rooms were meticulously maintained and breakfast was well-serviced. The staff was excellent, from restaurant suggestions, to breakfast service, to even spending hours on the phone helping my sister locate her missing suitcases from the Napoli airport. The hotel staff even convinced the Napoli airport suitcase attendant to pull the suitcase from its incorrectly programmed destination. We are looking forward to planning another trip to cover more of the area and staying here, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: The hotel has only 11 rooms, with balaconies overlooking one of the main Sorrento small streets. Pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAETANO C, Direttore at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing Palazzo Tasso, and for the excellent review you wrote, for us the most important thing is our guests satisfaction and we try to do our best every day to obtain it. It's always a pleasure to know that our guest enjoy their stay and the hospitality here at Palazzo Tasso.
Our Guests smile is our mission !
Hope to see you again in the future.
Silvana
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at Palazzo Tasso for 4 nights.. Feb 2013.The hotel was all we wanted,it was very clean and comfortable.The staff were very helpful with information about restaurants and transport to see sights etc.The breakfast room was very bright and clean with a selection of cereal and pastry's,maybe would have liked to get an egg and the addition of a toaster would be nice.our room was on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the main street for shopping,very nice but could be a bit noisy in high season.

If going out of season as we did you will find some restaurants and shops closed but you have the advantage of no crowds.!!

Paazzo Tasso is very well placed for the train station.

We went over to Capri and while getting our tickets for the ferry we were approached by a guide who wanted us to join his tour of the Island,at first we were a bit hesitant as he was telling us shops and restaurants would be closed and if we wanted to get round the Island on local buses they would be crowded,we did decide to go on the tour (only 6 on a 20 seater coach) and did find it was well worth it at 20 euro's.

As a previous reveiwer said the Hotel main door is situated in a cobbled alley way so do your research on how to find it before you go !

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel would be quieter but don't know about the view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller62_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAETANO C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you so much for this excellent review, we are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to do our best everyday to make our guests holiday an unforgettable one. We hope to meet you again soon in Sorrento!
Silvana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Palazzo Tasso for three nights, and I would wholeheartedly recommend the experience. On our arrival, Silvana checked us in, took out a map, and gave us a lot of really useful information about what to do and how to get there - much valued because we were travelling in the low season. In fact, all the hotel staff we encountered were extremely friendly.

The hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento, close to shops, the train station and the boat port. The rooms are spacious and immaculate. Wifi in the room was the fastest we've enjoyed on our seven week trip, and the satellite tv has enough channels to keep everyone happy. Our room also included a safe and a fridge, both of which were handy.

In all, a very comfortable and entirely stress-free stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank selfadhesive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAETANO C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, for us it has been a big pleasure to welcome you here at the Palazzo Tasso in the historical center of Sorrento. We are glad you loved our rooms and our hospitality. We truly look forward to welcoming you here again.in the future.
Silvana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Tasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Tasso

Address: Via Santa Maria della Pieta 33, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: $55 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Tasso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the charming historical center of Sorrento you will find Palazzo Tasso, which offers cozy & elegant rooms, extremely luminous, decorated in a fresh style, ideal for those looking for privacy and tranquility. Sorrento, place of outstanding beauty, is the ideal starting point for the visits of all major attractions in and around Sorrento. The newly-refurnished property offers all guests the possibility to enjoy their vacation in beautifully furnished suites with all amenities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palazzo Tasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing