We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at Palazzo Tasso, Sorrento” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Tasso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo Tasso
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful time at Palazzo Tasso, Sorrento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I and our two adult children spent 5 nights in Sorrento at Palazzo Tasso and had an absolutely wonderful experience. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location in the center of Sorrento where you can truly get a feel for the ebb and flow of the town right outside your window. The rooms are immaculately clean and minimalist and the pictures on Trip Advisor are indicative of what you'll get. Given that we didn't intend to spend a lot of time in our room, we were looking for location, cleanliness, comfort at a good price vs. a high luxury stay. As it relates to our experience...it was 5-star. The staff is fantastic and kudos to both Pepe and Silvana for making our stay special. The handled everything from recommendations on great restaurants (and they were fantastic), day trip recommendations and logistics to Pompeii, Mt. Vesuvius and Ecolano, Amalfi and Positano to helping us track down my daughter's lost luggage (thanks Delta!) for basically the entire visit. Most of all, we had tried to book a Suite for the four of us and when we all realized that we would be too cramped in the reserved accommodation (I think this would have been fine for small children but not four adults), they went out of their way to solve the problem and make alternative arrangements at the hotel to make us feel comfortable. This was 5-star service all the way around and thanks to both Pepe and Silvana for making our Sorrento experience all the more enjoyable and memorable! By the way, breakfast is included and was perfect for our needs...not too heavy but enough variety to get us going in the morning. I highly recommend Palazzo Tasso and look forward to our return in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand the configuration and match to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAETANO C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Palazzo Tasso in the historical center of Sorrento and especially for this excellent review, we truly appreciated. For us it' s a big pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We are close to everything , shops , restaurants, we are lucky, our position is strategical and together with this we try to do our best to make our guest's holiday an unforgettable one. Our guests smile is our mission ! We hope to meet you again in the future.
Silvana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    140
    21
    0
    2
See reviews for
70
279
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

good location, modern room, friendly staff. breakfast was average/basic. clean. A/C and TV is good. Location is key. Found through Tripadvisor and was pleased. Close to shopping and great restaurants... Go do day trips by boat or bus... Enjoy!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico D, Direttore at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and also for choosing Palazzo Tasso in the historical center of Sorrento, we do our best every day to let our guests enjoy their stay, and we hope you'll choose us again for your next trip in Sorrento.
Silvana
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garches, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I traveled with my family and stayed 4 days in the hotel. Location is fantastic, right in the heart of the city, near everything by walking distance. Breakfast is ok (not great variety but has everything we need to start the day) . I would definetly come back and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our third trip to Sorrento after a gap of 26 years. Previously we were never in the town centre so this was a huge benefit this time as it allows you to pop in and out without a long walk or bus ride to your hotel. Unlike some, we found the continental breakfast just fine, we especially like the taste of the crusty bread rolls stuffed with salami. Italian bread is generally hard and dry. After every breakfast we never felt hungry during the run up to lunchtime.

Our room was good sized, clean and adequate. The en-suite was good too - the shower had more than enough water pressure. The glazing cut out the traffic noise and I am a light sleeper. The church bells are audible but isn't that what they are for, calling to the faithful?

The Staff and Owners are so friendly and helpful.

4 stars and not 5 only because of the noise of footsteps from the main marble stairs which are the other side of your bedroom door. If you are on the very top floor then the stairs are a good form of exercise, forget the lift you'll feel the better for it.

Room Tip: The balconies are narrow so don't really count - I'd rather be 150 metres away in the main s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A surprisingly modern design for a hotel in the middle of Sorrento. Fully refurbished and sound proofed rooms, very important given the church bells are next door. Great location in the historic quarter, ten minutes to the train station and buses. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Darren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here during our honeymoon this year. We originally booked a standard room but we were given a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room. The staff were so nice, friendly and helpful. The hotel is also very secure as you cannot enter without a key to the front door. Our room was clean and crisp with a balcony that overlooked the entire main street. Our bedroom was modern and the bathroom was nice and big. The walls, doors and windows of each room are soundproof so it's easy to get a peaceful night sleep. Breakfast was served on the top floor. It was basic but enough to start the day with. The hotel as a whole looked very well maintained. It's close to the main shopping and dining areas, and it's a 10 minute walk to the train station and a 15 minute walk to the seaport. It was also my birthday while we were at this hotel and the staff gave us 2 bottles of champagne as a birthday gift and also congratulations on our recent marriage. This was such a nice gesture and it made my husband and I feel very special, like we were VIPs. Overall, this hotel was worth every penny and I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAETANO C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Tasso, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are so glad that you appreciated so much staying with us a Palazzo Tasso right in the historical center of Sorrento, and we truly want to thank you for this excellent review, we try to do our best every day to make our guest's holiday an unforgettable one.
We hope we did also with yours and we look forward to welcoming you again at our Guest House
Hope to see you again in Sorrento!
Silvana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The room was very clean, and the water pressure in the shower is fabulous.The location is close to all transportation, restaurants,shopping, etc. The wi-fi is reliable. Like other reviewers, I found the breakfast disappointing. I found the quality, not necessarily the variety, of the breakfast items, breads, cakes, etc. to be poor. I think I would choose to stay at a location where the reception desk is manned 24 hours a day,. It is personal preference, but on the day of our departure at 5:30 A.M., the elevator was out of service, and so we had to carry our luggage down from the 4th floor. Again, this is a non issue if one were leaving later or on a lower floor; however, it was an issue for us. I realized that 24 hour manned reception is not important unless one happens to need it. Overall, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paladino85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mignon Meuble
Hotel Mignon Meuble
#29 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#7 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#15 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#31 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#6 of 98 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 2,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#27 of 98 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Tasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Tasso

Property: Palazzo Tasso
Address: Via Santa Maria della Pieta, 33, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Tasso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the charming historical center of Sorrento you will find Palazzo Tasso, which offers cozy & elegant rooms, extremely luminous, decorated in a fresh style, ideal for those looking for privacy and tranquility. Sorrento, place of outstanding beauty, is the ideal starting point for the visits of all major attractions in and around Sorrento. The newly-refurnished property offers all guests the possibility to enjoy their vacation in beautifully furnished suites with all amenities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Palazzo Tasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing