We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super view .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super view .”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a typical corporate hotel best suited to company functions and large meetings.Although it is not too far to walk downhill into town,the walk back up hill is more demanding.Taxis back from town can be 15 to 18 euros!Breakfast was one of the best I've ever experienced with magnificent views over the bay of Naples.Rooms over the bay have useful balconies but are functional at best.Free wifi is only available in the enormous lobby.We soon discovered there are many better cheaper and nearer hotels in Sorrento.La Favorita for example is much better.

Room Tip: Perhaps the executive rooms on floor seven have more character
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,593
    1,020
    394
    99
    58
See reviews for
889
1,234
52
475
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Hilton Sorrento Palace is just that....a contemporary hotel is an olde world town. It is within walking distance to shopping and dining if you like a bit of a walk. Views of the ocean are fabulous and the interior views are impressive too. Breakfast on the balcony is a delight. Stop here on your way to Pompeii!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaDreamin_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This wonderful hotel is a prime example of perfect classical Italian service delivered in wonderful surroundings by outstanding staff. I have been fortunate enough to spend time in many great hotels around the World and this one stacks up as well as any of them.

We booked originally a family room and I noted that I needed to have a balcony. As there had been an error with the website, I received a very pleasant email from the hotel advising of a problem with our selected room, and offering suitable alternatives at the same price instead. As such, we were offered two interconnecting rooms on the fifth floor with the most fantastic views of the bay of Sorrento and Vesuvius from our balconies. Very happy indeed with this. The rooms themselves were good - very comfy beds, but perhaps slightly let down by the showers just not generating enough pressure.

One thing to note - mineral water, and hurrah for Hilton Sorrento!!! EUR 2.00 per 500ml bottle in the room fridge, (very reasonable compared to what other Hiltons have tried to rip us off for water in the past - take note Athens) or if you fancied a quick stroll down the hall to the elevators an excellent vending machine which became a cheap mini bar - chocolate (including M&M's) and bottled water for EUR 1.00. BRAVO!!!!! Such a benefit to be able to get cheaply priced products like chocolate/water/crisps/soft drinks etc in the hotel rather than having to find a local shop. Well done Hilton Sorrento for not being pretentious and ripping people off here - it is an easy way to buy friends and deserves huge credit.

Staff - from start to finish, everyone we came across was outstanding. From front desk, to bar, to breakfast, to room staff - brilliant, all of them. Friendly, helpful, understanding, willing to go the extra mile - just perfect. A special mention for the front desk, where one of the guys (who wasn't wearing a name badge sadly) knew that my son was celebrating his fourth birthday during our stay. Imagine our absolute delight when on returning from a long day out to Vesuvius there was a knock at our door and a beautiful cake appeared with the compliments of the hotel. We were so delighted, and it made our whole stay, and the birthday, just so much more special! This was after the breakfast waiters making balloons for the birthday boy that morning, and everybody (in what is a very large and busy hotel) making my son feel special for the whole week we spent at the hotel.

When it warmed up later in the week, we were able to enjoy the outside swimming pool. As there were a number of conferences taking place, it meant that we had so much of the pool almost to ourselves which was great! I was chatting to the pool guy who told me the pool had just been emptied and fully cleaned only a couple of weeks earlier - hence why it looked absolutely immaculate! Chilly, but worth persevering with, and I guess it will be wonderful in the summer months.

So altogether, a fantastic week away, and a truly outstanding hotel. Very highly recommended, and a big thank you to all of the staff who made our stay special. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a view of the sea and Vesuvius - it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel itself has enormous public areas and our room was spacious. We had a room with a sea view and a balcony which was very good. Unfortunately that is all that is in its favour.

The hotel is situated high above the town and seems to be the only hotel not to have a courtesy bus. We arrived at the bus station at about 9pm and took a taxi for the short ride. This cost over 20 Euros. As it was late we had dinner in the hotel. The food was ordinary and expensive and the staff really could not have cared less.

The walk up to the hotel is steep and for those of us past a certain age, quite difficult so after each day we stayed down in the town to have dinner rather than have to do the climb twice.

We stayed a week and not once were we welcomed at breakfast and showed to a table nor were we ever asked if we would like tea or coffee. We had to chase around to find someone to ask. The food was once again ordinary. There was nothing wrong with it but being a Hilton we expected better quality.

When we left we asked for a taxi and were shown to a filthy old Volvo with a driver who had the shakes and should not have been driving. Also we later realised that it was unlicenced. This is not what I expected from the Hilton Group.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ater42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPR, Direttore generale at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Ater42,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience at our property.

I am delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed the general feel of the hotel public areas and spacious rooms.

As you can see from the various comments regarding our property, there are diverging opinions concerning its location, some favourable and others less favourable, for some of our guests the walk results quite heavy and for some is a fascinating walk and refreshing.

I am also sorry to hear that you did not feel our service at Breakfast to be enough personalized. I have addressed your concerns to the Food & Beverage Team and we’ll seek areas of improvement.

With regards the taxi fares, I am afraid there isn’t much we can do about them.

We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Hilton Sorrento Palace at some point in the future.

Yours sincerely


Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Average. Was looking forward to staying here when I saw their website especially looking at the pools. It's up a bit from the town and the distance isn't that far - about 5-7 mins walking but other hotels are in the centre. The view from the terrace is lovely - straight at Vesuvius. Hence my disappointment that I ended up in a room facing the hill behind the hotel - the natural equivalent of looking at a brick wall with no sunshine nor warmth in the room. It was so cold in the room that at one point I left the iron on for heat! The furnishings are very cheap - like ikea furniture and discordant with the expectation. Minibar contained water only which was a surprise. they are going or minimalist too - no wardrobe just an open rail. TV is out of the 90's. surprised internet was chargeable too. The staff were helpful at reception and friendly and nice in the bar but very very slow there when wanting service at a table .... Nearly always had to get up to get them moving.

Overall - it's more a case of disappointment that makes it seem worse - it's not bad but missing that view from the room made a massive difference. I couldn't upgrade either as it was full. There are worse places for sure but cannot say this is better than a maximum of average.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPR, Direttore generale at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear AshDG,

Thank you for filling out a review on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry to hear that due to the high occupancy we were not able to satisfy your request and to allocate your room on the side with view to the bay of Naples.

However, I am pleased to inform you that we will be carrying out some upgrades in guestrooms and we already started the replacing all of our existing TVs’ with Flat Screen LCD,s.

I am delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed the general feel of the hotel public areas.

We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Hilton Sorrento Palace at some point in the future.

Yours sincerely


Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was a truly memorable break.The views from this hotel are absolutely fabulous on all dining areas.Do request or pay extra for sea view it is worth every penny.upgrade to an executive room and have free use of the executive lounge where all your drinks and snacks are free of charge. the swimming pool is fab and the staff were helpful at all times.Would definatel return to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_Jones2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina V, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your valuable comments concerning your visit at the Hilton Sorrento Palace.

I am pleased to know that you are satisfied with your stay in our Hotel, as we do our best to make sure every Guest's visit is as unforgettable as possible.

We are very grateful to you for this consideration; our Guest's feedback is very precious because it enables us to improve our services day after day. It also helps us recognise and reward a job of high quality.

We will never thank you enough for your constructive comments. We are looking forward to seeing you again at the Hilton Sorrento Palace.

The Team and I remain at your disposal for any further support.

Yours sincerely,

Tina Vespoli
PA to GM & DBD
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Who: Dad, Mum, two daughters (10 and 11)
When: April 2013
Comments about: Hilton Hotel, Sorrento and local area.

From the moment we entered the huge, airy, marbled lobby and were welcomed with smiles, we thought this was going to be good - and we were right. This clean, well-designed hotel is situated high above the town, with a cliff face behind and has views to die for (see photographs). We had asked for a family room which was lovely (2 single beds and a double) but is at the back of the hotel so only has a view of the cliff, a road and some mountains in the distance. Not exactly a sea view but lovely all the same. We were impressed to find a bottle of champagne awaiting us and a birthday cake for our daughter, who was was 10 that day. We spend the first two night there and were very happy in that room.
However on our third night, after a business function taking place downstairs was still very noisy late into the evening, a brief word with the duty manager (Paulo - very helpful) - led to us being moved to another room on the front of the hotel, a balcony and a breathtaking view of the sea. The staff were so, so good, whether they were in the bar helping us create non-alcoholic cocktails for the kids, in the restaurant organizing gorgeous vegetarian meals, moving our clobber from one room to another or helping us with day trips. I cannot fault them and only wish other hotels showed so much respect to their guests.
The outside swimming pools were not in use yet, it being only April, but the inside pool was wonderful. It had amazing Roman style paintings all around it and had a cliff face as part of the room. A very memorable place to go swimming (see photo).
Breakfast was served on the second floor and was a fabulous buffet-style affair with breads, cereals, fresh fruit (including an orange juicer which was a bit hit with the children), beans, mushrooms, bacon, cheeses....you get the idea. Lots to choose from! Breakfast could also be taken from this room onto a balcony where we could eat and look out over Sorrento.
The main restaurant was on the ground floor (marked 'T') and was a very luxurious place next to a lounge full of comfy, welcoming sofas. Live music was also played in the evenings here, with a bar in the corner from where one could order the usual collection of beverages or choose from a cocktail menu (which includes "Sex on Vesuvius!")
The walk into Sorrento itself was down a quite steep hill and took about 10 minutes. Not a problem and it was fascinating walking past the houses and local shops, the scooters and the strange three-wheel vans that chug around the town. Sorrento itself is lovely but make sure you move away from the main roads, heading downwards through the little streets and explore the shops, cafes and piazzas towards the sea.
As for day trips, well we caught the 10.37 train each day. Language was never a problem and although I did dabble with greeting and certain phrases in Italian, I have to admit to resorting to English when ordering tickets etc. Everyone spoke pretty good English and I was able to get around the area without any trouble. We travelled by train to Pompei (45 mins by train to Pompei Scavi, where the entrance is right by the station) and also to Herculaneum (about an hour to Ercalono Scavi, follow main road from station down through town and you will find an arch saying 'Herculaneum'). We also travelled back to Pompei later in week and caught a bus up to Vesuvius...but that is another story in itself (maybe I'll review that on here later.) Capri was fantastic but don't get caught up in the 'Blue Grotto' marketing as it is very expensive for not much time in the grotto itself. We found it was better to talk to the one of the private boat owners at the harbour (don't worry, you won't miss them!) who took us on a private trip around part of Capri, showing us the same blue waters that are in the grotto as well as a host of other amazing experience including sailing through the famous Capri arch.
Anyway, I hope this review has been helpful. If so, please click on the 'helpful' vote thing so that I know I am doing something right! I will also try to add some reviews for Pompei, Herculaneum, Capri and our exciting, never-to-be-forgotten ride to Vesuvius!

.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank thommo 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina V, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Sorrento Palace, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Stoney159,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the Hilton Sorrento Palace.

I have conveyed to all the Team your appreciation for their service and professionalism, which contribute so much to customer satisfaction.

We hope to see you again for your 60th Anniversary.

Arrivederci,

Paolo Pedrazzini
General Manager
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sorrento Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sorrento Palace

Property: Hilton Sorrento Palace
Address: Via S. Antonio 13, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sorrento Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting destination all year round, the Hilton Sorrento Palace retains its charm throughout the seasons. The Hilton Sorrento Palace is only 5 minutes away from the historical centre of Sorrento, which is the ideal for shopping 7 days a week or enjoying the bustling nightlife. The Hotel offers a breathtaking sea view: just in front of you the enchanting Gulf of Naples dominated by Mount Vesuvius and from behind Punta Campanella you may catch a glimpse of the exclusive Isle of Capri. The Hotel offers rooms with sea view, garden view, mountain view and family rooms for 3 or 4 people. All Executive Rooms, Deluxe and Suites have large windows and balconies with breathtaking views over the Bay of Naples. Executive and Suite Guests also enjoy exclusive access to the Settimo Club Lounge, where a rich and varied buffet is always available and a private swimming pool waits for you. The property is located a 5-minute drive away from the port of Sorrento, where guests can catch ferries to the island of Capri. The Amalfi Coast is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sorrento Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sorrento Palace Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Palace
Sorrento Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing