We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Nice Room, Awesome Balcony View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed in Hilton Sorrento Palace the last week of October/first week of November while we used Sorrento as a base to explore the Amalfi Coast and the surrounding area. We were on an executive floor and our room had a good sized balcony that we enjoyed each day/night to soak in the views of the Bay of Naples, Vesuvius and the beautiful hillside. The room was a bit larger than usual for European standards and was spotlessly maintained by housekeeping. Wi-Fi was free (Diamond Hilton member) and the daily buffet breakfast was always very good, as was the service by the wait staff. The hotel is a short hike downhill to the city, but that shouldn't be a real problem for anyone who is at least marginally fit. Anyone with a physical disability would likely find the trek down and back up more challenging than they'd like, IMHO. Sorrento is very safe and we never felt any uneasiness walking back to the hotel late at night. The Executive Lounge on the top floor was well-stocked with beverages and snacks, and it provided an excellent place to unwind and meet others while overlooking the city and magnificent views of the Bay...while enjoying glasses of Prosecco or your favorite adult beverage. The hotel staff arranged for us to be picked up by a boat captain, who took us to Capri, and they also have a standing arrangement with a very nice local restaurant higher up on the hill where a van picks up/drops off guests so they can enjoy a great meal. We'll certainly return for another stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Bay and Vesuvius are worth asking for, even with an extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ATLBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 3,490 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

A very comfortable hotel, our room faced the rear but the views from the front are absolutely amazing. Our double bed was enormous and the room was very spacious. The bar and restaurant staff were very attentive and both areas look out over the pool and and you could easily stand on the huge balconies all day looking at 'that view'. Wonderful.

Room Tip: A room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernyruff2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel was lovely to stay in. It had it's own garden with oranges and lemons and at breakfast you can make your orange juice from the oranges collected from the hotel grounds by the staff. The view from the breakfast room is stunning as you can see over the town and see the coast and the mountains. The staff are so helpful and cleaned our room twice a day and always held doors open for us. The indoor pool is beautiful and it was also pretty quiet which was good as no one likes swimming in a crowded pool. The hotel was on the top of a hill, I have read other reviews that people have written which saying that this was a problem however I did not find that it was a problem at all, the hill wasn't even big!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani123467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The location of this property is very quiet. Some people would rather stay in the city because of that. One needs to go at least 15 minites downhill to the center of Sorrento to have a meal outside of the hotel.
Room that I had was a very decent size with a huge terrace overlooking lemon and orange garden. In my view, the rooms were not renovated for quite some time. It shows especially in the bathroom appliances.
Be sure to try Gin and Tonic in the bar - an amazing experience by Sr. Gennaro.

Room Tip: Some rooms are facing the retaining wall. try to avoid them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alecb2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nothing too complain about this hotel, clean, very good service, brilliant pool, well equipped gym/spa and an ideal location for Sorrento and the Amalfi coast. one complaint would be the cost of car parking at the hotel however wouldn't deter us from visiting again. planning on revisiting this summer.

Sorrento is a wonderful place and not what i expected- unlike spanish resorts (gladly) don't offer all english breakfast and Sky sport news/ Only fools and horsers on tap 24 hours a day!

numerous places to eat and for very good value. what a brilliant place and cant wait to revisit!

Room Tip: Dont drive - they have no respect to the highway code(do the Italians have one?!) and no respect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dewindoeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay here. We had an executive room on the top floor of the hotel--so of course that helped--and the room was amazing: huge and luxurious, with a separate dressing room/closet/bathroom area and with extraordinary views over the Bay. I loved the trick with the draperies: when you enter the room and place your key card in the slot, the curtains automatically begin to open, revealing the stunningly beautiful sight of the water. We never heard a sound from the adjoining rooms. We also found the hotel staff unwaveringly friendly and helpful. The executive floor lounge is incredible; there is a small rooftop pool and a patio where you can eat breakfast or have a drink. The quality of the breakfast and the "snacks" offered at lunch and in the evenings was very good.

Sorrento was a lovely place to stay to see the whole of the Amalfi coast, and we liked that the Hilton was above the city's crowded areas. We walked from the train station to the hotel, and, if you are a walker, it's a nice stroll down to the city to the restaurants. We especially enjoyed taking the walk in the evenings to get gelato at the wonderful Gelato Raki (where we went sometimes more than once in a day). We bought the bus/train pass, and travelled to the rest of the coast on the bus. One warning: if you at all have a tendency to get car sick, try to sit at the front of the bus. On our first trip, we were at the back and everyone around us was feeling queasy, and even exiting the bus earlier than planned. It's much better at the front.

If you're a hiker, take the stunning walk from Amalfi through Atrani and up to the hill town of Ravello--one of my best days. To use a cliche, we really did not want to leave the Hilton Sorrento. It was one of our very best-perhaps the best--travel experiences. And do visit the Amalfi Coast, which is overwhelmingly lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank literatureprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Pros:
- within reasonable walking distance to the old city
- fair WiFi signal in the room
- free WiFi in the lobby
- great food

Cons:
- located slightly off the old city
- pretty basic room (referring to standard room type)
- WiFi in the room is not cheap (about 10 Euro for 24 hours, or 40 Euro for a week)

Room Tip: rooms with view might be nicer, but probably more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elodTlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sorrento Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sorrento Palace

Address: Via S. Antonio 13, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $219 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sorrento Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting destination all year round, the Hilton Sorrento Palace retains its charm throughout the seasons. The Hilton Sorrento Palace is only 5 minutes away from the historical centre of Sorrento, which is the ideal for shopping 7 days a week or enjoying the bustling nightlife. The Hotel offers a breathtaking sea view: just in front of you the enchanting Gulf of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and from behind Punta Campanella you may catch a glimpse of the exclusive Isle of Capri. The Hotel offers rooms with sea view, garden view, mountain view and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All Executive Rooms, Deluxe and Suites have large windows and balconies with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Executive and Suite Guests also enjoy exclusive access to the Settimo Club Lounge, where a rich and varied buffet is always available and a private swimming pool waits for you. The property is located a 5-minute drive away from the port of Sorrento, where guests can catch ferries to the island of Capri. The Amalfi Coast is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sorrento Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sorrento Palace Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Palace
Sorrento Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing